We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting and educational visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carolina Raptor Center

Carolina Raptor Center
6000 Sample Road, Huntersville, NC 28078
704-875-6521
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 15 Attractions in Huntersville
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Science Museums
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Carolina Raptor Center is dedicated to environmental stewardship and the conservation of birds of prey through education, research, and the rehabilitation of injured and orphaned raptors. Stroll along the 3/4 mile nature trail for a self-guided tour, observe over 20 species of raptors in their aviaries, watch a presentation of live raptors, read personal stories about our resident birds and how they came to live at Carolina Raptor Center.Monday-Saturday: 10am-5pmSunday: 12pm-5pm
Mooresville, nc
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Interesting and educational visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is an amazing place to learn about our raptors and caring for the environment. There are a variety of raptors (owls, eagles, vultures) in cages in a forested area that you walk through. Many of them have been injured by man, restored to health, and will eventually be returned to the environment. Getting to see them up close is an experience in itself! A fabulous learning experience for adults and children! Go1

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    31
    11
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great chance to see birds of prey up close”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Started as a conservancy for injured local birds, now it's a top 10 attraction. This non-profit rolls all the entry fees into care for the hundreds of birds located on property. People still bring in injured wild birds and they are nursed back to health and released.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Holly, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great for kids, accommodating staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The staff told me everything I needed to know at check in and even provided bug spray. I recommend only strollers with large wheels as you will be traveling on wood chipped paths. We were not there for a show and hope to go back to catch one next year. The kids loved being outside. Even though it was hot, paths mostly shaded and comfortable. Castle for playtime a bonus.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Mountain, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We enjoyed an intriguing tour at the Raptor Center by the knowledgeable staff. The birds are beautiful, and I didn't realize exactly how many they rescue. What an awesome place!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
67 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Very nice bird conservation facility”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

This facility is very nicely kept. They build all of their own exhibits and have a wide variety of raptors from all over the world. It is larger than it looks from the outside as all of the exhibits are outside on a walkway. Very educational and worth a visit.

While the $10 admission seem steep for the size of the facility, they have plenty of discounts such as for seniors over 60, college students etc. So don't let the price of the facility drive you away. My daughter who is a college student and I got in for $8 for the two of us. This facility is inside the Latta Mountain Lake Park which is also worth a visit in itself.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carolina Raptor Center also viewed

 

Been to Carolina Raptor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carolina Raptor Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.