We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suited our needs but uncomfortable seating and noisy A/C” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Charlotte Lake Norman

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Charlotte Lake Norman to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Charlotte Lake Norman
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16830 Kenton Drive, Huntersville, NC 28078   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
3-Night Stays: Save 15%
Ranked #3 of 12 hotels in Huntersville
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Suited our needs but uncomfortable seating and noisy A/C”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed at this hotel when we had to move out of our house whilst some work was being done. The staff generally were very pleasant. The seating in the lounge area consisted of an uncomfortable, and rather worn, armchair and a strange, and uncomfortable chaise lounge. We chose to lie on the bed to watch TV the seating was so uncomfortable.

In general the suite was reasonably clean with two exceptions... the handles on the refrigerator need a real scrub because of ingrained dirt and the return air vent for the A/C was covered with dust. The other negative was that the A/C was so noisy we put it off at night.

Room Tip: The rooms looking over the swimming pool have a pleasant view but one night someone played basket ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    20
    11
    3
    3
See reviews for
34
8
2
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

I stayed here for one night on July 5th and was horrified by the filthy room and hallways. Upon entering the hotel I was surprised by how nice it was for economy lodging. We checked in with Tina - a very helpful and friendly employee. Upon exiting the elevator we were greeted by used Q-Tips (cotton swabs) on the floor of the hallway - this was incredibly off-putting, however, I assumed that another visitor had recently littered - revolting. It was still there 5 hours later.

Once we entered the room it seemed to be clean and spacious. I walked into the bathroom to find the soap dish in the shower filled with pink soap scum and body hair. Looking around the floor was covered in hair, mold, as well as yellow surface stains (near the toilet - yes...). The shower curtain was also speckled with mold. In addition, the beds and pillows are not comfortable.

If you are visiting Lake Norman there are not many hotel options around. We stayed at the Hampton Inn the first two nights and although they were renovating the lobby found it to be much more comfortable.

As a previous platinum member I am familiar w/ Marriott and expected more. I highly recommend you do not stay here.

Room Tip: Explore other options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

This hotel was perfect for what we needed it for. We were traveling South and wanted a nice halfway point where our 2 year old would be able to sleep in one room while we stayed up in another and where pets were accepted. We were only there about 10 hours so I can't really say how I would feel about a longer stay, but worked great for us. We did ask for a crib when I booked and it wasn't in the room, it wasn't a big deal, it was already late and we just put our daughter between us in the King bed.

Breakfast wasn't very good, but it's included so no big deal. Next time we travel like this I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

A year before my wedding I booked a block of 30 rooms. All rooms were booked 2 weeks prior. One week prior to my wedding, the sales team called and said they had to move 10 of my guests (who were coming in from all over the United States) to the Courtyard Marriott down the street because a VIP group worth a lot more money extended their stay.
Normally, this wouldn't be a big deal, but we scheduled all of our activities within walking distance of the hotel and we rented a shuttle to get them back and forth to and from the wedding. Additionally, a lot of our guests are family and haven't seen each other in a number of years.
With the additional hotel property added, the shuttle time had to be extended and we incurred more costs. The only resolution they offered us was a $10 discount to our guests at the Courtyard.
I will never recommend this hotel and have never been treated with such poor service.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

We were really looking forward to this hotel, the setup (2 bedroom suite) seemed ideal for us and a phone call to enquire about hairdressers had run into a friendly and efficient answer. On arrival, we were told there was no extra bed, though the reservation (made in the chain's own website) had "noted" our request and a fee for it was quoted in the reservation; no effort was made to help, even though the hotel had weeks to warn us about the fact that they could not provide a service they knew we wanted; we really wanted 4 beds for the 4 adult relatives staying and 2 had to share a bed - and the king and queen were not as big as in other places, plus the sofabed was not particularly good and when open did not allow movement around it in spite of a large living area. The second problem was that a hotel in a very quiet area had an incredibly noisy a/c unit (and shutting it down did not work, as those from others rooms made a similar racket if opening the window instead). To top it all, a single switch for light and a very noisy fan in the bedroom means use at night has to be in the dark or making a racket sure to wake up the other person in the room, plus both bathrooms are ensuite meaning any one using the sofabed has to walk through a bedroom to get to one. The kitchen was not overequipped, only 2 glasses and 2 wine gobelets while set up for 4 and no glasses nor even plastic cups to use in the bathrooms. For a place that is more expensive than similar hotels in the area, the added benefit of the living area did not compensate for the shortcomings at a cost similar to that of two 2-bed rooms in similar hotels, which we would have taken had we known we would not get 4 reasonable beds... and the noise was just bizarre. On the positive side, breakfast was better than expected (other than for the plastic stuff on Sunday) and the staff pleasant and helpful other than the total lack of any attempt to solve the bed problem on arrival.

Room Tip: Avoid if you dislike noise, the setup with a/c seemed similar in all rooms. Ask if they have any whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I was at this hotel for business and stayed for 5 weeks. They went out of their way to make sure we .accomodated in beautiful surroundings. The rooms were clean, and refreshed daily, the hot breakfast and dinners were well appreciated. There is a wonderful gas firepit as well as a gas grill outside if you want to cook for yourself. There is also a nice looking pool/hot tub area - but it doesn't open until May each year, so we weren't able to take advantage of that ammenity. It is close to the highway and within walking distance to shopping and restaurants. I didn't have a pet but did have someone come stay with me for 2 nights and paid $50 pet fee for those 2 nights.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a built in fireplace
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

I left 2 phone chargers in my hotel room. I didnt realize it until the next day after I was already home (5 hours away). I called and spoke to Keith and Robin. They were able to locate the chargers and sent them to me. I had them within two days. That was SOOOOOO appreciated!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Charlotte Lake Norman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Charlotte Lake Norman

Address: 16830 Kenton Drive, Huntersville, NC 28078
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Huntersville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Huntersville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Charlotte Lake Norman 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn Charlotte Lake Norman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Charlotte Lake Norman Hotel Huntersville
Residence Inn Huntersville
Huntersville Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Charlotte Lake Norman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.