We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntersville-Birkdale to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntersville-Birkdale
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   16905 Caldwell Creek Drive, Huntersville, NC 28078   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Huntersville
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel, stayed one night for business. Room was clean and spacious and provided for a good nights rest. Free breakfast was outstanding, well above average offerings I have had at other hotels. Overall a very nice stay.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexbirkdale, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntersville-Birkdale, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you! We appreciate your staying with us recently and taking time to provide a review of your visit. Not only is this nice review helpful to fellow travelers but extremely important to us in our efforts to continually provide and expand great guest service to each and every guest.
We hope to se you again soon and again, our thanks.
Debra S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    30
    14
    6
    1
See reviews for
32
27
7
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Found this hotel while driving. Checked in January 1 at 9pm. Receptionist was excellent and very helpful. Made us aware of the extra points we could earn by watching a video online. Nice room and got a good night sleep. Pancake machine and hot water was not working for breakfast. That was ok, they heated my water for tea in a microwave. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexbirkdale, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntersville-Birkdale, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We appreciate your business and your comments. I am so sorry about the hot water and pancakes. Both issues were quicky resolved and you will enjoy both on your next visit!
Again, many thanks for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Debra S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Springs, Florida
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Hotel was just so-so. Room rates were a little on the high side for a hotel of this quality. Since my trip was for personal business and this was only an intermediate stop, I would have preferred a less expensive room. Only stayed here because it was on my route and convenient to the Interstate. It came up on my GPS and I stopped here because it was getting late. Had I been able to research other available rooms I probably would not have stayed here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexbirkdale, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntersville-Birkdale, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for staying with us during your recent travels. While we appreciate your business we are so sorry you felt disappointed with the value you received. We work very hard to keep our rates competitive while offering the best value possible. Guest feedback is very important to us and we thank you for your time in posting your review. Guest reviews factor into all of our business decisions and we couldn't enjoy the success we do without them. Again, our thanks.
Debra S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

This was the first time we've stayed in a Holiday Inn Express. We usually stay at Hampton Inns or something similar as they include a breakfast and are nice. This time we were looking for something centrally located to the Charlotte Motor Speedway, The Carolina Raptor Center, and The Renaissance Festival, and Lake Norman. We were glad we found this HIE. What a great deal and it was more than we expected. The hotel was clean, staff was pleasant, and the breakfast was better than a continental breakfast. The rooms were like a studio apartment with a sofa, sink, & refrigerator and nicely decorated. The location is great with lots of restaurants close by.

Room Tip: We were in room 218 and I was so happy to open my curtains and see a tree instead of just the parkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexbirkdale, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntersville-Birkdale, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you very much for giving Holiday Inn Express a try and for taking the time to post a review. We are very enthusiastic about hotel and our brand and hope you will not only visit us again soon but try other Holiday Inn Express hotels when you travel.
Once again thank you! We appreciate your business
Debra S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grovetown, Georgia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Very nice and great customer service! I was given incorrect information about our room and breakfast times from the 1-800 number. The front desk was VERY accommodating and went above and beyond for us. We were visiting for a soccer tournament and had to be at our game at 7:00 a.m. They started breakfast an hour early so we could eat both days. The room was one of the cleanest we have been in too. Room 201. Thank you so much!!!

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly for correct information.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexbirkdale, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntersville-Birkdale, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for staying with us while attending the recent soccer tournament and for taking your time to write a review of your visit. We appreciate your acknowledging our front desk staff and will share your review. I hope your team had a successful trip to the tournament and we hope you will again plan a visit with us. Again, thank you for your business and your kind review.
Debra S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okatie, SC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I have an issue with management of this property. She said in a reply on July 11, 2013 that all the suites are King. I beg to differ. We stayed in a handicap accessible room on 30 Oct and it had a Queen bed.
Our experience on Nov 2 was less than desirable. We changed rooms after finding the door lock deadbolt did not work, the heater did not work, the bed was filthy...covers had been pulled up over the dirty sheets. Actually, we would have moved to another hotel if it had not been so late at night. The one-person desk attendant was excellent and found a room in the full hotel. We checked that room before packing everything up. It was adequate. The carpets are frayed at the edges, and a drawer in the kitchen area had the front falling off. We stayed but the experience in the first room has left a sour taste regarding IGHotels.
I would note that this review is being posted after response from the management, which indicated that the problems were being sorted out.

Room Tip: Do not be afraid to ask the desk attendant to allow you to check the room before actually checking i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexbirkdale, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntersville-Birkdale, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
We appreciate your taking the time to provide valuable feedback from your recent visit with us and we’re very sorry your visit was disappointing. Housekeeping issues are unacceptable and have been addressed and maintenance was alerted to the cabinet front and deadbolt troubles you mentioned.
All of our rooms are King Studio Suites with the exception of the Handicap accessible rooms. Those do have a queen bed and a queen sleep sofa to allow better maneuverability for those needing the extra space. In compliance with ADA laws they are the very last rooms sold unless requested at the time a reservation is made. As we were full when you made your reservations that was the only room type available.
All of our air conditioning units have been cleaned and winterized this past week. We contacted the contractors concerning your unit and it has now been resolved.
Again, please know that your feedback is very important. We thank you and urge you to reconsider your thoughts on IHG Hotels.
Debra S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

If you are staying in this area - this is the hotel you should choose! Friendly staff - clean rooms - excellent location! We were in this area for a wedding at the Arbors. I can't say enough about the very cooperative staff!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexbirkdale, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntersville-Birkdale, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for posting a review of your visit. We're glad yo had such a great weekend. We're very proud of our staff and we do enjoy a great location. We appreciate your business and positive feedback is always welcome! Again, a big thank you! We hope you will visit us again soon. .
Debra S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntersville-Birkdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntersville-Birkdale

Address: 16905 Caldwell Creek Drive, Huntersville, NC 28078
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Huntersville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Huntersville
#6 Business Hotel in Huntersville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntersville-Birkdale 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Huntersville/Birkdale, the newest addition to the beautiful Lake Norman area. Minutes from area attractions and the Charlotte metro area, this hotel is near an array of unique shopping, dining and recreational options, many within walking distance. Our all new hotel features 91 fresh, modern, state-of-the-art guestrooms and suites. We offer many amenities both leisure and business travelers appreciate like free wireless high-speed Internet access, 32” flat panel LCD TVs, microwaves, compact fridges and wet bars. The Holiday Inn Express & Suites is Conveniently located at exit 25 of the I-77 just minutes from Birkdale Village and nearby companies such as Ingersoll Rand, Newell Rubbermaid and McGuire Nuclear station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntersville-Birkdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Huntersville-Birkdale
Hawthorn Suites Huntersville
Huntersville Hawthorn Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntersville-Birkdale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.