We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Place and Pet-Friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Charlotte Lake Norman

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Charlotte Lake Norman to your Saves list
Residence Inn Charlotte Lake Norman
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16830 Kenton Drive, Huntersville, NC 28078   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Mobile Check-In
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Huntersville
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place and Pet-Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed here overnight while traveling over the holidays with our 2 large dogs. The room was tastefully decorated, was in great shape, very clean, and gave us more than enough space. We called ahead and requested a first-floor room, which they were more than happy to accommodate. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel itself is surrounded by plenty of grass and trees, which made dog walking easy, and was beautifully landscaped. The hotel is close to several stores and restaurants, and is an easy on and off of I-77. However, it is far enough away from all that commotion as to be quiet -- we had a great night's sleep. We would definitely stay here again -- highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Habs F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Great Facility, Great Staff. Was here for two nights in October. Checked in early with no problems. Front desk staff was very friendly. Room was super clean as well as surrounding grounds. Breakfast was good in the mornings. Only negative was the noise level of the bathroom fan, which was reported in an earlier review. It was excessive. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nteachey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Twp
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Great night's stay in Huntersville, a suburb of Charlotte, NC. Suite - type room, very clean. Continental breakfast in the morning. Very nice. Easy on and off from Interstate 77. Would definitely stay there again when visiting our daughter in Huntersville.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

While helping my son move we stayed at this hotel. We had a heck of a time finding a pet friendly hotel in this area. Many of the pet friendly hotels we have stayed have been a bit run down, or at least have given us the run down rooms. Not at this hotel. It was completely fine. The room was very clean and up to date.

We have stayed at this hotel twice. Both times we had a very good experience.

The hotel is within a mile of a very nice and rather large outdoor shopping area - Birkdale Village.

Within 2 miles is a large selection of restaurants.

The hotel has easy access to I-77. Only about 2 miles from the entrance.

Both times we found the staff to be very helpful and extremely friendly.

The breakfast is good and the area is nice and large.

The parking area is large including adjacent parking which will easily accommodate a moving truck.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bbeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I stay at Marriott properties all the time, and this one was typical. I found the hotel and my room clean with no issues observed like the previous reviewer. With a family of 4, the included breakfast is always a good deal. The proximity to the Birkdale Village Mall was a plus, with shopping and several food selections. There is also plenty of food choices nearby, by the freeway.

I mistakenly reserved a King room, instead of a 2 room suite and there were none available to move into. This was a bummer for my kids since they had to sleep on an uncomfortable sofa bed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bizztravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
236 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed at this hotel when we had to move out of our house whilst some work was being done. The staff generally were very pleasant. The seating in the lounge area consisted of an uncomfortable, and rather worn, armchair and a strange, and uncomfortable chaise lounge. We chose to lie on the bed to watch TV the seating was so uncomfortable.

In general the suite was reasonably clean with two exceptions... the handles on the refrigerator need a real scrub because of ingrained dirt and the return air vent for the A/C was covered with dust. The other negative was that the A/C was so noisy we put it off at night.

Room Tip: The rooms looking over the swimming pool have a pleasant view but one night someone played basket ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank phebert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

I stayed here for one night on July 5th and was horrified by the filthy room and hallways. Upon entering the hotel I was surprised by how nice it was for economy lodging. We checked in with Tina - a very helpful and friendly employee. Upon exiting the elevator we were greeted by used Q-Tips (cotton swabs) on the floor of the hallway - this was incredibly off-putting, however, I assumed that another visitor had recently littered - revolting. It was still there 5 hours later.

Once we entered the room it seemed to be clean and spacious. I walked into the bathroom to find the soap dish in the shower filled with pink soap scum and body hair. Looking around the floor was covered in hair, mold, as well as yellow surface stains (near the toilet - yes...). The shower curtain was also speckled with mold. In addition, the beds and pillows are not comfortable.

If you are visiting Lake Norman there are not many hotel options around. We stayed at the Hampton Inn the first two nights and although they were renovating the lobby found it to be much more comfortable.

As a previous platinum member I am familiar w/ Marriott and expected more. I highly recommend you do not stay here.

Room Tip: Explore other options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank global84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntersville
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Charlotte Lake Norman
Courtyard Charlotte Lake Norman
#7 of 12 in Huntersville
4.0 of 5 stars 77 reviews
1.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lake Norman
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Huntersville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites Huntersville
Candlewood Suites Huntersville
#5 of 12 in Huntersville
4.0 of 5 stars 115 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntersville-Birkdale
2.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Lake Norman - Huntersville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Charlotte Lake Norman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Charlotte Lake Norman

Address: 16830 Kenton Drive, Huntersville, NC 28078
Location: United States > North Carolina > Huntersville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Huntersville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Charlotte Lake Norman 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Marriott, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Residence Inn Charlotte Lake Norman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Charlotte Lake Norman Hotel Huntersville
Residence Inn Huntersville
Huntersville Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing