We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit, just as great as the first” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Laughing Heart Lodge & Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hot Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Laughing Heart Lodge & Hostel
Save Saved
You added Laughing Heart Lodge & Hostel to your Saves list
Lexington, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Second visit, just as great as the first”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I visited here again after a wonderful experience last fall. This place is beautiful, clean and the owners are delightful. Sad to leave; look forward to going back. Expected a hot breakfast, but bagels and granola were fine. Fruit was fresh; coffee was hot. Not a dealbreaker.

Room Tip: Tranquility Room is downstairs and on the back so it is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    2
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
7
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The place is great. However, for the price, the coffe could be better and there should be enough of juice for everyone at the breakfast. I do not mind when coffee is thin in diners and breakfast is scarce in 20$ hostels. But when it comes to 150$ places, I prefer to feel how generous and pampering my hosts are.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

When planning our trip to Hot Springs we wanted to experience different things. We stayed in the lodge in the turtle room. One of the cheaper rooms. King size bed with full bath with a huge shower newly remodeled bath. The lodge is spacious with a library and parlor and kitchen type area for hanging out. We also spent time out on the porch just enjoying the area and the company of Glenda. A small breakfast is served in the morning. Tea and hot chocolate are available all the time to help yourself. They have a good amount of land with the hostel not feeling close at all yet just across the yard. The AT is just on the other side of the hostel.
We checked out what the hostel has to offer, some bunk beds, some private rooms. It can actually hold several people there pretty easily. Seems like a very nice set-up for those hiking the trail! We enjoyed the fact that this place was actually not right in town although Hot Springs is a very small town we could easily have walked the mile to town!
Glenda was a great hostess in the lodge and Chuck and Tigger take care of the hostel and have the hiking knowledge!
Great place that we found and very much enjoyed while in Hot Springs for our first time!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Visited here with my husband for the weekend. Lovely innkeeper gave us great overview of this former Jesuit retreat. Room was comfortable and large bathroom, plenty of space. Grounds were lovely and a quick drive to eat at the Magnolia Inn and visit the Hot Springs Resort and Spa. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: We stayed in Tranquility. Towards the back of the house on the first floor. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Laughing Heart Lodge & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laughing Heart Lodge & Hostel

Address: 289 NW Highway 25/70, Hot Springs, NC 28743
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Hot Springs
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Laughing Heart Lodge opened in August 2012 after extensive renovation. The lodge was built in 1892 and for over 50 years was a Jesuit Retreat Center. Today Laughing Heart Lodge offers accommodations for visitors and travelers in its 9 lovingly renovated rooms (7 with private baths) and most with exceptional mountain views. Laughing Heart also has a hostel which is at the trailhead of the Appalachian Trail and offers very affordable lodging for hikers and other visitors to Hot Springs. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laughing Heart Lodge & Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.