We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't waste your time and money” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Panciuto

Panciuto
110 S Churton St, Hillsborough, NC 27278-2538
919-732-6261
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 51 Restaurants in Hillsborough
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time and money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

I frequently go to the very best restaurants in the Triangle area. Given the significant absence of good Italian food here, I felt that we probably should try Panciuto given the hype that I've read on this restaurant. Unfortunately, this was a huge disappointment. I don't except a huge number of options on the menu but choosing between 4-5 entrees is a little slim (not to mention the huge number of appetizers (3) and desserts (2)). I purchased the Spaghetti nero with clams for $26. There was very little food on the plate. Although we got desert, I was still left hungry at the end of the meal. They even make you pay for the bread. I don't consider myself to be a cheapskate but I can recognize poor value when I see it. Although the quality of the food was pretty good, I take serious issue with previous reviews stating that is "some of the very best food that I have ever had". Give me a break. Given the location of the restaurant, the lack of choices, the poor value, the marginal service, and the mediocre quality of the food, I would highly recommend avoiding it.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    8
    8
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Wasn't crazy about it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Maybe we were there on an off night or maybe the hype was impossible to live up to... Either way, we thought it was just ok. We did like the quaint ambience, although sometimes quaint means dinner in the laps of new friends who are seated next to you. The wine list was also decent, but the experience fell down on the main course for me personally, specifically butternut squash ravioli that was a little too sweet and oily for me. I couldn't finish it, which says a lot. I would probably try again just to see if it was a one-off evening, but would be cautious about expectations.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Italian Cuisine Becomes Local.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

One of the best aspects of Italian cooking is the character and high quality to be found in most local restaurants, be it a panini or a rabbit stew. Panciuto, in Hillsborough, NC has made its name by local sourcing of ingredients and a remarkably "local" menu that is modest in scale. Two or three soups or salads, a similar number of pastas and 2 or 3 meat or fish dishes nevertheless offer such a variety not only of ingredients but also treatments that it is very difficult to choose. The sources provide the "local" flavor.
Two of us shared bountiful salads with our third whose filled pasta was rich, flavorful and just enough to make us all glad. The smoked clams were aromatic and delicious, set off by the truly black spaghetti. Mutton meatballs in a complex egg and spinach sauce was easily enough for two people -- which is my only vague complaint. The wait staff will share any and all information you seek. The modest wine list is very good. Our shared chocolate creamy pudding was a great way to end.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manlius, NY
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Went here at end if November for a special dinner to celebrate my Son's PHD. Totally original menu offerings that were some if the VERY best food that I have ever had. VERY imaginative parings of tastes and spices. I would highly recommend a drive to sample their special menu!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Amazing local farm-fresh cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

This is an amazing slot for local, high end dining. Food was fresh and inventive. Bar offered great, unique drinks. This is a must for anyone near Hillsborough looking for an upscale dinner. Book in advance, or eat at the bar. Price is high, but food this good costs 2-3x a much in a city like NYC.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Panciuto also viewed

 

Been to Panciuto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Panciuto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.