We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, spacious rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Charlotte Lake Norman

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Charlotte Lake Norman to your Saves list
Residence Inn Charlotte Lake Norman
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16830 Kenton Drive, Huntersville, NC 28078   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Huntersville
Savannah, Georgia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, spacious rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I used Marriott points for this room--a wonderful 2 br/2ba room with a fireplace (but since it was June we did not use it). Rooms were spacious, including the kitchen area. Room was very clean and comfortable, mattress was great. Intenet was quick and easy. Front desk AND breakfast staff were friendly and accommodating.
Breakfast was excellent with both creative warmer dishes and healthy options, and the beloved waffle maker. Breakfast attendant was johnny on the spot!
Only a few downsides--room had some wear (bathroom enamel was worn through in some places), and when I was checking in and checking out, the trash was overflowing by the back entrance (which was the entrance suggested to us as it was closer to our room). And when I say overflowing, I mean the actual trash was overflowing and multiple bags of trash were piled around it--had to negotiate around it to get in the door. Also, when we went to use the elevator, there were three housekeeping carts and two linen shelving stations (very large) clustered around the elevator area while four housekeeping staff members were making their plans. Had great difficulty getting into the elevator because of this and not one of the housekeepers attempted to move any of the carts, did not offer to move a cart, nor apologized for the situation. These downsides are very minor and with a little attention can be dealt with quickly and easily (enamel touch up paint, quicker trash removal and a different gathering area for housekeeping staff).
My daughter just moved to the area and I intend this to be my "go-to" housing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren S, General Manager at Residence Inn Charlotte Lake Norman, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Soccermom844 as we are always excited to hear the feedback from our guests let me start by thanking you for staying with the Residence Inn Lake Norman. I am glad that we have the privilege of being your choice of stay while in the area. I was glad to hear that our staff helped you to enjoy your time in the area as well. As a hotel always trying to find better ways to help our guests I will speak to the staff about new alternatives to the issues you had to better help you and other guests who are coming to the area avoid those same problems. I am glad you were able to enjoy your stay and hopefully if you are ever back in the area you will choose us again.
Thank you for your time and feed back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    23
    12
    3
    3
See reviews for
38
10
2
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Great place to stay. Staff was helpful, friendly and very accomodating. Rooms were clean, well appointed and well taken care of. The grounds are well kept and I was able to enjoy the outdoor space as well as the gym. They offer a hot breakfast every day and hot dinner most nights of the week, which was always excellant. I'd highly recommend this hotel for business, family or a get a way. Honestly cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren S, General Manager at Residence Inn Charlotte Lake Norman, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Familyoffive106;
We love to hear the feed back of our valued guests and wanted to take a moment to thank you for taking the time to write this review. I will pass on your great experience with my staff and let them know how much they helped to make your stay enjoyable. Thank you again for choosing Residence Inn Lake Norman as your hotel of choice when in the Charlotte/Huntersville area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Thanks for a great experience at your hotel for my extended family! You all were accommodating and we appreciate your help and flxibility with reservations due to travel changes. You provided excellent facilities and service during our 4 night stay. Dining room staff were fabulous as well as housekeeping and front desk service. Nice to have inside and outside gathering space, and the rooms were just right for us. Great location, and great hospitality!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren S, General Manager at Residence Inn Charlotte Lake Norman, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Diane l;

Let me start by thanking you and your family for choosing to stay with our hotel during this wonderful moment for you and your family. We always try to make each guest feel like they are at home from our welcoming staff to the comfortable rooms. We are so happy you and your family enjoyed your stay and I know our staff loved having you with us. I will share your kind remarks to everyone at our daily huddle, if you are ever in the area again please contact me personally we would love to have you stay again.

Thanks;
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Hotel could use a little updating and the price is a little high because it is the only hotel in this area. Which are the reasons why I am giving it a 4 star instead of a 5 star.

That said...It is in a good location close to shopping and entertainment. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We chose it because it was only 1 mile from our friend's home, whom we were in town to visit for just a couple of nights before moving on to a bed and breakfast in Brevard - The Red House Inn (Fabulous!). The price was much higher, by almost $100 per night, than if we would have gone 10 miles up the road. We chose convenience over price since we had some certificates we could redeem.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren S, General Manager at Residence Inn Charlotte Lake Norman, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you KPMinnesota for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your recent visit with us here at Residence Inn Lake Norman. We appreciate and value all guest feedback as it helps us to only better our hotel and help enhance the guest experience. I will be happy to share your kind words with our staff. If you are ever in the area visiting friends again, we hope that you choose to stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed at this Residence Inn for a week while we were getting some work done on our house. The location is convenient to shopping and restaurants and the room was in nice condition. The breakfast each morning was very good and the staff were all friendly and helpful. The only negative was that the smoking area was near the side door that we used as it was closest to our room... they should really move that to a location that isn't in the walkway like that. We would stay here again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith W, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Charlotte Lake Norman, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear SunnyRob40,

Let me start by thanking you for choosing Residence Inn Lake Norman during your stay in this area, as well as taking the time to review our hotel and give feedback. We always strive for our guests to feel relaxed and at a home away from home during their stays. I do apologize about the issue you had with the smoking area. I will look into possible moving the ashtrays further from the doors to entice people to perhaps stand a little further from the exit/entry doors.

Thank you for your time;

Keith Wilson
Guest Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We drove all night and were delighted to find that we could check in at 7 am. And not pay for a night we didn't use. We actually arrived at 8:30 am to find our rooms were clean and ready for us. The handicapped room was comfortable and met all of my mother's needs. The king size bed in our room was very comfortable. We travel with our small dog and everyone made her very welcome. There is a non-refundable fee of $50, but all of the hotels in the area charge it. The breakfasts were very good which is a nice change from typical hotel breakfasts of waffles and cereal. We were served hot scrambled eggs, sausage and red potatoes one morning along with fresh fruit, grits, waffles, etc. definitely something for everyone. Coffee is available all day. We broke a bottle in our room and the maids cheerfully came and vacuumed for us. Everyone was so helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed here overnight while traveling over the holidays with our 2 large dogs. The room was tastefully decorated, was in great shape, very clean, and gave us more than enough space. We called ahead and requested a first-floor room, which they were more than happy to accommodate. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel itself is surrounded by plenty of grass and trees, which made dog walking easy, and was beautifully landscaped. The hotel is close to several stores and restaurants, and is an easy on and off of I-77. However, it is far enough away from all that commotion as to be quiet -- we had a great night's sleep. We would definitely stay here again -- highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Charlotte Lake Norman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Charlotte Lake Norman

Address: 16830 Kenton Drive, Huntersville, NC 28078
Location: United States > North Carolina > Huntersville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Huntersville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Charlotte Lake Norman 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Charlotte Lake Norman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Charlotte Lake Norman Hotel Huntersville
Residence Inn Huntersville
Huntersville Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Charlotte Lake Norman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.