We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“8 month old had the time of her life!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Discovery Place KIDS

Discovery Place KIDS
105 Gilead Road, Huntersville, NC 28078
704-372-6261
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 20 Attractions in Huntersville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Type: Children's museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visit us for extraordinary and rich play experiences that value imagination, fun and learning. The Museum offers an adventure in play adventure for children age birth through 7 and their parents or caregivers. Join us for daily puppet shows and story time.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“8 month old had the time of her life!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We were visiting Charlotte for a few days and decided to take our 8 month daughter here to play in the infant/toddler area. She had so much fun crawling around and playing with the water activities.

She even enjoyed some of the activities for older kids since it allowed her to interact with everything.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    31
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Great for preschool set if visited during week”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We first attempted to visit Discovery Place KIDS in Huntersville during a time when kids were out for a teacher workday and the entry line was wrapped around the building. Thank goodness we left to return another day, because after finally getting there today I could easily see how this would not be enjoyable if it wasn't during the week and uncrowded. My perception was that is was a museum of sorts for children, but really what it is would be an creative play environment for kids 5 and under. The website says kids under 8, but I can't imagine doing this with a school age child.
It is sort of pricey for what it is, and if I had a preschooler, was a stay at home parent, and lived close by I could see getting a membership to take the kids to play often. They had a water play table, train table, dress up pieces, kids could play in a boat, firetruck, and sit on a tractor. Lots of nice picture taking opportunities with all the props. No food service inside (other than vending machines) so everyone seems to show up first thing and play a few hours and then it empties out at lunch/nap time. I'd plan on about 3 hrs here. Nice place to play for your preschoolers, we had an enjoyable time but not something we'd go back again or make a long drive for.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“imaginative play for little ones”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

There are a ton of imaginative experiences for little ones here. The art room wasn't anything to write home about. The water room was average. But they have a ton of imaginative areas like a doctors office, airport, mechanics.... our favorite was they make beleive restaurant. That was brilliant.

It was clean, fun, and in a good neighborhood.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Brits Abroad....... with family, staying in Charlotte”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Out and about round Charlotte with our grandson and family, we went to this excellent childrens' play centre in Hunterville. Managed to squeeze 5 of us into a car for the trip out of the city. Not too long, thankfully!!!

What a brilliant place to spend some time with a youngster, in our case 16 months. He loved the water play, the fire engine, the tractor and just about everything!! Good facilities and equipment, even if the grocery store did look like it had been attacked by a small mob....... which it had, of course!!! Diligent parents worked to put all the stuff back on the shelves!!

Loved it..... and we have some brilliant photos to take away as well.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“so great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

A totally great place to spend the day.. can get crowded but kids are kids. so much fun and interaction...kids above 6yrs old might get bored.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Discovery Place KIDS also viewed

 

Been to Discovery Place KIDS? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Discovery Place KIDS, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.