We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntersville-Birkdale to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
IHG Expedia.com
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntersville-Birkdale
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   16905 Caldwell Creek Drive, Huntersville, NC 28078   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 12 hotels in Huntersville
Lafayette, Indiana
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Restful Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Debbie at reception on Fri night was very friendly and helpful. Great room. Did hear some doors slamming, but brought a sound machine to block out noises like this. Breakfast okay; not a lot of tables available. Scrambled eggs on Sat not bad, but the omelets on Sunday weren't very good and pancake maker was broken. Pretty slim pickings for Sunday breakfast. There were healthy choices available, which was good, so I could offset the calories by the wonderful cinnamon rolls!
Good location. Clean bathroom. The only complaint were the sandpaper-like tissues.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexbirkdale, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntersville-Birkdale, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for your time in sharing your experience with us. Please know how much we appreciate your comments and observations as they provide us with the opportunity to focus on areas that require our immediate attention. While we're delighted that you enjoyed the delicious cinnamon rolls and heallthy items on our breakfast bar, we are also assessing ways to improve our egg offerings. Our apologies for the pancake machine being out of service on the day of your visit. It's very popular and therefore gets a good workout. A minor repair has it back in service now. We're also looking into other tissue options and thank you for bringing that to our attention.
Your opinions and your business are very valuable. Again, we thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    21
    8
    4
    0
See reviews for
23
21
4
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, Georgia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

My experience with this hotel was awesome. The rooms were very clean and the staff was wonderful. Honestly I have rarely stayed at hotels were I had no back pain after a nights sleep but the bed here were so comfortable. I will stay here everytime I'm in town. AWESOME!!!!

Room Tip: Suites were awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexbirkdale, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntersville-Birkdale, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you! So glad you had a great experience and a good night's sleep and were generous enough to share your opinions with other TripAdvisor travelers. It's wonderful when things go well and even better when someone is nice enough to make note of it. We hope all of your travels are equally as awesome and bring you to our doors again soon. Again, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed for one night on a road trip south to Florida. Very quiet, nice, clean, modern. Good room layout - we slept 2 adults in the King bed and 2 kids in the pull-out sofa very comfortably. Front desk staff friendly and welcoming. Restaurants and shopping (Target!) close by. A little bit tricky to navigate to the hotel due to the tricky turns in the road and one-ways but that's not the hotel's fault, it's city planning. Would recommend this hotel for sure.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexbirkdale, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntersville-Birkdale, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
We appreciate your taking the time to review our hotel. Thank you! The room details and comments regarding the tricky traffic pattern will help other travelers searching for good accommodations. We hope you have a wonderful to Florida and would love to see you on your return trip! Again, thank you for sharing your experience while staying with us recently.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, North Carolina
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I stayed at this location multiple times in 2012, and entered a review in July. I recently hosted a very large and important meeting at the location, and was very happy with the service that was provided by the sales director Debra and the entire team. I had close to 100 lodging nights, and the meeting space for the week. I had zero complaints or concerns from anyone staying at the hotel, and the meeting was a wonderful success. I keep my business where the business keeps me happy, and this is it. Well done HIExpress Huntersville.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexbirkdale, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntersville-Birkdale, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
A great big thank you! Everyone at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Huntersville appreciates your compliments and your wonderful business. Yours is a great group to work with and we're grateful you've chosen to work with us! Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville,FL
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is nice and the rooms have a great set up. The beds were comfortable to sleep on. The only con is it a little tough to find but once you know where it is you are fine. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexbirkdale, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntersville-Birkdale, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel. Our relatively new traffice pattern coming off I-77 is indeed tricky if you are unfamiliar with it so we appreciate your mention of it. It may help other travelers be extra alert to the unique traffic flow.
We're especially happy that you would stay with us again. We hope you do!
Again, thank you. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed just one night, on the way back from the Renaissance fair in Charlotte, but very nice, modern room, courteous staff, and excellent breakfast. Hotel is tucked into a nice quiet area with trees, but is only a few hundred yards from an up-scale shopping and restaurant area. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexbirkdale, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntersville-Birkdale, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us while visiting the Renaissance Festival. We appreciate your taking the time to review us on this website. Travelers very often take these reviews into consideration when choosing a hotel. Because these comments are important to both travelers and hotels a review such as yours makes us both very happy! Thank you.We hope you will visit us again for the 2013 Renaissance Festival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamston, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed Nov. 2and Nov.3,2012. Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and very comfortable. The hotel was easy to find and close to shopping and restaurants. We were there for the Renaissance Festival and it was easy to find from where we were staying. They were booked and I was a little worried that it would be noisy and chaotic, but I was pleasantly surprised how well the staff kept everything in order. Breakfast was good but they had a little trouble with the pancake maker. The breakfast host was very nice. After she fixed the pancake maker she actually brought me a pancake to my table. How sweet of her to do that when she was so busy.I would recommend this hotel and when we go back next year for the festival we will stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexbirkdale, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntersville-Birkdale, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Your review means a lot to us and we all thank you. As much as we need to know if we stray off course, we love knowing when things go as they should. Your comments serve as a great motivator to continually deliver the great service our guests should experience every time they visit our hotel. Please know that a brand new pancake machine is on its' way!
We hope all of your travels are safe and pleasant and we look forward to having you visit us again soon.
Thank you.
Debra Schmidt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntersville-Birkdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntersville-Birkdale

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Huntersville-Birkdale
Hawthorn Suites Huntersville
Huntersville Hawthorn Suites
Address: 16905 Caldwell Creek Drive, Huntersville, NC 28078
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Huntersville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Huntersville
#4 Romantic Hotel in Huntersville
#5 Business Hotel in Huntersville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntersville-Birkdale 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Huntersville/Birkdale, the newest addition to the beautiful Lake Norman area. Minutes from area attractions and the Charlotte metro area, this hotel is near an array of unique shopping, dining and recreational options, many within walking distance. Our all new hotel features 91 fresh, modern, state-of-the-art guestrooms and suites. We offer many amenities both leisure and business travelers appreciate like free wireless high-speed Internet access, 32” flat panel LCD TVs, microwaves, compact fridges and wet bars. The Holiday Inn Express & Suites is Conveniently located at exit 25 of the I-77 just minutes from Birkdale Village and nearby companies such as Ingersoll Rand, Newell Rubbermaid and McGuire Nuclear station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntersville-Birkdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntersville-Birkdale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.