We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family friendly, comfortable, clean, and close to restaurants” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lake Norman

Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lake Norman
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lake Norman to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lake Norman
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   16617 Statesville Road, Huntersville, NC 28078   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 20%
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Huntersville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Castle Rock
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Family friendly, comfortable, clean, and close to restaurants”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This is a very well-maintained hotel staffed by friendly, courteous and very competent people. The beds were very comfortable, even for a persnickety type like my spouse :-). He even looked up the pillows so we could buy some for home. There are typical restaurants within walking distance, such as Chili's, Longhorn and Outback. Breakfast bar was ample with sausage muffins, waffles, sliced bread, biscuits and gravy, fruit, name brand cereal, yogurt, milk and two different types of coffee. The is a pool, lthough we did not use it. There was a football tournament while we were here and it's a testament to the professionalism of the staff as well as the kids and their parents that there were no noise issues. Recommended for family travel. We will stay here again when we are in the area.

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor on the back side of the hotel. Probably helped keep the noise level low.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane B, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lake Norman, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for your comments! We greatly value our guest's feedback and I will share your thoughts with our staff!
We get a lot of compliments on our pillows, and please do reach out if you need any assistance ordering some for your own home!
We look forward to having you as our valued guest the next time you are headed to Huntersville!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    53
    19
    13
    6
See reviews for
96
49
8
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chesterland, Ohio
Top Contributor
335 reviews 335 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
273 helpful votes 273 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We visited the Charlotte area in connection with the family weekend at Davidson College. I believe we were also competing with an area car show, so the hotels in the area were all busy. We tried this particular hotel for the first time, although we had stayed at other Country Suites hotels in the past.

The Country Suites chain has, as the name and photos suggest, a country inn feel, with a wood lobby and country style room decor. The staff was friendly and our room was comfortable. The rooms are more than a single room, but maybe a little less than a suite. There is a bedroom area (we had a king bed) and a kind of half wall that divided it from the living room area, which had a sofa bed. We appreciated having the sofa bed, although space was a little tight when we made it into a bed.

When we arrived, they inadvertently gave us a room that hadn't been cleaned, but with a phone call they quickly gave us another room that was probably a little better than the first. They have a decent complimentary breakfast. It's mostly Continental style (muffins, bagels, cereal), but they also had a simple to operate waffle maker if you want to make your own. The wi-fi was included in the price and worked just fine.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevator. The elevators make a little noise, but you also don't wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane B, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lake Norman, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Please allow me to apologize for initially placing you in a room that was not ready for you! We do our best to avoid this, but as humans can certainly make mistakes along the way.

Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to have you as our guest. We appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback and certainly look forward to hosting you the next time you are headed to Davidson!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The feel of the hotel was very nice. All Wood look throughout the hotel. The room was very nice & clean. The continental breakfast was excellent! I would definitely recommend staying here. the hotel is located very close to the interstate which made it very easy to get to anywhere in the area. We were staying here to go to a wedding.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We attended a wedding last weekend staying at the Country Suites of Lake Norman. The staff was wonderful, extremely friendly and helpful. Our room was really clean like no one else had stayed there before us and very comfortable. I recommend this hotel to all. Thank you to the staff for a great stay. Oh and the breakfast selection was really good from fresh fruit to waffles with fresh pecans.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

This hotel has some of the friendliest employees I have ever met. They are very quick to offer help and suggestions for the surrounding location. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The free breakfast was also a pleasant surprise. They have a lot of items to choose from and are quick to keep things stocked and clean. We had a very pleasant stay here and will probably make this our hotel of choice while visiting family members in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We had the most awesome family weekend. The hotel very clean. Staff was so pleasant and they couldn't do enough for you to make your stay enjoyable. Jane Blackwell, District Director of Sales assisted us in the morning with the printing of our boarding passes as we couldn't get the printer in the business office to cooperate! The complimentary breakfast is very adequate-many choices to fill your belly! Very convenient to shopping. Fresh cookies and coffee almost always available. I would highly recommend staying.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We stayed at the Country Inn and Suites Lake Norman this past weekend visiting with family looking for a home in the area. They chose the hotel, having stayed here before. I think we were there on a tough weekend for the hotel, which brings this review and our overall experience down.

We pulled up and found a full parking lot and saw dozens of people in red shirts spilling out of the lobby and into the area outside the entrance. it was packed. Apparently there was a large family reunion taking place there that weekend. We had kids running and bumping into us and it was overall very loud in the lobby. The noise continued, as did the cars parked taking up multiple spots and the general feeling that this reunion had taken up the entire hotel. Luckily we did have a suite which insulated us from the noise a bit. To Carlson's credit, they did respond immediately to my survey and comments so I am happy about that. Once the group left on our last day it was very quiet and we didn't have to fight crowds for breakfast and I assume that is what the hotel is like most days. I just feel that they should deal with groups better. I had my wedding guests at an upscale NY hotel and we had very strict rules in the contract regarding groups and that our group could not disturb other guests.

Overall, though, I really thought the hotel was nice. The lobby and rooms were very comfortable. I felt immediately comfortable and at home in the bedroom and the housekeeping staff did an excellent job keeping everything nice. The breakfast was good with yogurt fruit, cereal, belgian waffles and toaster french toast among other goodies. Once the group was gone, we were able t0o enjoy delicious cookies in the lobby. The staff was really nice and very friendly. I would stay there again because i feel the issues with the group were an anomaly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lake Norman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lake Norman

Address: 16617 Statesville Road, Huntersville, NC 28078
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Huntersville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Huntersville
#2 Family Hotel in Huntersville
#2 Romantic Hotel in Huntersville
#5 Business Hotel in Huntersville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lake Norman 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are proud to offer bountiful amenities designed to ensure a stress-free and enjoyable stay. Refuel with our complimentary hot breakfast buffet, relax in our indoor heated pool and jacuzzi, reconnect on our complimentary high speed wireless internet, and rest well in a one bedroom suite featuring your choice of a plush king size bed or two queen size beds. Our suites feature additional space in the living room which is separated by a door that shuts. In your suite you will find a refrigerator, microwave and (2) plasma flat screen TVs. Above all, you will enjoy true southern hospitality through our staff’s willingness to ensure your stay is remarkable. Enjoy all our region has to offer, with easy access to Charlotte, Birkdale Shopping and Golf Course, Huntersville Aquatic Center, Bradford Park, Historic Latta Plantation, and beautiful Lake Norman. For a comfortable and rewarding stay, we invite you to reserve your group at the Country Suites Lake Norman. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Carlson, EasyToBook, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lake Norman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Suites By Carlson, Lake Norman Hotel Huntersville
Country Inn Huntersville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lake Norman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.