We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hillsborough (Durham Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hillsborough (Durham Area to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hillsborough (Durham Area
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   202 Cardinal Drive, Hillsborough, NC 27278   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hillsborough
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Terrible value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2009

On a itinerary that we repeat rather frequently between Washington, DC and Houston, we happened to stay in this Holiday Inn Express. The basics simply were not in place. The hot water ran out after a couple of inches. It was noisy. The room did not have a pleasant smell.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    36
    10
    10
    13
See reviews for
52
17
8
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
georgia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2009

This is my second stay here in 12 months. The beds are comfortable; I really appreciate the way they do the linens so you don't have to come into contact with blankets. Everything you touch is clean and fresh. The pillows (4 to a bed) are also nice. Staff is friendly and the breakfast is more than I expected with hot eggs, sausage, biscuits & gravy along with the usual cold cereal, yogurt, fruit & rolls.

  • Liked — The bed linens & breakfast
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2008

Everything at this hotel is recently renovated, painted, and updated. It's so clean it squeaks. After reading online reviews, we were really hesitant about booking here but needed a last-minute reservation. What a pleasant surprise. Staff was efficient, courteous and considerate. Rooms were freshly painted and decorated, so freshly in fact that there were a few minor things "in progress." Beds were extremely comfortable with a selection of pillows labeled for degree of softness/hardness. They seamlessly accomodated our late arrival and made sure we were aware of available services. The free breakfast offered hot cereal, juices and fruit as well as the usual pastry/bagel/ doughnut and coffee/tea options. Only the faint paint smell and the "in progress" items made this a 4 instead of a 5 rating.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2006

It seems to me that Holiday Inns in general have just gone down hill. I feel like we paid way too much money for what we received. The hotel needs some serious updating. The rooms were truly barebones with the thinnest bed linens. I didn't give this hotel a "terrible" rating because even though it needs some work it was still clean and the staff was very helpful. They also had a decent continental breakfast that consisted mainly of pastries.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemson, SC
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2006

I made guaranteed reservations through the Holiday Inn web site for the 5th and 6th of November for $59.75 per night. When we arrived the lobby was packed. A club hockey team from Georgia Tech was registering. We were a little apprehensive about the situation, but everything in the area was booked. We waited for at least 45 minutes to register. This hotel had major problems with the hockey team who disturbed sleep all night long on the 5th. They did not solve the problem until 4:00 AM thus preventing any sleep the first night. The staff did move us to a top floor room for the next night. When confronted as to an adjustment on the bill, the manager was reluctant and not helpful until I insisted and when he agreed to not charge for the room for the first night he then charged $81.00 for the second night before taxes instead of $59.75. $81.00 is not even an advertised rate! I use my state government ID all the time for Holiday Inn Express all over the US and he refused to accept a SC ID. I feel completely ripped off by the manager. The quality of the hotel was extremely poor....unfresh fruit and stale food at breakfast, day old coffee at breakfast, watered down juice, all ice machines out of order, broken toilets, thread bare sheets, and filthy bathroom floor and toilet, mold on the ceiling and a filthy heating vent. Several other guests had bad experiences as well. I am very upset and am hesitant to use Holiday Inn Express hotels again. They have been my 1st choice for accomodations. Never had a problem until this stay. We sent our concerns to Holiday Inn Express, but have not received a response.

  • Stayed November 2005, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2004

I stayed three nights in the Holiday Inn Express during the middle of the week in September, 2004. The room was clean, well made up each day and more than I expected for the rate.

The location is high atop a hill just off the interstate but there was no noise. The hotel is very convenient to both the new and historic parts of this lovely town. A good continental breakfast was served every day from 6:30 to 9:30 a.m.

I would stay in this hotel again without hesitation. No problems were encountered whatsoever.

  • Stayed September 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, SC
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2004

I overnighted here June 9, 2004 with my mother in advance of a visit to Duke Medical Clinic. It is conveniently located about 12 miles from Duke, just off the interstate with a barrier of trees so no road noise. The room was average but clean and included high speed internet [they provided a jack cord since she'd forgotten hers] and a mini-fridge. No coffee pot as beverage service is available in the lobby. They provided free Dominos pizza in the evening and an excellent continental breakfast in the morning. Definitely book via the internet -- we saved $20 over the best rate quoted at the desk, and although the Internet Saver rate said it would be charged to my card at booking, there were no charges until we actually arrived.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hillsborough (Durham Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hillsborough (Durham Area

Address: 202 Cardinal Drive, Hillsborough, NC 27278
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Hillsborough
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hillsborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hillsborough (Durham Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hillsborough Hotel! Our hotel is conveniently located off I-85 and I-40 in a small town that is rich with history. While you are visiting with us in Hillsborough, either on business or pleasure, enjoy some of our various hotel amenities and let our staff assist you with suggestions and directions to our most popular tourist attractions and local companies. Here on Business? Our hotel has complimentary High Speed Wireless Internet access throughout the hotel. We offer a deluxe breakfast bar to get your day started and a cardio room to help you stay healthy. We are located near the following: Research Triangle Park, Duke Hospital, UNC Hospital, Euro Sports, General Electric, Vietri, Thale Construction and Roxboro/Mayo Power Plants. Here on Leisure? Choose from one of our spacious rooms or suites and relax by our outdoor pool during the warmer seasons. We are located near the following attractions: Triangle Sports Plex, Durham Bulls, Dean Smith Center, University of Chapel Hill, Duke University, Duke Chapel, the Dickerson House, and the Colonial Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hillsborough (Durham Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hillsborough (Durham Area Hotel Hillsborough
Holiday Inn Hillsborough
Hillsborough Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hillsborough (Durham Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.