We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The view is spectacular” 5 of 5 stars
Review of RiverDance

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hot Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
RiverDance
Save
You added RiverDance to your Saves list
179 Deer Leap, Hot Springs, NC   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Friends N Family Special
Ranked #1 of 6 Hot Springs B&B and Inns
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“The view is spectacular”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

My husband and I spent our second anniversary at River Dance. The view of the mountains is spectacular from two levels. What we liked best was the quiet privacy surrounded by the sounds of Big Laurel Creek and birds in flight. It wasn't hard to relax under these conditions! We recommend staying in the lower level with bedroom, bath, living room, and porch access to the hot tub. Our hosts were warm and attentive---we even were invited to dine with them and the other guests on our second night---a serendipitous treat. It was hard to leave the premises, but a trip into the town of Hot Springs is well worth it. Visit the welcome center, the library, and the hardware store for local color and fascinating historical insights. We even had time for a nice hike. Next time, we will try the spa in town, too. If you are ever in this section of North Carolina, River Dance is the place to stay!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
44
131
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Within minutes of meeting the owners, we felt completely at home. Their Southern Hospitality complemented by a touch of Northern Seasoning made this a perfect selection for our 4 day visit. The views from the house are breathtaking. Photos cannot capture the spell of the mountains and the river below. Mesmerizing tranquility. The location is perfect as a base for exploring the Marshal - Asheville area. The rooms and living spaces are immaculate, amenities plentiful and thoughtfully presented. Breakfast had too many delicious offerings. Calli and Dave were the ultimate gracious hosts. We stayed in the lower level with the most direct access to the parking area. Althought the ceilings are not 'lofty' as in the upper levels, it felt very comfy. We did not feel like we were intruding. We had our own home away from home. We look forward to our next visit and will not stay anywhere else.

We had avoided B&B's after an unfortunate experience in Europe. RiverDance and the Wellendorfs have proven that private home stays can be a delightful experience with beautiful, peaceful surroundings presented by welcoming, accommodating, gracious hosts.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordonsville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

We loved our stay at Riverdance! Not a typical bed and breakfast since you have some private living space to hang out in. The common areas are wonderful and the view is incredible! We slept with the windows open and the sounds of the Laurel River lulled you to sleep. It is in a great location. We were just 40 minutes from Asheville and the drive down was so pretty. Hot Springs was not that exciting until Callie and Dave (the owners) started telling us about the history of the area. Once you learn a little about Hot Springs you get drawn back into time and into the area. VERY interesting history. Blue Ridge Parkway is close by. Such a pretty area to pack a picnic lunch and just drive around. We left feeling like we had made lifetime friends and can't wait to go back. The review wouldn't be complete without giving a shout out to Midge (their dog). She added to the enjoyment!

Room Tip: We stayed in the River Rocks suite. Bedroom and living area both open right onto a private deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

We couldn't imagine a more perfect place to stay than Riverdance. It is our new home away from home. We intend to visit Riverdance to soak up the beauty and outstanding hospitality every chance we get.

Room Tip: We loved staying in the lower level for ease of coming and going and for the "our own space&quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevierville, TN United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

Riverdance is a great place to stay. We only live an hour a way in TN and decide to hit the springs for a romantic getaway. Did a search on tripadvisor and the reviews lead us to this beautiful B&B just minutes from Hot Springs. This wonderful home is perched on the side of a mountain with wonderful views of the mountains and a snaking river. We really enjoyed the owners as they were most hospitable offering snacks, directions, and several suggestions of todos while on our visit. We really enjoyed the home and felt at home. My only holdback on not giving 5 stars had nothing to do with location home or comfort or hospitality. It was that our bedroom / floor was directly above the owners. I just could not help thinking we were disturbing them even though she assured us we were not. The living area on our floor had a very comfortable couch and tv but was open to the main floor, so tried to keep volume low and laughs as low as possible as we are night owls. I would defiantly recommend this b&B to anyone and we will be returning but we will request the first floor for privacy and more convenient access to the Hot tub and parking area. We loved our stay and cant wait to come back. FYI Callie suggested we do Navitat zip line adventure and it was awesome. We have zipped several times before but this is a first class adventure. Thanks, Callie, Dave, Midge and Jack for a great stay.

Room Tip: Bottom Floor More Privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Not your ordinary B & B -- we had the entire second floor, 2 bedrooms and a living room area with TV! The bed was one of the most comfortable I've ever slept on. Unfortunately, we could only stay one night so we didn't have the opportunity to use the hot tub. The house is located on the side of a mountain with a gorgeous overlook and beautiful sunset viewing opportunities. Breakfast was a buffet with many choices -- muffins, fruit, yogurt, cereal, great coffee, etc. Dave and Callie (and Midge, their dog) were friendly and helpful hosts who treated us like family.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waxhaw, NC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Riverdance was the best B&B I have ever stayed in. The place was amazing, views are priceless and Callie, Dave & Midge made 11 girls on a bachelorette weekend feel like family! I could sit on one of the porches for hours and not get bored. The hospitality shown was like nothing I had ever experienced before. I am hoping for a yearly trip to Riverdance.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to RiverDance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RiverDance

Address: 179 Deer Leap, Hot Springs, NC
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RiverDance is a captivating blend of the best in a traditional Vacation Rental and an upscale Bed and Breakfast. As our guests, nestled on a quiet mountainside, high above the river, you will find your home away from home. Experience the outdoors at its best, day or night, from our Carolina Porch with its barn board fireplace Relax in front of the massive Arts and Crafts fireplace in the inviting great room, and rest comfortably in your own private quarters. RiverDance offers two separate suites, TreeTops and RiverRock. Enter the Tree Tops Suite (upper level) via the heavy timber stairs. There you will find two spacious bedrooms, a full bath and a sitting area with a comfy leather couch and TV. The Hickory bedroom has two twin beds which can be converted to a King, while Beech has a queen bed with a full futon. Access the River Rock Suite (lower level) from your own private entrance off of the parking area. It's perfect if you have man's best friend with you. This inviting living space also provides two sleeping areas and a full bath. The Holly bedroom has a queen bed while the Laurel room has a kitchenette, media area with big screen TV and sleeps two comfortably. River Rock has its own private deck, seating area and easy access to the Hot Tub. To assure your privacy we will only rent each suite of rooms to a single group. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RiverDance, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.