We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel Good Location but check prices through other sites” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lake Norman

Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lake Norman
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lake Norman to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lake Norman
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   16617 Statesville Road, Huntersville, NC 28078   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 20%
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Huntersville
Cooper City, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good Hotel Good Location but check prices through other sites”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We had a family function in North Carolina near Lake Norman so we booked into this hotel as we often stay at Country Inn Suites in Florida. I booked a Queen Suite for 2 nights. I thought the price seemed high for the time of year, but booked anyway. I received my conformation and was still bothered by the price so I started checking other sites and sure enough found a much lower price through Hotwire. Country Inn Suites online booking promises to beat any price you find lower then their own site by 15% if you contact them within 24 hours of booking. I emailed them the information and they totally honored my lower price and adjusted my rate. It was well worth the time to check rates.

The hotel itself is in good shape. The lobby is attractive and they kept restocking the free cookies and coffee. The room was nice with a separate bedroom from the TV area with a closeable door. The free breakfast is more then adequate but no hot food was served. They did have make your own waffles with whipped cream and strawberries as well as microwaveable bacon, egg and cheese biscuits. The free Wifi worked well and parking was easy.

The pool area was off the breakfast room and looked nice but we never went in. They also had a business center ,where we were able to print out our boarding passes. The hotel staff was friendly and attentive. We had a small problem with a drain in the bathroom and it was fixed very quickly with little disruption. All in all our stay was pleasant and if we are back in the area we would probably stay there again.

Room Tip: Check prices and request a room away from the interstate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane B, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lake Norman, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your experience at our hotel! We appreciate the opportunity to have you as a guest and hope that you will stay with us during your next trip to the Lake Norman area.

I would like to assure you that per our brand standards, any rate that you find through an online 3rd party site will also be offered on our brand website. Book with confidence on countryinns.com. With our Best Rates Guarantee you can book any hotel on countryinns.com with no booking fees and be confident you are receiving the best hotel room rate available on the web - guaranteed. If you find a lower rate somewhere else online, alert us and we will honor the lower rate and even discount it further by 25%!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    40
    13
    11
    3
See reviews for
63
30
5
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

I've stayed at several Country Inns & Suites (in multiple states) since October of 2007, and I have to say that this was one of THE BEST trips for me. I recently had to travel to New Jersey to take care of my 97 year old mother-in-law, and I stayed in both Roanoke, VA (North bound) and Lake Norman, NC (South bound) on the way to and from Georgia to New Jersey (and back). Both the staff and the accommodations in both cities were beyond my expectations. The staff at both locations provided me with all kinds of information and directions to different restaurants and nearby attractions, and made sure that my stay was excellent. Kudos to everyone in both locations, and I look forward to staying with you again!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We live in Huntersville. We stayed at the Country Suites last night because our air conditioner was shut down for the evening for repairs. The accommodations could not have been better. The suites are well furnished and attractive. The staff was professional and cheerful. The continental breakfast was much better than average.

The hotel is conveniently located at Exit 25 on I-77, about ten miles north of Charlotte. There are several full service restaurants within the complex that guests can easily walk to, including a Chili's and a Melting Pot.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutz, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

We always stay at Country Inns because they are one of the few hotels that can accommodate six people in one room. In addition, they have in door pools, which means you can have fun even in the winter and when the weather is rainy. But to this specific trip and hotel. We were traveling and our van was running hot to the point that we had to get it repaired. We contacted them before we even got to the hotel and they were able to direct us to a couple of shops next to the hotel. Due to the time we got in, none of the repair shops were open and I had to take the van to the repair shop first thing in the morning. As expected, the repairs took much longer than expected. The staff at Country Suites was extremely accommodating and allowed us to stay up until 4 PM in the room until they said they would have to charge us a 1/2 day or we could pay for a full day and spend one more night. In addition, they offered to shuttle me back to the auto repair shop when the van was fixed. It was very nice to be treated kindly when we were in a bad situation and really did not want to pay for an additional nights stay. The room was clean and nice. Nothing was broken and no funny smells. A+++ in my book.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver nc
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

I purchased the Romance Package through this Hotel. It included a $50 Dinner voucher to The Melting Pot (just steps away from the hotel), a dozen handmade chocolates from a local candy store, and a nice bottle of champagne.Then of course one nights stay in a king jacuzzi suite. This was an anniversary gift to my husband and one of the best anniversaries we have EVER had!! The staff here was very friendly and had great communication with reserving our dinner reservations as soon as I booked. The hotel was very beautiful and clean. I had one of the best nights sleep I have had in a long time due to the wonderful king bed and soft plush pillows. We WILL stay here again. I highly recommend the Romance Package! It was money well spent!

Room Tip: Choose the Romance Package!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

This is a great place to stay. It is clean, and friendly and the breakfast is nice. The rooms are well thoughtout, clean and the bathroom had a great shower with HOT water. What is also nice is that there are plenty of places to eat close by OTHER than just fast food. Huntersville is an upscale burb of Charlotte so you don't have to worry about your car, etc. The pool and Jaccuzzi were very nice and very clean as well. Safe trip!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

Family and business bring us to Huntersville regularly and during the last few years we've made this hotel our designated "home away from home". Even five-night stays here are a pleasure.

The reasonably priced king suite provides more space than most hotels in this price range.  The separate bedroom and living areas (w/ kitchenette; 2 flat screen TVs) provide a space more like an apt than a hotel room. Uptown urban chic it's not, but it meets our expectations of clean, comfortable (including bed), roomy, convenient and reasonably priced with amenities and really great staff. (We feel "excellent" is a delicate balance of all of the above.)

Located in a landscaped enclave near Chili's, Longhorn Steakhouse and Melting Pot, a very short walk makes it convenient (& safe) to wind down and enjoy a couple of drinks with dinner.  

And, if you're overnighting en route, it's great to check in here at 4 pm, relax, enjoy the amenities and not have to get back in your vehicle to go to dinner.  Conveniently located at I-77 (exit 25), it's an easy exit and re-entry.  

Also, located only a short mile from Birkdale Village shopping & dining (for your extended stays). 

And, the road construction in the area has finally been completed.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lake Norman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lake Norman

Address: 16617 Statesville Road, Huntersville, NC 28078
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Huntersville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Huntersville
#4 Family Hotel in Huntersville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lake Norman 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are proud to offer bountiful amenities designed to ensure a stress-free and enjoyable stay. Refuel with our complimentary hot breakfast buffet, relax in our indoor heated pool and jacuzzi, reconnect on our complimentary high speed wireless internet, and rest well in a one bedroom suite featuring your choice of a plush king size bed or two queen size beds. Our suites feature additional space in the living room which is separated by a door that shuts. In your suite you will find a refrigerator, microwave and (2) plasma flat screen TVs. Above all, you will enjoy true southern hospitality through our staff’s willingness to ensure your stay is remarkable. Enjoy all our region has to offer, with easy access to Charlotte, Birkdale Shopping and Golf Course, Huntersville Aquatic Center, Bradford Park, Historic Latta Plantation, and beautiful Lake Norman. For a comfortable and rewarding stay, we invite you to reserve your group at the Country Suites Lake Norman. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Carlson, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lake Norman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Suites By Carlson, Lake Norman Hotel Huntersville
Country Inn Huntersville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lake Norman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.