We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hot Springs Log Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hot Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hot Springs Log Cabins
Save
You added Hot Springs Log Cabins to your Saves list
5830 NC Highway 209, Hot Springs, NC 28743   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Romance Package!
Georgia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

Stayed in Hound Heaven. Wanted cabin close to Max Patch & one that would allow us to bring dog. Great location; awesome sunset view from our cabin. Nestled in the mountains, quiet location. Enjoyed the porch; relaxing in the hot tub in the evenings, drinking coffee in the morinings. Cabin had almost everything we needed(could only find 2 washcloths). he cabin was clean enough, but could have been cleaner. This is probably due to the fact they accept dogs, which we were very happy about. All in all very pleased. Would rent here again if ever back in the area with our dog.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    1
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
24
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

My wife and I checked into Hound Heaven on July 12, 2010 around 4 p.m. after a nice drive from North Alabama. After scoping out the place, we went to the Smokey Mountain Diner for supper. My wife had the vegetable plate and I had the fried chicken. This restaurant was one that the owner had recommended we try during our stay in Hot Springs. The second day we took a road trip to Marshall, Nc., and the surrounding vicinity for some laid back fun. While out we ate at GRITS (girls raised in the south) and enjoyed a nice drive in the country. On Wednesday we went to the hot springs for a nice soak. If you have a hot tub at your rental, save the money and use it somewhere else. We have been to other hot springs and found them superior to the local waters. On Thursday we ate at Iron Horse restaurant and went on a walk to Max Patch. Despite the long drive on a dirt and gravel road, the view was beautiful when we got there!

All in all our trip to Hot Springs was very nice. The cabin we stayed in was the Hound Heaven cabin and was fairly secluded. We awoke every morning and watched the rabbits play infront of the cabin. At night we watched the stars twinkle while we soaked in the hot tub. The cabin had almost every luxury you could want or need but didn't have a hair dryer for my wife. Oh well, the directv helped out and we had a blast in Hot Springs, NC.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

We just returned from our stay at the Hound Heaven for 5 nights. It was the perfect get-away, very relaxing and peaceful. You never know what to expect when you book a cabin on-line, but the cabin more than lived up to our expectations. (maybe a little less privacy than we expected, but still very private) The views are phenomonal and anything you think you might need (or don't think you need!) is at your fingertips (and if it isn't there, the owners are a phone call away). The cabin was very clean and surprisingly felt larger than we expected. We enjoyed several local hikes, a soak at Hot Springs Spa, a trip to Asheville/Biltmore, stargazing in the hot tub, playing with our dog in the Meadow.....there really is something for anyone. A book at the cabin details the local life, from hiking to dining. Our only disappointments were the broken washer/dryer (repair had been called- but I really did not miss doing laundry- we were on vacation afterall!!!) and having to leave. Would highly recommend to friends and family and hope to treturn one day. The price was right, but the experience was truly priceless.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2010

We stayed here for our honeymoon at the end of January, 2010. After a somewhat hectic drive into the mountains, we finally found our cabin. It was lovely!! The hot tub was perfect and we quickly got in, and spent most of our week there. The owners were great about checking on our reservation and making sure we got in. We were glad we chose the Oak - very private and seemed to have a better view than the others. Words can't describe how serene the place is, and we definitely will go back!! The only downside of the entire experience was that the bed was not only bad but it SUCKED. It had obviously been "used" by newlyweds once or twice before (lol) and squeaked at every slight motion. Go to scratch your face...squeak. Roll over on your side....squeak squeak....etc. Terrible when you have sleep issues - or even if you don't. All the amenities but cheap on the bed, too bad...something like this cabin should have a solid, hearty frame with quality mattress and no boxspring...after all, it IS being used by NEWLYWEDS... but again, this was a great place and I don't want to deter anyone from going.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSLC, Owner at Hot Springs Log Cabins, responded to this review, March 12, 2010
I am glad to hear that this couple enjoyed their honeymoon stay with us!
Beds are such a matter of personal preference, but we do our best to make sure our guests are comfortable and enjoy their stay.
(We do also receive many compliments on our beds - Quality Serta mattress over box springs with a memory foam topper.)
My husband and I personally stayed at The Oak in late February just to sleep in the bed and make sure everything was OK. Ironically, he said he preferred our bed at home, whereas I found the bed in The Oak more comfortable than ours at home.
I just wanted to answer this couple and thank them for posting a review about our cabins. We will personally check the bed out thoroughly next time we clean the cabin and make sure the frame and box springs are not damaged. I will look into platform beds as well.
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest, USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2010

