We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“yummy and great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Iron Horse Restaurant and Tavern

The Iron Horse Restaurant and Tavern
24 South Andrew Avenue, Hot Springs, NC 28743
866-402-9377
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Franklin, North Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“yummy and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

Cassandra made our dining experience over the top and the chef special was awesome. I would go there again in a heartbeat. And it was very clean.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    71
    24
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
johnosn city
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best burger ever!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

This was a great restaurant and has lots of variety of food. Reservations are recommended on the weekend since they are soooo busy. They make their own homemade honey mustard dressing. I love honey mustard dressing!!!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creedmoor, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Surprisingly good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

The town of Hot Springs is tiny and there are a limited number of dining options. We checked out the Iron Horse on our first night there. Service was slow, but everyone was unbelievably nice! Among us, we had ribs, fried rainbow trout, and catfish. The trout left a little to be desired. It was very bland, but everything else we had was great. The ribs definitely shocked us! A review on Yelp suggested the sweet potato fries and OMG...GREAT suggestion! They are amazing!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We dined 2 evenings at the Iron Horse and each meal was prepared superbly!!!! We so thoroughly enjoyed the food, the atmosphere, the staff, the music and the location. If you enjoy great food and reasonably priced this is the place to go. Appetizers..great! Main courses...superb!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestview, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Depot Burger Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Quick and friendly service, interesting atmosphere, and Depot Burgers that were hot and juicy. The side items we ordered with our burgers included coleslaw that was delicious and black bean cuban soup that was savory. A great meal on the road.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Iron Horse Restaurant and Tavern also viewed

Hot Springs, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Hot Springs, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Hot Springs, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Hot Springs, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to The Iron Horse Restaurant and Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Iron Horse Restaurant and Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.