We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getaway to Hot Springs, NC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of RiverDance

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hot Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
RiverDance
Save
You added RiverDance to your Saves list
179 Deer Leap, Hot Springs, NC   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hot Springs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sevierville, TN United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Getaway to Hot Springs, NC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

Riverdance is a great place to stay. We only live an hour a way in TN and decide to hit the springs for a romantic getaway. Did a search on tripadvisor and the reviews lead us to this beautiful B&B just minutes from Hot Springs. This wonderful home is perched on the side of a mountain with wonderful views of the mountains and a snaking river. We really enjoyed the owners as they were most hospitable offering snacks, directions, and several suggestions of todos while on our visit. We really enjoyed the home and felt at home. My only holdback on not giving 5 stars had nothing to do with location home or comfort or hospitality. It was that our bedroom / floor was directly above the owners. I just could not help thinking we were disturbing them even though she assured us we were not. The living area on our floor had a very comfortable couch and tv but was open to the main floor, so tried to keep volume low and laughs as low as possible as we are night owls. I would defiantly recommend this b&B to anyone and we will be returning but we will request the first floor for privacy and more convenient access to the Hot tub and parking area. We loved our stay and cant wait to come back. FYI Callie suggested we do Navitat zip line adventure and it was awesome. We have zipped several times before but this is a first class adventure. Thanks, Callie, Dave, Midge and Jack for a great stay.

Room Tip: Bottom Floor More Privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
47
139
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Not your ordinary B & B -- we had the entire second floor, 2 bedrooms and a living room area with TV! The bed was one of the most comfortable I've ever slept on. Unfortunately, we could only stay one night so we didn't have the opportunity to use the hot tub. The house is located on the side of a mountain with a gorgeous overlook and beautiful sunset viewing opportunities. Breakfast was a buffet with many choices -- muffins, fruit, yogurt, cereal, great coffee, etc. Dave and Callie (and Midge, their dog) were friendly and helpful hosts who treated us like family.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waxhaw, NC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Riverdance was the best B&B I have ever stayed in. The place was amazing, views are priceless and Callie, Dave & Midge made 11 girls on a bachelorette weekend feel like family! I could sit on one of the porches for hours and not get bored. The hospitality shown was like nothing I had ever experienced before. I am hoping for a yearly trip to Riverdance.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

We travel a lot and love to stay in B&Bs so were delighted to find RiverDance. It was a bit different from the usual B&B - but in nice ways. You get an entire floor of the house to yourself - above or below the main level. We stayed on the lower level so had easy access to the car - and our living area opened up to a huge deck with the hot tub. It was darker than the top floor which also looked very nice but didn't have its own deck. (Everyone has access to the beautiful deck on the main level so its no big loss.) We diid not meet Dave but Callie was delightful, frinedly but not invasive like some B&B operators. If you like to hike, we recommend both Max Patch and the walk along the Laurel River which ends up at the Fr Broad. Both are absolutely lovely - even in Feb!! We only stayed one night and wish we could have stayed longer. The only reason I hestiated to write this positive reveiw was bec I want to keep RiverDance a secret. It is THAT good!

Room Tip: Bottom level opens up to private deck with hot tub. Views to die for. Top floor is brighter - sunn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Tennessee, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

I found RiverDance via this website... I was needing a locale for a surprise getaway... I read the reviews and quickly gave Miss Callie a call.. She was awesome! I knew after talking to her that I had found my perfect location... When we arrived, Miss Callie welcomed us like old friends and made us feel right at home... RiverDance was very clean and comfortable and the view was amazing!(Star gazing from the hot tub is a memory I shall hold dear) Miss Callie and RiverDance helped me pull off exactly what I was wanting to do. Surprise my girl with a wonderful escape; she hasn't stopped talking about it to all her friends. Thank you, Miss Callie, for opening your lil piece of heaven. We will be back.. You can count on it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

We stayed at RiverDance for two nights at the end of February-- wish we could have stayed for a week longer! My boyfriend and I spent our days hiking and exploring and our evenings relaxing in the hot tub. Callie and Dave were very welcoming and took their time to get to know us. We really enjoyed the personal touch and seeing Callie every morning for breakfast.

Reasons we LOVED RiverDance:
-Our dog could stay with us!
-Absolutely beautiful and clean home
-Hot tub with stunning views
-Beautiful outdoor living space complete with a fireplace
-Knowledgeable hosts with many recommendations for hiking, dining, and other adventures
-In-home massage available (traveling massage therapist)
-Relaxing with the windows and doors open
-The view from the decks

My boyfriend and I would love to invite a few of our family members to join us for a week at RiverDance. We are hoping for sometime this autumn!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Beach, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

My fiance and I stayed at Riverdance for two nights and we could not have asked for a more relaxing, amazing stay. Callie and Dave were accomodating in every way imaginable and made us feel right at home. Their home is absolutely georgous. It has the open, airy feel of being out in nature with beautiful views of the mountains and the river, yet still maintains its coziness. Whether you are looking to check out the area, go hiking, or just stay and relax at the house, you cannot go wrong at Riverdance. We will definately be going back!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to RiverDance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RiverDance

Address: 179 Deer Leap, Hot Springs, NC
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RiverDance is a captivating blend of the best in a traditional Vacation Rental and an upscale Bed and Breakfast. As our guests, nestled on a quiet mountainside, high above the river, you will find your home away from home. Experience the outdoors at its best, day or night, from our Carolina Porch with its barn board fireplace Relax in front of the massive Arts and Crafts fireplace in the inviting great room, and rest comfortably in your own private quarters. RiverDance offers two separate suites, TreeTops and RiverRock. Enter the Tree Tops Suite (upper level) via the heavy timber stairs. There you will find two spacious bedrooms, a full bath and a sitting area with a comfy leather couch and TV. The Hickory bedroom has two twin beds which can be converted to a King, while Beech has a queen bed with a full futon. Access the River Rock Suite (lower level) from your own private entrance off of the parking area. It's perfect if you have man's best friend with you. This inviting living space also provides two sleeping areas and a full bath. The Holly bedroom has a queen bed while the Laurel room has a kitchenette, media area with big screen TV and sleeps two comfortably. River Rock has its own private deck, seating area and easy access to the Hot Tub. To assure your privacy we will only rent each suite of rooms to a single group. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RiverDance, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.