We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for young children”
Review of Discovery Place KIDS

105 Gilead Road, Huntersville, NC 28078
704-372-6261
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #1 of 16 attractions in Huntersville
Certificate of Excellence 2013
Type: Children's Museums
Owner description: Visit us for extraordinary and rich play experiences that value imagination, fun and learning. The Museum offers an adventure in play adventure for... more » Owner description: Visit us for extraordinary and rich play experiences that value imagination, fun and learning. The Museum offers an adventure in play adventure for children age birth through 7 and their parents or caregivers. Join us for daily puppet shows and story time. « less
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    25
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Discovery Place KIDS
See the most recent reviews
Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place for young children”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is a great place to take your young kids to learn and play. We visited this to take a break from our lake vacation and it was fantastic. They have so much for little ones to do. They can climb on a fire truck, make pretend food in a huge restaurant kitchen for kids, or explore the sea in a replica submarine. Our son was 3 years old and it was the perfect age to enjoy everything in the museum. Kids over 7 would probably get board fairly quickly but for your preschoolers you can spend several hours here. The price is very fair at $8 per person. I believe it is free if you are under the age of 1. I would allow at least 3 hours if you want to convince them to leave without a fight. Everything looks new. We visited on a Saturday in June and it the crowd was pretty small. We had no trouble going to all of the attractions. It might not be the best place to visit during flu season though lots of pieces to be handled and go in little mouths. Great stop so glad we went for my son.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rego Park, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“8 month old had the time of her life!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We were visiting Charlotte for a few days and decided to take our 8 month daughter here to play in the infant/toddler area. She had so much fun crawling around and playing with the water activities.

She even enjoyed some of the activities for older kids since it allowed her to interact with everything.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Great for preschool set if visited during week”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We first attempted to visit Discovery Place KIDS in Huntersville during a time when kids were out for a teacher workday and the entry line was wrapped around the building. Thank goodness we left to return another day, because after finally getting there today I could easily see how this would not be enjoyable if it wasn't during the week and uncrowded. My perception was that is was a museum of sorts for children, but really what it is would be an creative play environment for kids 5 and under. The website says kids under 8, but I can't imagine doing this with a school age child.
It is sort of pricey for what it is, and if I had a preschooler, was a stay at home parent, and lived close by I could see getting a membership to take the kids to play often. They had a water play table, train table, dress up pieces, kids could play in a boat, firetruck, and sit on a tractor. Lots of nice picture taking opportunities with all the props. No food service inside (other than vending machines) so everyone seems to show up first thing and play a few hours and then it empties out at lunch/nap time. I'd plan on about 3 hrs here. Nice place to play for your preschoolers, we had an enjoyable time but not something we'd go back again or make a long drive for.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“imaginative play for little ones”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

There are a ton of imaginative experiences for little ones here. The art room wasn't anything to write home about. The water room was average. But they have a ton of imaginative areas like a doctors office, airport, mechanics.... our favorite was they make beleive restaurant. That was brilliant.

It was clean, fun, and in a good neighborhood.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Brits Abroad....... with family, staying in Charlotte”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Out and about round Charlotte with our grandson and family, we went to this excellent childrens' play centre in Hunterville. Managed to squeeze 5 of us into a car for the trip out of the city. Not too long, thankfully!!!

What a brilliant place to spend some time with a youngster, in our case 16 months. He loved the water play, the fire engine, the tractor and just about everything!! Good facilities and equipment, even if the grocery store did look like it had been attacked by a small mob....... which it had, of course!!! Diligent parents worked to put all the stuff back on the shelves!!

Loved it..... and we have some brilliant photos to take away as well.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Discovery Place KIDS also viewed

 

Been to Discovery Place KIDS? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Discovery Place KIDS, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.