We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not sure if I would call it a resort but enjoyed the spa.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hot Springs Resort and Spa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hot Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hot Springs Resort and Spa
Save
You added Hot Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list
315 Bridge Street, P.O. Box 428, Hot Springs, NC 28743   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hot Springs
Eaton, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not sure if I would call it a resort but enjoyed the spa.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

I read a lot of reviews before I went to Hot Springs Resort and Spa so I went with an open mind. We stayed in a very quaint little cabin on their campgrounds, it was affordable and served its purpose. The hot springs baths were really enjoyable and relaxing. They were in small private wooden "cabanas" along the river which was neat setting and definetly added to the appeal. The spas were clean and drained after each use. I do think the term resort is a bit misleading as there aren't a lot of amenities by any means, but we did get massages and they were great and the facility was very clean.

Room Tip: Cabins are nice clean, you need to bring your own bedding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    25
    10
    15
    13
See reviews for
13
44
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Set your expectations very very low, and this place will not disappoint you. Apparently they have never heard of curb side appeal, nor pavement in the driveway. The driveway is dirt, full of pot holes and very unattractive with no flowers, no flowering trees, and nothing more than a very large, unkempt front lawn to greet you on the way in. The "suites" are joke for the money. They are very old, not in a quaint 20's kind of way, but in a tacky 70's kind of way. They boast wi-fi which is also a joke in the suites. The signal is so weak that you cannot connect. They don't bother telling you at check in so when you call to ask about it they tell you to come get a cable to hook up with. The cable is about 2 feet long and the hook up is behind the couch. This gets your laptop about to one of the arms on the couch. Then once you go through all that, it still doesn't work. For more than $200 a night you would expect a LOT more than you get. Ammenities are non existent; not even a kitchenette. But the maids do handily leave you an envelope to leave their tip in. What a joke. The one thing they did get right was the hot water, which takes app 30 min to fill the tub. The hot tubs out by the river are surrounded with what look like chicken coops. There is a very adament policy of no pets in the "suites" which gives you the idea that they are just immaculate, which could not be further from true. This place has the feel of someone milking a cash cow and never bothering to feed it. It really is sad because with a little concern and effort, it could be a real jewel. Right now though it is a high priced rip off. Save your emotions and money and head on in to Asheville and find a hotel or nice b&b. If you don't want a huge let down, don't stay here.

Room Tip: We stayed in the best they had and it was far from great. They don't even have showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012 via mobile

Great service and hot tubs were fantastic. highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We purchased a Living Social deal that included an hour soak in the spa. We checked with the people at the desk earlier and were told to arrive early. We did and sat and waited while everyone but one person totally ignored us. Finally, I went to look at the clock on the wall and we had been waiting 40 minutes and were at least 10 minutes into our hour. When I told the girls at the desk that they said "Oh just go out those doors." Luckily, the spa attendant had just come in and helped us to the spa. I would never return to this place. As another review I read said it was not that nice and the spa was not that warm. Bad experience ! Boo!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

I was seriously misled by the person I booked the reservation with, the "suite" was concrete tile floors and drop ceilings, and the jacuzzi didn't work properly. When these issues were made to the staff, I got a "sorry 'bout that." The website and brochure said nothing of the constant coal trains that rattle back and fourth 150 yards in front of where you are trying to sleep, nor of the one resturant open at suppertime in town, with a Bob Dylan wanna-be wailing while you are trying to eat.
The best day of our stay was the day spent in Ashville. Three days I can never get back.

Room Tip: We were told by staff that we had the best room in the place, for which I could only laugh.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomasville, Georgia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

The brochure advertises "natural hot springs." It may be a natural spring but it is NOT naturally hot. We finally arrived to find a hot tub waiting for us under a rustic three sided building. Having been to the hot springs in Idaho we were expecting something else. The brochure is very misleading. Not worth the time, trouble or $$

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

If you want fancy and touristy, this is not your place. If you want a chlorine free hot tub in your own private enclosure overlooking the flowing French Broad River, peace, quiet, and contemplation, then make the drive from Asheville or Knoxville. We are part time Asheville residents and make the trip to Hot Springs every time we are there to find a bit of respite and to soak away our stress. This is a rustic, small business, operated with care. There is nothing like warming yourself by the fire as you wait for your tub on a crisp winters' day.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hot Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hot Springs Resort and Spa

Address: 315 Bridge Street, P.O. Box 428, Hot Springs, NC 28743
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Hot Springs Hotel Hot Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hot Springs Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.