We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun day for the whole family!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Huck Finn River Rafting

Huck Finn River Rafting
158 Bridge Street, Hot Springs, NC
800-303-7238
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Boat Tours, Adventure
Attraction details
NC
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Fun day for the whole family!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

We knew we were going rafting and we knew we wanted to go on the French Broad, because it's much warmer than the other local rivers, but you still have a lot of choices of raft companies. We chose Huck Finn after reading the reviews and checking out their website and seeing they were a small family owned and operated business-and honestly, the ichthys on the page helped with our decision. We made the right choice! Everyone there was super nice. We went on Monday and had a small group. After a short van ride to the river and instructions from our guide, we were off. Our guide was amazing-not only did he know the river well enough to know exactly where to go, but he did the majority of the work. He was very knowledgable about the area and rafting and we enjoyed the whole trip. The class 4 rapids were so much fun and though we came close, no one fell out. We took our 9 and 13 year-olds and they're ready to go back. If you go, remember to tip your guide at the end- they deserve it and I felt really bad to see some leave without doing so.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orange City, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The people at Huck Finn are wonderful. We booked a rafting trip and horseback riding combo trip. The rafting trip was amazing. Our guide made sure we felt safe while having a great time. I highly recommend Huck Finn rafting to anyone looking for a great white water rafting trip. The horseback riding was also great.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“fun day on the river”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I found the staff at Huck Finn to be very friendly and knowledgeable. Not only did we feel safe, our guide, Justin, had great information about the geography and geology of the area. My son is in his early twenties and the 9 mile trip gave him plenty of occasions for smiles. We have rafted in other areas and this was definitely in our top 2. The facilities at the office are great for changing and plenty of supplies are available for purchase or rental. Great experience overall!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
2 reviews
“Fun day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We loved it! The river was pretty high, so it didn't take as long. Our guide knew what we could handle, and we had a great ride. Doug knew a ton about the river, and also the area. Very informative, but also fun.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Had a great time rafting with Huck. Very safe and knowledgeable. Not sure why there aren't more reviews on here. Huck looked like the cheapest option online, and for the same experience I'm surprised other companies get more hype.

We took the "full day" trip, which is billed as a 5-6 hour trip. We knew this going in, but the caveat is you are typically on the river about 3-3.5 hours. This is obviously dependent on river conditions, which are affected by rain/runoff. It poured virtually the entire week prior to our trip, up to and including our time on the French Broad, meaning the river was very high and fast. This lead to a much quicker trip (about 2:15 on the river), but the rapids were faster and we had to do less paddling. Overall, this is exactly what we wanted, and the trip was great. I've seen some other reviewers mention the rapids weren't what they expected, but overall we found the rapids to be a very good mix of Class I - IV. I would definitely opt for the "full day" trip if you are into rafting and want to see some bigger rapids (the biggest rapids came after the halfway point; shout out to our boat member who managed to fall out down the two biggest rapids).

Overall, it was a great experience, and all of the guides seemed friendly. The coffee and doughnuts upon arrival were a nice touch. Also, if it's raining, I would recommend taking a splash jacket when offered.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Huck Finn River Rafting also viewed

Hot Springs, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Hot Springs, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Hot Springs, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Hot Springs, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Huck Finn River Rafting? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Huck Finn River Rafting, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.