We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best BBQ restaurant in the area!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hillsborough BBQ Company

Hillsborough BBQ Company
236 South Nash Street, Hillsborough, NC 27278
(919) 732-4647
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 51 Restaurants in Hillsborough
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best BBQ restaurant in the area!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Having grown up eating BBQ all of my life in greasy spoon restaurants with the same old menu that everybody else has just doesn't excite me anymore. However eating dinner at the Hillsboro BBQ Company last Saturday evening was a very pleasant surprise! Not only do they have excellent BBQ, but they also have grilled chicken, catfish, and the most delicious tender and juicy beef brisket that I have ever eaten. They have three different cole slaws to pick from as well as many other unexpected side items to choose from. The collard greens were excellent and the pork nachos were to die for. Excellent beer choices and mixed drinks.
Check it out!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    48
    22
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
upstate NY
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“One of the best food experiences on our March vacation!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I pushed my husband to try this restaurant out and we are so glad we did as the atmosphere, host, wait-staff and food were all exceptional !!!
It's a very busy local eatery which we always like to find, and were lucky they still had a seat available when we arrived for lunch! Pamela was such an exceptional waitress and went out of her way to make sure everyone was pleased and well served. My husbands barbeque sandwich was excellent, and my black eye pea po'boy was also just delicious!
We noticed the table next to us got a yummy looking pie and we just had to try it. It was a "mud pie" and to die for. Make this a must stop if you are in the area, it is more than worth the drive!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
basking ridge
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“oh yeah- the real deal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

thanks to TA for finding this place en route to Elon from RDU. completely off the beaten path in Hillsborough, but fear not - his place is worth the detour. Legit ribs, brisket, BBQ all the works. absolutely delicious food in casual vibe. service was excellent, beers were good. what more can a man ask? go!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NC
Top Contributor
271 reviews 271 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
276 helpful votes 276 helpful votes
“Worth the Drive for Great Beef Brisket!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Hillsborough BBQ Company is a bit out of the way as it is not in the historic area of this 259 year old town. My husband and I drove the extra mile to get some excellent barbecue. We both wanted to try their wood smoked beef brisket as that is rather a rarity in North Carolina. Most barbecue joints in the Tar Heel State serve barbecue pork and chicken.
We were thrilled that we chose the brisket! It was tender with a smoky flavor. The brisket was definitely cooked the old fashion way – not over gas flames. There was just the right amount of fat with the beef. This impressed us as we have had brisket in other restaurants that are way over the top with the marbling. Our plates included a choice of coleslaw: “red” (barbecue / vinegar base), “white” (mayonnaise base with celery seed) or “yellow” (mustard base). In our opinion, the cabbage is shredded way too finely to enjoy the taste of the vegetable. The plates came with hushpuppies that were hot and crunchy. It was very nice to get hot hushpuppies as numerous barbecue joints make them in advance thus they come to the table without much crunch. Our delicious hushpuppies did not last very long on our plates! Since we got one side, my husband ordered the Creole style fries that had just the right amount of seasoning. My fried okra was fresh and hot, unlike many places that serve okra that is past its prime.
Unlike some recent reviews, we found the prices to be fair. Hillsborough is part of the state’s largest metro area thus one cannot expect to get rural North Carolina restaurant prices. It is unfair to compare Hillsborough to Wilson. Prices did not seem to deter many others as this wonderful barbecue restaurant was packed by 12-noon on a Saturday! Patrons coming after 12:00 had a short wait as service here is rather fast.
When we visit Hillsborough again, we will drive the extra few minutes to get some of the best barbecue in the area – and definitely the best beef brisket to be found for miles around!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Yummy BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

We traveled there with our family of 6, while visiting for the weekend. 2 adults, 3 children and 1 baby. Small place so there was a bit of a wait (30 min). Not too bad for a Saturday night, we just went next door to the Depot and shopped around. They even send a hostess over to get you! Prices were not outrageous, high chairs available, friendly staff. Overall, great restaurant. Will eat there again.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hillsborough BBQ Company also viewed

 

Been to Hillsborough BBQ Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hillsborough BBQ Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.