We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Journey was Better than the Destination” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Max Patch

Max Patch
Hot Springs, NC
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Hiking Trails, Outdoors
Attraction details
BRAMPTON
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“The Journey was Better than the Destination”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I loved the drive to Max Patch. Backroads through the mountains are awesome and this one really proved to be entertaining. However, when we got to Max Patch, we couldn't do the hike, because the person I was with had a mobility problem.
No problem, as they say, "the journey is more important than the destination".

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    20
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Not my cup of tea”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This to me was basically walking around a meadow. I am a hiker but was not too impressed. It is a long gravel bad road to get to the parking lot so be aware.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loganville, Georgia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“360 View of the Appalachian Mountains”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I got a shuttle from Hot Springs to Max Patch by calling Bluff Mountain Outfitters. This weekend I’m hiking from Max Patch to Hot Springs on my quest to section hike the Appalachian Trail. This was my second visit to Max Patch. I had hiked south from Max Patch to Interstate 40 about a year ago.

The best way to describe Max Patch is to compare it the setting where Julie Andrews sings the “The Hills Are Alive” in the movie Sound of Music. The Appalachians are not the Alps, but you do get a 360 degree view at Max Patch. Each time I have visited, I have seen day hikers picnicking at the top. What a view.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Max Patch Hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Well worth the 45 minute plus drive from Hot Springs to get there. Easy Hike to the top with absolutely amazing views of the mountains!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Views – Not So Great Drive!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Max Patch Bald offers a very nice 360 degree views a clear day. The trails head offers a short or long loop. The loops are easy to navigate with a sight elevation gain. At the top of the bald you get spectacular views that are well worth the short hike to the top. The only down side to this hike is the gravel road leading up to the trail head. I drove a small 2WD car up the road with ease going slow but now have some small paint chips and a new squeak in my 2011 model car. I would recommend taking a rental, truck, or larger SUV up the road.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Max Patch also viewed

Hot Springs, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Hot Springs, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Hot Springs, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Hot Springs, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Max Patch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Max Patch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.