We stayed at Hot Springs Log Cabins in the Oak cabin. Setting up the reservation was easy as the owners were very responsive. This was one of the most peaceful vacations I think we have ever had. The cabin was well stocked with supplies, decorated and clean. I think the only issue we had was it seemed the bed was not level. Sitting in the hot tub on the back porch was most relaxing and the views were amazing. We also enjoyed cooking on the outside grill and there was even a washer/dryer in the cabin. We hope to come back again some day and I highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2009

Owners do not even have the common courtesy of responding to our email when trying to rent one of their vacant cabins. This was something special for my wife since her Grandmother recently passed and since they do not provide a phone number on their website, we had no other way to contact them. If they didn't want to discount their vacant cabin (part of being in business) then the least they could have done is responded to our email. Shoot, we would have even appreciated 10% off our stay or something. Better for them than not renting the cabin at all and it would have helped us out since my wife is out of work and my salary has been cut in half. But oh well, now they have lost a customer permanently and we are letting every assocation and associate know they do not even have the common courtesy to people to respond to their email when stating on their website that is the only way to contact them. Extremely disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSLC, owner at Hot Springs Log Cabins, responded to this review, June 23, 2009
This person contacted us by email on June 14th, requesting us to discount a cabin by 50%. I replied the same day to his yahoo acct (he did not provide a phone number). I wrote that the special rate offered on our website for $125 per night (normally $150 so already 17% discount) was the rate for the cabin. I invited him to be our guest and reminded him that reservations can be made anytime 24/7 through our website and the special offer of $125 per night would apply. I did not hear back from him, nor was the email returned as undeliverable, nor did he make a reservation with us.

We are a family owned and operated business who donates 100% of our pet fees to the local spay and neuter program. This person was welcome at any time to make a reservation for the advertised rate of $125 (17% discount). If he did not receive my email reply, common practice would be to resend his email, not start writing negative reviews to “every associate and association”. His reaction indicates a lack of respect and courtesy to me, not from me.

We take great care to ensure that our guests enjoy their stay with us. We feel that we are successful in doing so as evidenced by our very high occupancy rates and numerous return guests and personal referrals. It is indeed disappointing to read a review of this nature from someone who DID NOT stay at our property nor make a reservation with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2008

What a great getaway from busy schedules and distractions! My husband and I spent the weekend in the Holly Cabin and enjoyed much needed time together and relaxation. The hot tub was exactly what we needed to unwind and relax. We live in Asheville, NC so we were really close to home but we felt worlds away.
The cabin has everything you need to escape for the weekend...just add food and you are good to go!
You are also just miles away from the town of Hot Springs, NC so you can take advantage of the Spa and grab a massage! Thanks for a great stay and we will defnitely be back again for another much needed getaway!

  • Liked — Peacefulness
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hot Springs Log Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hot Springs Log Cabins

Address: 5830 NC Highway 209, Hot Springs, NC 28743
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Hot Springs
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our cozy honeymoon log cabins are romantic, private, and secluded. Each cabin has its own private hot tub, plus gas grill, full kitchen, satellite TV, washer/dryer, and fireplace. We are just 6 miles south of Hot Springs, NC, and surrounded by the peaks of Pisgah National Forest. Perfect for honeymoons, anniversaries, birthdays, or just a romantic getaway. Some cabins are Pet-friendly. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hot Springs Log Cabins Hotel Hot Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hot Springs Log Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.