We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of preservatives” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Unica

La Unica
16203 Northcross Drive, Huntersville, NC 28078
(704) 895-5378
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 117 Restaurants in Huntersville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Maryland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Lots of preservatives”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

This places uses lots of artificial preservatives, msg and low quality ingredients. Expect not to feel well after eating. Look
Elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    41
    10
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntersville, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Americanized Mexican Reiterated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

After a long wait for the empty premises on Northcross Drive in Huntersville to be rejuvenated , La Unica appeared. My restaurant partner (and spouse) speaks fluent Spanish and has been to Mexico five times, She summarily described the menu as "Tex-Mex" suitable for the local palate, I am a lacto-ovo vegetarian and was pleased to see a list of vegetarian dinners on the menu, I questioned the server as to whether the beans contained any meat products. Her initial answer to me was that she did not think so however her hesitancy prompted me to encourage her to check with the kitchen.She returned with the answer that the refried beans were made with lard.(Hello out there - lard is a meat product to a vegetarian.) I was left with one choice; the "Vegetable quesadilla and salad" at $7.99. I note that the lunch specials containing meat ranged in price from $5.39-$6.79. The vegetables were a typical combination. The cheese had a processed texture and the sauce tasted sweet and simplistic - perfect for someone who eschews complexity and, anything too foreign,
The tortilla chips were heavier than usual, as though they had absorbed too much oil. The salsa that accompanied them was their best feature, particularly the spicier version of the two provided, The Margarita's seemed so "light" that I checked the bill ( which was not totaled for us) to ensure we were not given virgin drinks in error.
All things considered I anticipate that this restaurant will be a popular alternative for the average American palate to pizza and Chinese.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“shrimp with no shrimp”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Ordered a meal with shrimp and received a plate of onions and peppers and 3 small shrimp in the middle of the onions. When I asked " where's the shrimp? I was ignored. Never again will I eat there.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Fabulous, Authentic Mexican Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The new, much larger location is lovely. The service is attentive and friendly. The atmosphere vibrant and fun. The chips and salsa are perfect-- love all three salsas! This is a quality, family friendly restaurant whose food I dream about if I go too long between visits. It is truly delicious and you can tell that they really care about serving fantastic food. Something for everyone here!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, NC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Food 10 Service 1”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

There is a lot wrong with this new location. For a Thursday night at 7:45 there was a 20 minute wait that turned closer to 30 minutes. We were seated and it took about 10 minutes for the waitress to get our order and bring the drinks. The food came out within a few minutes; it is some of the best street food I have found in the area; but it is just that street food. Then it went downhill from there. We never had our waitress to come by the table again. She was more concerned about the 12 top than the rest of her section. No beverage refills; even after asking. No one came by to check if the food came out right; and didn’t see one person that looked like a manager working. 30 minutes later we tracked down the waitress to get our ticket and then the line to pay. I will go back for average food and great service; I will not go back for great food and no service. Once the new kid on the block wares off in a few months the volume is going to drop. If service is still that bad, that location will be another empty building. I recommend the place for to go food. I don’t recommend the place to sit down to eat.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Unica also viewed

 

Been to La Unica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Unica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.