We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iron Horse Station

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hot Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Iron Horse Station
Save
You added Iron Horse Station to your Saves list
24 South Andrews Street, Hot Springs, NC 28743   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hot Springs
GreenLeadersBronze level
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great little Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed In a Pullman sleeper room, going for economical at this hotel. Queen size bed but a still bigger than we expected! Hard wood floors everywhere, skylight in our room. Was nice and cozy! Hotel is connected to the restaurant but guests can enjoy the mezzanine level overlooking the restaurant and entertainment below. Mezzanine is also equipped with big flat screen and microwave etc. comfy area for hanging out and visiting with others visiting Hot Springs! We enjoyed Iron Horse Station very much and recommend giving it a try when passing through or staying the weekend!
It is located right at the edge of town next to the railroad tracks. When we were In The restaurant we saw/ heard the train several times yet never heard it in our particular room.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    51
    9
    7
    1
See reviews for
9
71
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, NC
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The Iron Horse Station has a first-rate restaurant and an interesting gift shop downstairs, and quaint and comfortable accommodations upstairs. What more could we want for an ideal vacation? We walked a span of the Appalachian Trail from the front of the station, and just across the street, we bathed in a private hot tub at the Hot Springs Resort on the banks of a beautiful mountain stream. We can't wait to get back to fish in the trout stream which flows next to the town of Hot Springs. What a relaxing and enjoyable vacation!

Room Tip: We are TV people, and although there are no TV's in the rooms, there is a large lounge area to w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

In October, my wife and I spent a couple of nights in the Iron Horse Station. We were delighted. Yes, it is old and that is a huge part of the charm. The manager/owner was a real treat. He was friendly and interested in the comfort of his guest; in addition to being a good source of information about the area. We read the reviews about the music from the attached restraurant being too loud. I am old, but not deaf, and we could not hear the music in our room. The train going by was never a problem. We were not overlooking the street, so I cannot speak to he comments about the road noise at night.
The room was large and comfortable. There was not a tv, but we never use them while traveling. The jetted tub in the room was really great after a day of hiking. And our ice chest with chilled champagne made it a little romantic as well. The bed was very comfortable and we slept like rocks (champagne and hiking probably helped with that)
If your expectations are in line with the place being a little old, but clean and comfortable, you should stay here.

Room Tip: We were in the larger room. I would suspect that the smaller rooms with smaller bathrooms might be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, GA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We got a Living Social deal here as a gift and didn't know quite what to expect upon arrival. We got there later in the evening and were greeted in the tavern by the inn keeper, Beverly. She was so helpful and gracious. We checked into our room (Room #206) and loved it! It was smaller but faced the main road and was quiet. It was a Monday night and we wanted to find dinner before it got too late. There are only a handful of restaurants and if you don't plan on arriving early, they will close. It wasn't a problem after we found out the hours to all the eating establishments.

Back to the inn~it was so charming. The room had a queen size bed, beautiful wooden floors, a fairly modern bathroom and also a gorgeous clawfoot soaking tub. Although our room faced the main road, it was still quiet and easy to sleep. The train comes by several times a night and caught me off guard the first time, but was somewhat calming each time after.

As far as the town goes, everything is within walking distance. We had breakfast (the bacon cheddar muffins are to die for) at the Artisun Gallery downstairs. We at at both taverns (typical bar food-good) and discovered the Smokey Mountain Diner our last night there (YUMMY!). We walked across the bridge and climbed Lover's Leap Rock and hiked a portion of the AT. Overall, it was a totally relaxing time and great way to catch up on R&R.

Room Tip: Loved room 206
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem, North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Iron Horse Station is an absolutely beautiful inn with a very helpful, friendly staff. We had to change our reservation twice, but Beverly was totally understanding and accomodating. We had a king jacuzzi suite. The bed was the most comfortable we have slept on in a while(including our home bed), the room and bath were very clean. The sitting areas were very nice and warm and inviting. Food and service were excellent. No tv in the room, but a big screen in the main sitting area and very fast wi-fi available throughout. We had no issues with noise as mentioned in other reviews and found the inn to be very quiet and peaceful. Will definately be back for another stay!

Room Tip: the king jacuzzi suites are very spacious. We had room 213 and loved it. An interior room away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Beautiful drive from Asheville. Great setting in picturesque town. Very comfortable unique inn. So refreshing to stay here compared to larger city hotel. We stayed in the smallest pullman sleeper room but it was perfect for our stay. A very tasteful comfortable hotel.
The restaurant and bar was wonderful, great food and service. Also liked the sitting areas around the hotel, the upstairs coffee/sitting area and the comfortable chairs set around the hallways. We visited the spa across the road and very relaxing. We will definitely spend a weekend here again. Only downfall was no phone service for ATT mobiles if you need to keep in touch with anyone but there is wifi.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Beverley who runs the front desk was sooooooo accommodating! I needed a get away where I could bring my therapy dog in training. He loved it and slept the whole time, he's much more relaxed then I am. I've been coming to hot springs 7 years and always gravitate to this unique, historic building. You MUST soak, it is a spiritual experience! And don't forget to get a coffee or wine from Sunny next door and pop into the outfitters to see what's on sale. You will have a nice relaxing and very easy stay.

Room Tip: They are small so ifyou get that closed in feeling request a window room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iron Horse Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iron Horse Station

Address: 24 South Andrews Street, Hot Springs, NC 28743
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iron Horse Station is an 1890's hotel, restaurant, and tavern with 31 adjacent artist and craft shops. Listed on the National Register, it is part of the Historic Inns of Hot Springs with sister property Mountain Magnolia Inn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Iron Horse Station Hotel Hot Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iron Horse Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.