We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like Staying with family, only better!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of RiverDance

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hot Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
RiverDance
Save
You added RiverDance to your Saves list
179 Deer Leap, Hot Springs, NC   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Special Fall Offer
Ranked #1 of 6 Hot Springs B&B and Inns
Vincennes, Indiana
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Like Staying with family, only better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

I have been able to stay at RiverDance on several occasions and each time it gets better. Having known Dave and Callie, the owners, for several years it always is nice to stay there when I am in North Carolina. The food they make available for guests is fit for royalty. I am proud to say that there is no place like RiverDance, that can make you feel at home. The scenery off the back deck is worth the trip up the mountain. The comforts RiverDance provides are beyond any 5 star hotel I have had the privilege to stay in during my travels. The beauty of having Dave and Callie right there is that they make opportunities for some great conversations. They are better than family because they always make you feel welcome.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
44
130
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Northern VA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We just spent three nights with our two children at RiverDance. We all had a wonderful time and hated to leave. The upstairs suite is perfect for a family with kids. The views are amazing and we enjoyed going for walks along the Laurel River. The location was convenient to see Hot Springs, Marshall, Mars Hill, and Weaverville. When Callie asked if there was anything that could've made our stay better, our daughter replied, "Let Midge the dog sleep on my bed!" I'm sure Midge would've if she could've made it up the stairs.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

My boyfriend and I had the pleasure of staying two nights at RiverDance with our 1 1/2 year old pup, Wilson. From the moment we arrived we felt right at home. The house has absolutely breathtaking views and Callie and Dave's warm hospitality made us feel very welcomed. We had the whole upstairs of the home which consists of two bedrooms, a living room area and nicely sized bathroom all opened to the downstairs which is very tastefully decorated. There is a sliding door that you can shut if you'd like more privacy. Callie and Dave are very knowledgable of the area and have a good amount of pamphlets and books of things to do and see in the area. All in all we had a wonderful stay and hope to come back again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Right from the start, Callie and Dave were very welcoming. We got there a little early and they kept in constant communication prior to arrival. Once we arrived, they were very warm and unbelievably hospitable. From the wide array of breakfast options to the sincere conversations in the morning, they were the best hosts. They offered as much privacy as you wanted, but also were there to converse if you liked. The views are spectacular from the home and the hot tub. Thanks to Callie and Dave for making our weekend wedding anniversary getaway an excellent time.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Many B&B's offer traditional comfort and coziness but often feel a little confining. Riverdance is different. The modern style, post-and-beam construction, light from the huge windows, and beautiful wood and stone interior erase the boundary between inside and out and make you feel like you're part of the earth. From their vantage point on the mountain, you can look out above the treetops to the mist at sunrise and the distant peaks in the afternoon. Any time of day you can see and hear the creek far below. One day we looked down on an eagle.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinsdale, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

My wife and 9 month old Golden stayed at Riverdance on our drive from Chicago to Hilton Head Is. I had the good fortune to know Callie since we were kids and just had to check out her mountain retreat.

Well, we had good weather, great accommodations, fabulous scenery, a wonderful breakfast, and the walk along the river is to die for...a top-notch stay.

We loved it.....Thanks Callie and Dave :)

Room Tip: The owners gave up their own suite...so, we had the best of the best :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakeland, fl
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Just stayed 3 nights and we are ages 60, 65 and 19 yr old daughter. We were surprised by the huge size of the bottom floor. As others have said if you want complete privacy you could, but Callie and Dave make you feel like old friends from the start and you will easily enjoy joining them for chats about how they came to the area. Callie has tons of brochures and will you depending on your interests. Daughter wanted to zipline and Callie suggested Navitat which was just the challenging experience she wanted while dragging a less than eager dad along. Hot Springs is 15 minutes away and an all day whitewater was fun for us all with Hot Springs Whitewater Co. Sandy Bottom horseback riding is also less than 30 min's away with over 500 acres. Last day we had to leave at 2:00am cause daughter became ill with complications of her neurological condition, and we were able to and in got her into Mission Hospital ER in Asheville in short time. Texted Callie about our leaving and she was going to drive in to hospital to see us but daughter was released shortly thereafter with meds and prompt care to rule out anything very serious. Callie let us know we could return to Riverdance if needed right away for an extra night but we were able to move on to our next reservation in Asheville to allow for rest. Missed touring Asheville but def want to return. All this to say, you feel worlds away from it all, but you are close to help if you need it. Callie and Dave make this the Excellent place it is. The beauty of the house is evident from photos, but it is the people that make it such a special place.

Room Tip: Did not see the upper floors but the bottom level is huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to RiverDance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RiverDance

Address: 179 Deer Leap, Hot Springs, NC
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RiverDance is a captivating blend of the best in a traditional Vacation Rental and an upscale Bed and Breakfast. As our guests, nestled on a quiet mountainside, high above the river, you will find your home away from home. Experience the outdoors at its best, day or night, from our Carolina Porch with its barn board fireplace Relax in front of the massive Arts and Crafts fireplace in the inviting great room, and rest comfortably in your own private quarters. RiverDance offers two separate suites, TreeTops and RiverRock. Enter the Tree Tops Suite (upper level) via the heavy timber stairs. There you will find two spacious bedrooms, a full bath and a sitting area with a comfy leather couch and TV. The Hickory bedroom has two twin beds which can be converted to a King, while Beech has a queen bed with a full futon. Access the River Rock Suite (lower level) from your own private entrance off of the parking area. It's perfect if you have man's best friend with you. This inviting living space also provides two sleeping areas and a full bath. The Holly bedroom has a queen bed while the Laurel room has a kitchenette, media area with big screen TV and sleeps two comfortably. River Rock has its own private deck, seating area and easy access to the Hot Tub. To assure your privacy we will only rent each suite of rooms to a single group. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RiverDance, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.