We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Charlotte Lake Norman

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Charlotte Lake Norman to your Saves list
Residence Inn Charlotte Lake Norman
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16830 Kenton Drive, Huntersville, NC 28078   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Huntersville
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great location and Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed at this Residence Inn for a week while we were getting some work done on our house. The location is convenient to shopping and restaurants and the room was in nice condition. The breakfast each morning was very good and the staff were all friendly and helpful. The only negative was that the smoking area was near the side door that we used as it was closest to our room... they should really move that to a location that isn't in the walkway like that. We would stay here again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith W, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Charlotte Lake Norman, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear SunnyRob40,

Let me start by thanking you for choosing Residence Inn Lake Norman during your stay in this area, as well as taking the time to review our hotel and give feedback. We always strive for our guests to feel relaxed and at a home away from home during their stays. I do apologize about the issue you had with the smoking area. I will look into possible moving the ashtrays further from the doors to entice people to perhaps stand a little further from the exit/entry doors.

Thank you for your time;

Keith Wilson
Guest Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    23
    12
    3
    3
See reviews for
38
10
2
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We drove all night and were delighted to find that we could check in at 7 am. And not pay for a night we didn't use. We actually arrived at 8:30 am to find our rooms were clean and ready for us. The handicapped room was comfortable and met all of my mother's needs. The king size bed in our room was very comfortable. We travel with our small dog and everyone made her very welcome. There is a non-refundable fee of $50, but all of the hotels in the area charge it. The breakfasts were very good which is a nice change from typical hotel breakfasts of waffles and cereal. We were served hot scrambled eggs, sausage and red potatoes one morning along with fresh fruit, grits, waffles, etc. definitely something for everyone. Coffee is available all day. We broke a bottle in our room and the maids cheerfully came and vacuumed for us. Everyone was so helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed here overnight while traveling over the holidays with our 2 large dogs. The room was tastefully decorated, was in great shape, very clean, and gave us more than enough space. We called ahead and requested a first-floor room, which they were more than happy to accommodate. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel itself is surrounded by plenty of grass and trees, which made dog walking easy, and was beautifully landscaped. The hotel is close to several stores and restaurants, and is an easy on and off of I-77. However, it is far enough away from all that commotion as to be quiet -- we had a great night's sleep. We would definitely stay here again -- highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Great Facility, Great Staff. Was here for two nights in October. Checked in early with no problems. Front desk staff was very friendly. Room was super clean as well as surrounding grounds. Breakfast was good in the mornings. Only negative was the noise level of the bathroom fan, which was reported in an earlier review. It was excessive. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Twp
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Great night's stay in Huntersville, a suburb of Charlotte, NC. Suite - type room, very clean. Continental breakfast in the morning. Very nice. Easy on and off from Interstate 77. Would definitely stay there again when visiting our daughter in Huntersville.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

While helping my son move we stayed at this hotel. We had a heck of a time finding a pet friendly hotel in this area. Many of the pet friendly hotels we have stayed have been a bit run down, or at least have given us the run down rooms. Not at this hotel. It was completely fine. The room was very clean and up to date.

We have stayed at this hotel twice. Both times we had a very good experience.

The hotel is within a mile of a very nice and rather large outdoor shopping area - Birkdale Village.

Within 2 miles is a large selection of restaurants.

The hotel has easy access to I-77. Only about 2 miles from the entrance.

Both times we found the staff to be very helpful and extremely friendly.

The breakfast is good and the area is nice and large.

The parking area is large including adjacent parking which will easily accommodate a moving truck.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I stay at Marriott properties all the time, and this one was typical. I found the hotel and my room clean with no issues observed like the previous reviewer. With a family of 4, the included breakfast is always a good deal. The proximity to the Birkdale Village Mall was a plus, with shopping and several food selections. There is also plenty of food choices nearby, by the freeway.

I mistakenly reserved a King room, instead of a 2 room suite and there were none available to move into. This was a bummer for my kids since they had to sleep on an uncomfortable sofa bed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Charlotte Lake Norman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Charlotte Lake Norman

Address: 16830 Kenton Drive, Huntersville, NC 28078
Location: United States > North Carolina > Huntersville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Huntersville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Charlotte Lake Norman 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Charlotte Lake Norman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Charlotte Lake Norman Hotel Huntersville
Residence Inn Huntersville
Huntersville Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Charlotte Lake Norman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.