We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Country Cooking Buffett” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Village Diner

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Village Diner
600 W King St, Hillsborough, NC 27278-2325
919-732-7032
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 49 restaurants in Hillsborough
Cuisines: American, Diner
Restaurant details
Mebane, North Carolina
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Country Cooking Buffett”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is a sleeper. If not a local you wouldn't find it but it is worth the search. Down home southern cooking buffet with fried chicken, pulled pork, country style steak, etc.. Even have seafood Friday. Each day of the week is a little different theme but all are great. They even have fatback. I have never taken anyone there that has not talked about how good it was. The bannana pudding is just like Grandma used to make. Do not pass this up- Trust me. Not the nicest place but you will be coming back for the food. We have our company Christmas party there sometimes.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

69% Recommend
    6
    3
    1
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Simply the way it used to be. Good food, good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We were going to Hillsborough and I asked the man who we were doing business with, where we should eat while in town, and this diner was his answer. He said The Village Diner has been around for decades. It's nothing fancy, booths and tables in the main room, with a big side room where a lunch meeting was being held. Everyone seemed to know each other, and they were having the lunch buffet and so did we. Chicken and dumplings that melted in my mouth! Sweet candied yams, and a huge delicate biscuit! Peach cobbler for dessert.
The waitress was genuinely nice, and the iced tea was left in a pitcher on the table for us. She brought out BBQ for my husband, even though it wasn't on the buffet, no extra charge.
The bathroom is typical diner too - right in the main room and tiny. But, with all the bistros, cafes, and gourmet restaurants to choose from, it was wonderful to have a good ol' country diner lunch! Next time we are driving to that end of the state, we will be making a swing through Hillsborough!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“country cooking at it's best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

this is a family favorite. Good ole southern home cooking. I live overseas and every chance I get to go back to NC, I find time to go to the Diner, as we call it!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarheel
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Comfort food, booths, easy on the budget”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Besides the mac & cheese and other mouthwatering southern comfort food choices, my family enjoyed the one big room surrounded by windows with the sun shining in on the booths. It's located on King Street in a residential area. Can't beat the smiling service and easygoing atmosphere.

Open M-F and Sunday lunch, closed Saturday as of this writing.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“My Grandmother's cooking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

When I was a young boy my Grandmother ran a restaurant in north Georgia. I grew up with the smells of southern cooking. The Village Diner takes me back to those days of Southern cooling and down home people.
I find it a joy to visit the diner and eat there. The staff are wonderful, courteous and always have a smile.
The banana pudding is the best in the county!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Village Diner also viewed

 

Been to Village Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.