We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexceptional, but comfortable enough hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lake Norman

Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lake Norman
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lake Norman to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lake Norman
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   16617 Statesville Road, Huntersville, NC 28078   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 20%
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Huntersville
United States
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Unexceptional, but comfortable enough hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Stayed for three nights at the Country Suites in early December. It is a typical suburban hotel by the highway surrounded by soulless suburban sprawl -- Target, Chili's, blah, blah, blah...

Unlike many suite hotels today, the suites are proper two-room suites with a door dividing the bedroom and living area. Unfortunately, the kitchenette is rather undersupplied and does not include any dishes, silverware, etc. Beds are comfortable, but pillows are a bit flat.

Housekeeping could do a better job of being thorough -- our room had a couple of socks in the bedroom and an empty shampoo bottle in the bathroom. The room wasn't dirty, however.

Breakfast was a bit disappointing -- only hot food comes in the form of make-your-own waffles and microwaveable eggs and breakfast sandwiches. Could stand to feel a bit fresher.

Overall this hotel feels tired and worn -- it could use a renovation quite soon. Nevertheless, the staff was very, very friendly, especially Karen in charge of housekeeping, all of the housekeepers and breakfast staff members themselves, as well as the front desk staff.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the highway could make sleeping a problem for light sleepers. Ask for a room facing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane B, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lake Norman, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our property. As you pointed out, our rooms are true suites, offering a separated bedroom and living room with a full door that shuts.
I have passed your comments on to our management staff and we thank you for the compliments regarding our friendly staff! In 2011, we received a Carlson Presidents Award for ranking in the top ten percentile of all Country Inn and Suites properties for our high guest service scores.
We look forward to hosting you during you next visit to Lake Norman!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    44
    15
    11
    5
See reviews for
72
35
6
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

After a long day on the road we came across the Country Inn & Suites in Huntersville NC. We were tired and wanted to get a good night's sleep. We were going to be up and out early the next morning for another long day on the road so we were hoping for a comfy bed. Well...the bed was so comfortable that we slept thru the alarm! Even tho we left an hour later than we wanted to we were grateful for the good night's sleep. As for the hotel, cookies and coffee greeted us at the front desk which were wonderful. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful. We had a king bed suite which was spacious, clean & nicely decorated. The breakfast in the morning was filled with so many choices, hot & cold. It was probably the best breakfast we had at any of the hotels we stayed at during our 3 week trip. All in all...I will be making a mental note of where this hotel is, so we can visit again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane B, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lake Norman, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback! We enjoyed having you as our guest and will look forward to hosting you again during your next trip to Huntersville.
I will pass along your comments about our staff so they will know what a great job they are doing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This is a very well-maintained hotel staffed by friendly, courteous and very competent people. The beds were very comfortable, even for a persnickety type like my spouse :-). He even looked up the pillows so we could buy some for home. There are typical restaurants within walking distance, such as Chili's, Longhorn and Outback. Breakfast bar was ample with sausage muffins, waffles, sliced bread, biscuits and gravy, fruit, name brand cereal, yogurt, milk and two different types of coffee. The is a pool, lthough we did not use it. There was a football tournament while we were here and it's a testament to the professionalism of the staff as well as the kids and their parents that there were no noise issues. Recommended for family travel. We will stay here again when we are in the area.

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor on the back side of the hotel. Probably helped keep the noise level low.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane B, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lake Norman, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for your comments! We greatly value our guest's feedback and I will share your thoughts with our staff!
We get a lot of compliments on our pillows, and please do reach out if you need any assistance ordering some for your own home!
We look forward to having you as our valued guest the next time you are headed to Huntersville!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterland, Ohio
Top Contributor
280 reviews 280 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
225 helpful votes 225 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We visited the Charlotte area in connection with the family weekend at Davidson College. I believe we were also competing with an area car show, so the hotels in the area were all busy. We tried this particular hotel for the first time, although we had stayed at other Country Suites hotels in the past.

The Country Suites chain has, as the name and photos suggest, a country inn feel, with a wood lobby and country style room decor. The staff was friendly and our room was comfortable. The rooms are more than a single room, but maybe a little less than a suite. There is a bedroom area (we had a king bed) and a kind of half wall that divided it from the living room area, which had a sofa bed. We appreciated having the sofa bed, although space was a little tight when we made it into a bed.

When we arrived, they inadvertently gave us a room that hadn't been cleaned, but with a phone call they quickly gave us another room that was probably a little better than the first. They have a decent complimentary breakfast. It's mostly Continental style (muffins, bagels, cereal), but they also had a simple to operate waffle maker if you want to make your own. The wi-fi was included in the price and worked just fine.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevator. The elevators make a little noise, but you also don't wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane B, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lake Norman, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Please allow me to apologize for initially placing you in a room that was not ready for you! We do our best to avoid this, but as humans can certainly make mistakes along the way.

Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to have you as our guest. We appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback and certainly look forward to hosting you the next time you are headed to Davidson!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The feel of the hotel was very nice. All Wood look throughout the hotel. The room was very nice & clean. The continental breakfast was excellent! I would definitely recommend staying here. the hotel is located very close to the interstate which made it very easy to get to anywhere in the area. We were staying here to go to a wedding.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We attended a wedding last weekend staying at the Country Suites of Lake Norman. The staff was wonderful, extremely friendly and helpful. Our room was really clean like no one else had stayed there before us and very comfortable. I recommend this hotel to all. Thank you to the staff for a great stay. Oh and the breakfast selection was really good from fresh fruit to waffles with fresh pecans.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

This hotel has some of the friendliest employees I have ever met. They are very quick to offer help and suggestions for the surrounding location. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The free breakfast was also a pleasant surprise. They have a lot of items to choose from and are quick to keep things stocked and clean. We had a very pleasant stay here and will probably make this our hotel of choice while visiting family members in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lake Norman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lake Norman

Address: 16617 Statesville Road, Huntersville, NC 28078
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Huntersville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Huntersville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lake Norman 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are proud to offer bountiful amenities designed to ensure a stress-free and enjoyable stay. Refuel with our complimentary hot breakfast buffet, relax in our indoor heated pool and jacuzzi, reconnect on our complimentary high speed wireless internet, and rest well in a one bedroom suite featuring your choice of a plush king size bed or two queen size beds. Our suites feature additional space in the living room which is separated by a door that shuts. In your suite you will find a refrigerator, microwave and (2) plasma flat screen TVs. Above all, you will enjoy true southern hospitality through our staff’s willingness to ensure your stay is remarkable. Enjoy all our region has to offer, with easy access to Charlotte, Birkdale Shopping and Golf Course, Huntersville Aquatic Center, Bradford Park, Historic Latta Plantation, and beautiful Lake Norman. For a comfortable and rewarding stay, we invite you to reserve your group at the Country Suites Lake Norman. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Carlson, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lake Norman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Suites By Carlson, Lake Norman Hotel Huntersville
Country Inn Huntersville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lake Norman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.