We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Iron Horse Restaurant and Tavern

The Iron Horse Restaurant and Tavern
24 South Andrew Avenue, Hot Springs, NC 28743
866-402-9377
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dandridge
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We liked this little restaurant! The food was great and the entertainment was really good! The portions were more than I could eat but my husband had no problem. If we are ever in Hot Springs again we will definately stop here again. Check it out!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    71
    24
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
LAKE PLACID,FL
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“POOR FOOD”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

GOT A FESTIVAL going on 1st one after winter..food n service should be on point!Terrible...only good point was help making excuses for the kitchen...Go to the MOUNTAIN DINER....THEY CARE!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Eating lunch on the AT”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Slower than what you would expect for a Sat lunch when no one was there. Three of us went in for lunch and sat down at the bar. No one else was there so we expected to eat quick and get back to hiking. Took ten mins before she finally asked what we would like. Then it was a little over an hour to get the food. Several other people came in while we were there so there maybe that is normal. Now the food was really good (but we had to send a sandwich had to be returned because it was soaking wet. The whole place had great charm. Would go back as long as they were not busy!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, SC
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Dining in a Small Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I was actually surprised at how good the food was at Iron Horse. Salmon, catfish, chicken, and everything else we had were all so tasty! The restaurant is very cool and the live music was an added bonus.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“pub fare”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Quiet upon early arrival but within an hour became very noisy with a large crowd and a guitar player that no one seemed to be listening to. Average food and poor service

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Iron Horse Restaurant and Tavern also viewed

Hot Springs, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Hot Springs, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Hot Springs, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Hot Springs, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to The Iron Horse Restaurant and Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Iron Horse Restaurant and Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.