We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Learning Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carolina Raptor Center

Carolina Raptor Center
6000 Sample Road, Huntersville, NC 28078
704-875-6521
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 19 Attractions in Huntersville
Type: Science Museums, Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Zoos & Aquariums
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Carolina Raptor Center is dedicated to environmental stewardship and the conservation of birds of prey through education, research, and the rehabilitation of injured and orphaned raptors. Stroll along the 3/4 mile nature trail for a self-guided tour, observe over 20 species of raptors in their aviaries, watch a presentation of live raptors, read personal stories about our resident birds and how they came to live at Carolina Raptor Center.Monday-Saturday: 10am-5pmSunday: 12pm-5pm
Huntersville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Learning Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This is one of the foremost rehabilitation centers for raptors in the U.S. Eagles, hawks, harriers, owls and many other birds are brought to the center for evaluation and, when possible, reentry into the wild. Those that are too badly injured are given an ample habitat and shown to visitors, teaching the nature of these wild birds and have hatched young which are then released when able to fly and fend for themselves. It is a must see, either a self-guided tour or with one of the docents. Nominal fee/conribution to the center. Also, bird sponsorships are available as well as a fascinating gift shop.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    32
    11
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntersville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“$10 entrance fee”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Was not very impressed, however I'm not a bird person. There is a small gift shop with ice cream and snacks.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“My Favorite Place in Charlotte”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I live in Charlotte and love to head to the Raptor Center whenever I can. Not only is it simply cool to see all the different birds - from Ospreys to Falcons to Hawks to Eagles to Owls - but it's outside in the woods. You enjoy a nice outdoor walk while viewing the birds in their enclosures - the kids can run around and be loud without really bothering anyone or being inappropriate for the venue. There are also live shows with a bird or two depending on the time of year. I highly recommend the Raptor Center.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“So worth the trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I had not been to a raptor center so was a little apprehensive that I wouldn't like it. I was pleasantly surprised as to how interesting the entire thing was! July in North Carolina probably wouldn't have been my first choice for an outdoor sightseeing visit but the weather was cooperative, not as humid as I expected and lots of sunshine.

The birds are beautiful! Some of them required that we look very carefully as they were hidden in shadows but for the most part very visible.

We saw one of the buzzards being fed, which was a treat in itself. The explanation of how old the meat was was a little stomach-turning, but what do you expect? They are buzzards, after all.

The eagles are magnificent!

This would be a really interesting place to take children-there's enough to see that they would be content.

Again, the options for the sort of visit did not allow for family with all adult members, so I chose "Friends".

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Neat Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This was a very cool place and seems to be doing their best to save Birds of Prey that would of otherwise died. Nice trail walk and the birds are well kept and cared for which is nice to see. Definitely worth a visit and its also close to the Latta Plantation which is worth a trip as well.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carolina Raptor Center also viewed

 

Been to Carolina Raptor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carolina Raptor Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.