We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than I expected.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carolina Raptor Center

Carolina Raptor Center
6000 Sample Road, Huntersville, NC 28078
704-875-6521
Update attraction details
Ranked #2 of 16 attractions in Huntersville
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Science Museums
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Carolina Raptor Center is dedicated to environmental stewardship and the conservation of birds of prey through education, research, and the rehabilitation of injured and orphaned raptors. Stroll along the 3/4 mile nature trail for a self-guided tour, observe over 20 species of raptors in their aviaries, watch a presentation of live raptors, read personal stories about our resident birds and how they came to live at Carolina Raptor Center.Monday-Saturday: 10am-5pmSunday: 12pm-5pm
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Much better than I expected.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We went last weekend when my nephews were in town and I expected it to be one building with a few birds in cages. I was really impressed to find out that there is a large outdoor trail taking you all around the property with many different kinds of birds. The bald eagle display was our favorite. I was really happy to see that the birds that were there permanently were there because they had certain injuries that would not allow them to survive in the wild. They do a lot to help the various species and release them back into the wild whenever possible. We spent over 2 hours there and enjoyed it a lot.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    27
    10
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, nc
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“2 days with the Birds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

This weekend I had the opportunity to attend a 2 morning Photo Wild shoot at Carolina Raptor. What a wonderful learning experience to see these fascinating creatures close up. The volunteers were all very knowledgable about each bird and was give some background. I look forward to going back.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
81 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Many Well Displayed Raptors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

With a great staff and a great number of raptors, you'll be able to mark a number of the birds off of your bird list. The staff is well informed and takes the time to speak to you--even the volunteers fixing the trails were helpful!
The cages are large and roomy. The best touch are the informational signs: not only telling the visitor about the specie of raptor on display but also the life histories of the individual birds. This sets the Carolina Raptor Center apart from other such centers and they should be given credit for understanding their visitors better than most. Well done.
We visited without any children, but the child-oriented displays were a big hit with all of the children who were visiting with their parents. I highly recommend that you take time to bring your children to the Center. You will both learn something about raptors!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Raptors are worth getting to know!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Carolina Raptor Center is a great place to visit. You get close looks at many kinds of raptors. They have a good gift shop to take home a memento of your visit. During the summer they have flight shows where they talk about the birds and they fly over the crowd during the show. You can also take a special tour of the hospital on certain week-ends. They rehab a lot of raptors every year. I was a volunteer here for many years. If you want to learn more about raptors, consider volunteering. You will learn so much, educate others, and have memories you will never forget!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Just love this place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Even if you aren't really a bird enthusiast, Carolina Raptor Center is worth a visit. Very interesting, informative and don't you just love going to a place where everyone who works there loves their job? The rehabilitation of injured birds is a good thing!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carolina Raptor Center also viewed

 

Been to Carolina Raptor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carolina Raptor Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.