We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the Hotel from hell!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hillsborough

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hillsborough to your Saves list
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hillsborough
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   120 Old Dogwood Street, Hillsborough, NC 27278   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hillsborough
Saluda, South Carolina, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“This is the Hotel from hell!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I stayed here on my way to take my mother to Duke Hospital, We got locked in our room at 10pm and could not get out unless the front desk came and unlocked the door from the outside. The smell at the front dest was unreal!!! No pollow cases on the bed, people slamed the doors all night, and I asked the front desk to do something about it but they didnt!! I say close this place down!!! The fire department will be contacted on this place!

Room Tip: Do not stay here!!! This was a stay from hell for me and my disabled mother on her way to Duke Hospi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicrotelHotel, Front Office Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hillsborough, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Customer,
We are sorry your stay wasnt the best. We offered you a room switch for the malfunction of your door but you declined our offer. Upon checking into this hotel you mention that everything was ok to the front desk clerk then all of a sudden we have a bad property. You didnt mention anything about a bad smell in your last review to our hotel. You have been giving a 20% refund also a free night stay to come back to our hotel, but you declined that also. We tried to accomidate you the best we could but noting seems to work. I hope in the near future we can come to an understanding, please try our hotel again!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    107
    49
    8
    21
See reviews for
125
41
38
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

FRONT DESK MANAGER TYRONE CORBETT WENT OUT OF HIS WAY TO HELP US,ITS A VERY GOOD DEAL AND We would definitely stay again.We have more business in the areas, so your place will be the one where we stay again.Safe, secure,what more could anyone ask for.Thanks L Byrd

Room Tip: Any room is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicrotelHotel, Front Office Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hillsborough, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear customer
We thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to review our hotel, it really means alot. We will assure that your stay will be the same each time you come thanks!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Staff was outstanding and accompandating, however could not obtain the type of room due to an activity function (swim meet) in the area. Took a queen room and found that the room, however tastefully decorated and clean, was very small, no comfortable chair and bed was hard to me. Would not stay at this hotel unless could book a more comfortable room, preference being twin singles.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicrotelHotel, Front Office Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hillsborough, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
dear customer
Our staff at Microtel thank you for your review at our hotel. We are sorry that the single queen room did not suit your needs. If you plan to visit our hotel in the future please email microtelhillsborough@gmail.com and we will assure you a delightful stay thanks!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moneta
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Rooms have recently been updates wtih fresh paint, new tile and rugs. The furniture which appeared to be new still looked worn. Very quiet throughout the night with the exception of the heat/fan cycling off and on which was quite noisy. An excellent value for the money compared to the other hotels in the area. Unfortunately the elevator was out of order we returned home from a long day and evening of being on the go. We were on the 3rd floor.
Elevator was down because they laid new tile on the elevator floor. Even though this is a bare bone hotel I would recommend it based on the cleanliness and price.
They could do better with the continental breakfast. Most food was gone by 9:00am. Our friends went to McDonald's to get breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicrotelHotel, Front Office Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hillsborough, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
dear customer
Thanks for your review we really appreciate it. The furniture has not been updated for this hotel yet, also we are sorry that the elevator was out, we are going threw renovations. Due to the swim team breakfast bar was hard to maintain but our staff tried to accommodate the best we could. Hopefully your next stay will be even better than it was thanks!!!!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hillsborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hillsborough

Address: 120 Old Dogwood Street, Hillsborough, NC 27278
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Hillsborough
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hillsborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hillsborough 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Wyndham, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hillsborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn And Suites Hillsborough
Microtel Inn & Suites Hillsborough Hotel Hillsborough
Microtel Hillsborough
Hillsborough Microtel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hillsborough, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.