We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alan Holden Rentals, a great place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alan Holden Vacations

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Holden Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alan Holden Vacations
Save
You added Alan Holden Vacations to your Saves list
128 Ocean Blvd W, Holden Beach, NC 28462   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Alan Holden Rentals, a great place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011 via mobile

I have rented a house on 3 different occassions from Alan Holden Vacations and have not been disappointed at all. The homes have been very clean each time. People need to remember that some of the homes weren't built last year. The homes may look old on the outside but are nice and clean and functional on the inside. The staff was exceptional in responding to our questions. We had our linens delivered to us and they gave us great tips on where to go for entertainment and food. I will definitely continue to use this agency in my future visits to beautiful Holden Beach!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    4
    2
    3
    12
See reviews for
26
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pickerington, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

We had so many problems with our rental, it is too numerous to list. We rented from Alan Holden Rentals with the understanding that any problems would be resolved by them. Instead they allowed the homeowners to take care of our problems which in turn took twice as long. A few examples, Hot Tub which we paid extra for was never repaired. The Main large screen TV and one bedroom Tv that was reported not working to Alan Holden on Sunday was not replaced until Friday evening by the homeowner, the freezer never did work proper. The house was in desperate need of painting and cleaning. Think twice before renting from this realtor

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, NC
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2010

Will never rent from Alan Holden Vaca again. Our house had black mold in it, and since it rained several days during the week we were there, we were forced to stay in the house. Ended up having several pp in our party with bronchial infections upon our return home. No one on their staff seemed interested in helping, or familiar w/the house in question. This was several years back and we've rented from Coastal Vacations ever since. Holden is one of those still-rare finds...a quiet beach w/little development. I just wish someone, ANYONE, who rents there would take a cue from other areas (Outer Banks, Charleston) and actually equip their homes appropriately. If I'm paying 3K+ for a ONE WEEK rental, they can be pretty sure I'm not there to steal a blender. (And seriously, who has a house at the beach without a blender? Really?)

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

This is the third year we've rented a home for 3 weeks on Holden Beach, and the first year we've rented from the Alan Holden agency. We were very pleased with our experience. The house was wonderful--clean and nicely decorated, and with some nicer features than the homes we rented the past two years. And at a (slightly) lower cost. The staff were helpful and friendly, and very responsive when we had a minor problem with the air conditioner leaking. We felt our experience with the Alan Holden organization was excellent, and we will rent from them again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

We've never rented from Alan Holden but have been to Holden Beach several times. We were very dissappointed in the home, the cleanliness was dismal from dirty cobwebs on blinds, furniture saturated with dirt and stains (we had to cover with blankets and sheets to keep from staining our clothing) and air returns loaded with visible dirt and grime. We voiced our concerns to the ageny upon check in and they didn't care to do anything other than send over a cleaning crew to do a deep cleaning. Not exactly what you want to have to contend with while on VACATION. The kitchen was poorly equipped for actually cooking, limited utensils, cookware, not even a pair of potholders. We had to make several trips to Walmart for basic items. No cutting board, no pyrex?!! The beach access (we were Oceanfront) was great and really why we go to the beach but we also wanted a decent place to relax and make our meals and for the $$ we paid, we expected that at a minimum. We also called Alan Holden (himself) directly to voice our complaints, he told us the place was not "one of their better homes" and promised "to do something to rectify the situation" but we never heard back from him either.
Our beach neighbors for the week also were in an Alan Holden home and surprise, they had the similiar experience with a broken down and unclean home.
We even ran into a beach vacationer at Walmart on one of our trips for supplies that told us that she'd had issues with Alan Holden Rentals and they were known for not "treating their customers very well".

We'll be back to HB again, we'll just not be in a home from Alan Holden!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellsville, NY
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2009

Very satisfied with Alan Holden Realty company. All info was clear and upfront, pick-up and drop-off of key was easy as pie...I liked that someone was waiting in the parking lot for collection of keys and notes/comments to be reported, made our "difficult" departure (I LOVE Holden Beach) easier.
We had a wonderfully relaxing stay, the house was better than expected. We had numerous extended family members gathered together for a great week!
The only complaint was the house had it's first level at ground level and it was a bit musty smelling...but, guess what? It's pretty wet there year-round!! :) Next time we'll just stay somewhere that's built up.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte,NC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2009

We've rented through Alan Holden Realty, one of only a couple of realty firms on Holden Beach island, in 2007, 2008 and are going through them again this year. We've stayed in two different units at the Water's Edge condos and have found the rental agency to be helpful and fair. Water's Edge has 20 2BR condo units built circa 1980s, and it is one of only a handful of oceanfront condo complexes at this beach. The units are relatively small but clean, and all have free wi-fi access. You do have to read the contract (we reject the travel insurance but accept the $40 damage insurance, which pretty much takes the place of any accidental damage charges you may incur), but the staff is friendly and helpful enough. After telling the agency in '07 that we thought the unit we stayed in could use a furniture upgrade, we're pleased to learn that the owners listened. They've also been responsive with any minor maintenance needs. Holden is a quiet, family-oriented beach, and the beach itself (at least as recently as '08) was in great shape, with good shelling.

  • Liked — Quiet beach
  • Disliked — Relatively few restaurant choices without driving to Wilmington
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alan Holden Vacations? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alan Holden Vacations

Address: 128 Ocean Blvd W, Holden Beach, NC 28462
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Holden Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Holden Beach
Number of rooms: 250
Also Known As:
Alan Holden Vacations Hotel Holden Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alan Holden Vacations, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.