We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for families” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Smoky Mountain Diner

Smoky Mountain Diner
70 Lance Ave, Hot Springs, NC 28743
(828) 622-7571
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good for families”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Good value and many sides for your picky eater. I had the special and had more than enough. Service was good.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    35
    14
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Perfect country dinner.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

After a visit to the Hot Springs mineral baths my girlfriend and I stopped at the Smoky Mountain Diner for an early dinner.

It was perfect. Home cooking, surrounded by the locals that proved this is a great place. Blackberry pie for dessert, and meatloaf and BBQ as main dishes. Really can't beat it if you want a nice casual place to relax.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Hot breakfast in Hot Springs.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Seemed like the only place in Hot Springs for a sit down, hot breakfast. Service was good and food hot and good. My wife really liked the biscuits. My son liked the french toast as did my daughter. Pancakes were OK. Very reasonable price. Right on main street of town.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylva, North Carolina
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Worth the stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I've eaten here a few times after meeting family/friends who are hiking the AT. Most recently 12/19/12. Not a large or fancy diner but food makes up for the ambiance in quality, quantity and price. There's maybe ten or twelve tables (some can seat up to 6-8). I think portions are catered to satisfy the hikers who require at least 5,000 calories per day. Lots of locals eat there too. Not many places to "chow down" in Hot Springs and this is undoubtedly the most popular. Food comes closest to "home style". Wife had chicken livers (yuck) and the portion was huge and she said "delicious".

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Great country setting and great food with great prices!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

A friend of mine ate at this diner on Sunday while on a motorcycle ride. I had the vegetable plate with fried okra, fried squash, fried apples, and baked potato...all for $4.99. Wow,,,was this more than I could eat and it was tasty, hot, and delicious!! This is what I call good ole country cooking!!

He had the meatloaf with mashed potatoes and a vegetable; which he said was delicious as well! My only regrets were that I haven't eaten here before!

The atmosphere is that of a "country restaurant" with somewhat old fashioned booths and atmosphere; which is fine for this "neck of the woods"!! There is also some outdoor dining which unfortunately I'm sure most of the smokers dominate and therefore, make unavailable to us allergic to their bad habits.

A great selection and great meal is definitely available here at VERY reasonable prices!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smoky Mountain Diner also viewed

Hot Springs, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Hot Springs, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Hot Springs, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Hot Springs, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Smoky Mountain Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smoky Mountain Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.