We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, terrible room” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Huntersville

Save Saved
You added Candlewood Suites Huntersville to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Huntersville
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16530 Northcross Drive, Huntersville, NC 28078   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #8 of 12 hotels in Huntersville
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great service, terrible room”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed at the Candlewood last week traveling home from Christmas vacation. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful, but the actual hotel room was disgusting. The couch had a huge black stain on it right where you sit down, the carpet had fibers coming up everywhere, and our quilt had a huge hole in it. The pillows were flat and worn out, and our cable TV did not work-after calling the front desk we never received a response about the outcome.
It's a decent place to stay for 1 night, but the rooms need to be inspected by management for quality for sure!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shingi R, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Huntersville, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
Please accept my sincere apology for the unsatisfactory experience you had at the Candlewood. It is a disappointment to me and my team that you were checked into a room that had not been adequately cleaned or inspected. We strive to give every guest a warm welcome and clean, comfortable accommodations, but in your case, we fell short. I hope you will give us another chance to show you that we are much better than your last experience and have high cleanliness standards. I look forward to your return and the opportunity to serve you better. Your comments have given us a much needed reminder to never be complacent. This is a great place to work and stay.
Sincerely,
Shingi Rukuni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    15
    6
    7
    4
See reviews for
17
15
8
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Camden, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My stay in the Candlewood was a magnificent experience. The staff was wonderful and extremely friendy. I was taken aback by the attention to every little detail that you could think of having in a hotel and then some. I am think of staying there without having a reason except for it being a little slice of heavenly delight. I have spread the word to others as well.

Brava! and kudos to the management.



prettyfeeet1

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shingi R, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Huntersville, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
What a wonderful review. Thank you. Our goal is to have every single guest have a quality experience such as yours. We appreciate you taking time to share your experience with others and are humbled by your kind words. It would be our pleasure to help you plan your next day of relaxation at the Candlewood. We look forward to serving you again. This is a great place to work and stay.
Warmest regards,
Shingi Rukuni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This is the first time we have stayed at a Candlewood Suites and we will definitely stay in one again. At check-in the staff could not have been any more friendly and the same was true when we checked out the next morning. Very, very clean rooms and loved having the kitchenette.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shingi R, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Huntersville, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your raving review. I am glad you got the chance to enjoy our fully equipped kitchenette with a full size refrigerator, two burner stove, dishwasher, pots and pans and cooking utensils. Enough to make a great meal while you are on the road. Please keep us in mind should your travels bring you back to our neck of the woods. This is a great place to work and stay.
Warm Regards,
Shingi Rukuni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Upon arrival I was greeted with the smiling face of Rose. I had an awesome 2 day stay and check out. She was very knowledgable about sites near the hotel and it surroundings. I will definately book another room here.

Room Tip: Higher floors are best and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shingi R, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Huntersville, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your kind words and high marks for Rose. She is a shining example of our team here at the Candlewood in Huntersville and we appreciate her dedication to great service. Thank you again for choosing us and we look forward to your return. This is a great place to work and stay.
Warm Regards
Shingi Rukuni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Staying at Candlewood Suites in the past has always been a great experience, and this time was no different. The check in staff was genuinely friendly and very helpful with directions to nearby restaurants. In the daylight, it is apparent how close many eateries are, but at night after a long drive, not so apparent. The room was clean; the kitchenette was great, and the really special extra touch was the pouch of name-brand microwave popcorn in the microwave oven. The bed and pillows were very comfortable, and the room was very quiet. The fitness room had several pieces of top-notch cardio-equipment, and a Universal weight center, no free weights. However it was very warm in there, and the knob to adjust the air conditioner was broken off. I let the front desk know, and they assured me it would be fixed, but I opted to run outside and the front desk person gave me very easy directions on where to go. It is a very safe neighborhood. We'll stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed right across from the fitness center/laundry room, and it was quiet and convenient to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shingi R, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Huntersville, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your wonderful comments; I could not have asked for a more raving review. We are pleased you had a safe and comfortable visit and got the chance to enjoy our world class amenities. We hope your travels bring you back to our neck of the woods and you afford us another opportunity to provide you with great service and excellent accommodations. This a great place to work and stay.
Warm regards,
Shingi Rukuni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Airy, North Carolina
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This is the fourth year in a row that we have stayed in this hotel when visiting the renaissance fair. The rooms are very clean, spacious, and we love the little kitchenette. My husband eats late at night and it is great that he can warm up his food right there in the room.
The staff is also very friendly; and this time around Rose even helped us play a little joke on some of our friends. We had a good laugh and Rose also said she enjoyed that. We also took advantage of the gazebo out back, which was comfortable and clean. We would stay there again and again.
Thanks for a great stay.

Room Tip: Third floor is the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shingi R, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Huntersville, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the Candlewood Suites to be your home away from home when you travel to Huntersville. We are delighted you enjoyed our many amenities including our fully equipped kitchens. We look forward to seeing you again when you return for your fifth year.This is a great place to work and stay!
Warm Regards
Shingi Rukuni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed at this property for almost a month waiting to close on our house after being relocated to the area. Not only were they accommodating with our pets, but also helped us out with everything that we needed. Angela, Shingi, and Cassi definitely made the stay the 5 stars that it was. The rooms are nice especially with having a kitchen, and the beds are very comfortable. But as I said before the 3 ladies at the front desk during the week were the best part of the stay, you couldn't ask for better personnel. All in all the stay was great, we definitely recommend anyone stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shingi R, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Huntersville, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your raving review and kind compliments for our team here at the Candlewood Suites. Great service is easiest to give when we host great guests such as yourself. It was a pleasure to serve you and we are pleased our pet friendly hotel had just what you needed during your relocation. This is a great place to Work and Stay.
Warmest Regards,
Shingi Rukuni
General Manager
704-895-3434
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Candlewood Suites Huntersville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Huntersville

Address: 16530 Northcross Drive, Huntersville, NC 28078
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Huntersville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Huntersville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Huntersville 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether coming to Huntersville- Lake Norman for business or just for fun your room at the Candlewood Suites is your personal retreat. You ll have room to work, relax and make the most of your day. Amenities such as high-speed Internet, work center, resort quality towels, and luxurious bedding mean every night is a great night and every day starts right. Enjoy a night of entertainment in your suite with free popcorn and a DVD movie. Spacious, fully equipped suites with amble work space and fully equipped kitchens make for a relaxing stay. Located off I-77, exit 25, in Huntersville, North Carolina, we are 5 minutes from Mickey & Mooch. We are affiliated with several educational facilities including Davidson College, UNCC Huntersville is located within the heart of NASCAR, minutes from Lowe's Motor Speedway, Richard Petty Driving Experience, Michael Waltrip RAcing World & Dale Earnhardt Enterprises. Mooresville, Race City USA within minutes. Convenient to Huntersville Business Park, Ingersoll Rand, Lowe's, Newell Rubbermaid, & the North Lake Mall. Bring your golf clubs and tee off at Birkdale Golf Course or Verdict Ridge Country Club. Visitors enjoy swimming at Mecklenburg Aquatic Club. Outdoor activities in our area include the U.S. National Whitewater Center, Queen's Landing with miniature golf, tennis, summertime bands & Cawtawba River Boat Cruises. Plus, there s great shopping, dining and exciting entertainment at Birkdale Village. Candlewood Suites is your best stay - for a night, week, month or even a year! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Candlewood Suites Huntersville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Huntersville Hotel Huntersville
Candlewood Huntersville
Huntersville Candlewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Huntersville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.