We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice getaway with old charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iron Horse Station

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hot Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Iron Horse Station
Save
You added Iron Horse Station to your Saves list
24 South Andrews Street, Hot Springs, NC 28743   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hot Springs
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
jamestown, usa north carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice getaway with old charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My husband picked this place because of the charm. I loved the hardwood floors and the over all historical charm. The food at the Tavern below was really good. We stayed in the room right beside the train track and it didnt bother us at all. The room was a little small but clean and cozy. The only request that I would have is that they need a microwave in the hallway with the coffee maker. We loved the hot spring spa. It was beautiful and private. The staff here were very nice. If you are into fancy 5 star hotel with lots of perkys this place is NOT for you. This is a great place to get away for rest, relaxation and great food. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    54
    9
    8
    1
See reviews for
9
77
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I would like to write a better review, but can't and still perform a service for future guests.

The hotel is very "tired," and accommodations are spare. That would have been acceptable, but the heat in the room (centrally controlled) was such that neither my wife or I had more than a couple of hours of sleep (we opened the window, but it didn't help much). We left after one night of a two night stay. On the plus side, the staff was friendly and helpful, and the restaurant was fine and we were well served. As other reviews have indicated, the Smoky Mountain Diner is a good place to eat a country breakfast. We also visited the spa, and found it clean, well attended, and relaxing.

I suspect that a stay in the other three seasons would have been fine, and it would be a very welcome respite for hikers after 2 weeks on the Appalachian Trail, but winter is not the time of year to visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winder
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The hotel had tons of historical charm. Loved the way it was restored. The old brick and original floors, clawfoot tub and period furnishings added to the ambiance. On the down side, there was only one electrical outlet in the room, and we had to go to the hardware store and purchase an extension cord so we could plug in my computer. The room we stayed in the first night was over the kitchen. At 11:30, I got up and dressed, went downstairs to ask the kitchen staff to PLEASE turn down their music and keep the shouting and laughing to a minimum, as we were trying to sleep. The next day we changed our room--it was smaller (still only one outlet) but comfortable. The only noise was the train coming by once in a while. Only rating it a 3 because I've stayed in much nicer places for less money, but all in all, it was okay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte NC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Part of the charm is that you are staying on an active train route in a building that was a boarding house/tavern at the turn of the previous century. The bedding was plush and very comfortable. Ours was a Jacuzzi suite and the tub was very over-sized. A very quite place (excepting the aforesaid trains) that feels like slipping back in time. The tavern below served simple food,drinks,and had a talented musician playing the nights of our stay. The town is smaller than small but very welcoming. The mineral tubs are a quick walk from the Iron Horse and you are right on the trail. This is just a cool,quirky,place that is well suited for rest or romance. Coffee and tea is set up in the main lobby for you to fix as you please and you are left to your own devices with entry through the tavern or off the street by entry code. Nice experience.

Room Tip: Locals have a weekly community dinner they happily invite visitors and hikers to come join. The room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

This hotel lies right on the main street which also is the Appalachian Trail. The rooms are small but have the feel of an old west saloon. There is a nice restaurant and bar downstairs which had live music the night we were there. Which was a real treat considering it was a Tuesday. The rooms have their own bathrooms, we had a room on the front by the street which had a view of the mountains. Our kids each had rooms on the back hall which didnt have views but were probably quieter. There is a common area upstairs with books, coffee and tea. The food in the restaurant was good (lunch and dinner) and portions ample and prices reasonable. They had a good selection of draft beer also. Nice ambiance too. Jim, who seemed to run the hotel was very friendly and helped us with any info needed (hikes, the spa, breakfast, etc.).

Room Tip: Might skip the view and get a cheaper room on the back hall, probably less noisy at night. However...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern US
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We go to Hot Spring about once a month or so. We usually stay at another location but they were sold out and there are not a lot of choices in this tiny town. I was very glad we stayed for the experience! The building was built near turn of the century and the decor and feel is like going back in time. We were met by a very friendly lady that let us go look at a few rooms before we chose what we wanted. There are no tvs in the room but there is a nice one in a common area over the restaurant. Be prepared, however, this area is in a very open area and the restaurant can be very lively with live music! We love this place to eat but that is another review! We chose a room on the front side of the hotel over the neon sign and I assume this is what attracted so many spiders! Our room had big, wide windows and plantation shutters, but lots of spider webs and spiders. That was a bit of a put off! Also, the walls are VERY thin and you can hear every sound in the nearby rooms! I live in a house build in the 1920s and all hardwood floors so I am used to this but it might be an issue for those not used to that. It's just part of the "charm" of the older house and buildings.
All in all, I loved the experience and it was like an adventure for us. I probably would not make this my first choice for accommodations but I would not exactly say I would never go back. The price was perfect and the staff was great. In another room we probably would not have run into all those spiders so next time we might chose a room with the skylight and not near the neon sign! Hot Springs is always great and We loved the fact we could eat and drink all we wanted and just walk up the stairs and go to our room!

Room Tip: if you stay in a front room, watch out for spiders!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Overall, I loved everything about the Iron Horse Station Inn. We had a wonderful romantic getaway. The decor is great and makes you feel like you've gone back in time. The rooms are supremely clean and there are plenty of towels, blankets and pillows. However, be prepared for a few inconveniences. The rooms have massive skylights with no cover, so the room is filled with bright white light at the crack of dawn. There are no thermostats, phones, cell phone service, or tvs. The temp got a little too hot at times, but nothing unbearable. Lastly, the walls are paper thin. We heard basically every conversation in the rooms beside us, as I'm sure they heard ours. There are no secrets at this Inn.

Room Tip: The jacuzzi rooms are worth the extra money for the romantic ambiance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iron Horse Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iron Horse Station

Address: 24 South Andrews Street, Hot Springs, NC 28743
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iron Horse Station is an 1890's hotel, restaurant, and tavern with 31 adjacent artist and craft shops. Listed on the National Register, it is part of the Historic Inns of Hot Springs with sister property Mountain Magnolia Inn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Iron Horse Station Hotel Hot Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iron Horse Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.