We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Rate, Nice People, Quaint Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Highlands Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Highlands Inn to your Saves list
Highlands Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   420 Main Street, Highlands, NC 28741   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Highlands
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Rate, Nice People, Quaint Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I recently stayed at the Highlands Inn for my brother's weekend. The premises were very quaint and well kept, but obviously an older property (It is on the Historical Register). For the price it can't be beat and the people who work there made up for any modern day conveniences it might have lacked.

Room Tip: Room 34 is "Haunted," or so the story goes!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    36
    10
    15
    12
See reviews for
23
84
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calhoun, Georgia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

To stay right on Main Street, and be able to walk to everything, and I mean everything, this is your best bet, especially at these prices. This historic hotel is unique, and so very interesting to everyone from the seasoned visitor to the newest to the area. We stayed here numerous times in various rooms, over the years, before we couldn't stay away and purchased a home!

Room Tip: We love the rooms overlooking the street with balconies, and for an anniversary weekend, the little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We have been going to Highlands for over 36 years, and have seen many, many changes in the area. Many good, and a few bad. But one good constant for much of this time is the Highlanfs Inn.

While we don't always stay there, it is a great place that does keep us coming back.

We love the rooms on the front, with the veranda overlooking main St. Even when it is cool/cold out, we love sitting there, with a glass of wine, and watch the world go by. Relaxing and chatting

The staff is ALWAYS friendly and very accomadating, never leaving us wanting. The rooms are clean and spacious, well maintained. It is an old inn, but in great shape. There are lots of games in the parlour, in front of the cozy fireplace. Breakfast is amazing (in choices and quality), and the coffee and cookies at night make for a very homey feeling.


While we will still stay at other places,too,I know we will be back here again.

Room Tip: We like the front rooms, but the back garden rooms are good, too
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We recently spent the weekend in Highlands NC for a family getaway. We could not have picked a more perfect place to stay than at Highlands Inn. The Inn is right on main street and is an easy walk to all of the shops and restaurants. The staff is wonderful and provided excellent customer service. The fresh baked cookies and hot chocolate every night is a nice touch. A full made to order breakfast was included in our stay and was another nice touch. From the minute I walked into the charming lobby I felt relaxed and comfortable. Our room was quaint, kind of on the small side and it had a couple of funny quirks but to me and my husband that just added to the charm. Each morning at breakfast my husband and I entertained our family with the details of the strange things that happened each night. If there are guest that have never left the Inn as the web site says then we think they only want to be mischievous and mean no harm. The Inn may not be the type place I would want to stay at on every trip we take. It is not a 5 star hotel with all of the modern conveniences but it has charm, beautiful furniture, a great staff and a great location on main street. For our family weekend getaway it was PERFECT.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I will start by saying that the staff for the most part was courteous and helpful. The real issues were with the accommodations:

1. Mold on the wallpaper in the bathroom
2. Towels that were threadbare, with holes
3. Bathtub with slow drain, and hair pre-installed
4. Old and out of style decorations in our room- dusty silk flowers anyone?
5. Pressboard media cabinet with a hole in it.
6. 11PM "wake-up" call as the employee with the 5.0 liter Mustang with straight pipes leaves for the evening. He likes to back-in to keep the pipes aimed right at ya.

Our stay did include excitement however! While taking a mid-afternoon nap my fiance and I were visited by some guy strolling into our locked room- he had a key! The front desk clerk assured us it was "probably" just the maintenance guy.

This place is way over-priced. Stay at the Old Edwards Inn. Can't afford it? Save-up a while longer before visiting Highlands- this place is just not worth the money until it's been completely renovated.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The inn is warm and reminiscent of more gracious days. The coffee and homemade cookies were a perfect way to end a hard day of shopping, and the breakfast was a wonderful way to begin a day of exploring all the scenic spots. Will definitely book again when I return to Highlands!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We loved the charm of the Inn and not the average hotel and that is what I liked about the Highlands Inn. The staff was great and highly recommend staying at the Highlands.
Much to due and many fine restaurants and the shopping was wonderful. A must place to visit and you will want to come every year for a visit.
Marge M Sarasota,Fl.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highlands
0.2 mi away
The Park On Main Hotel
The Park On Main Hotel
#2 of 7 in Highlands
5.0 of 5 stars 80 reviews
1.9 mi away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Highlands Inn Lodge
Highlands Inn Lodge
#6 of 7 in Highlands
3.5 of 5 stars 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Old Edwards Inn and Spa
#1 of 7 in Highlands
5.0 of 5 stars 840 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highlands Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlands Inn

Address: 420 Main Street, Highlands, NC 28741
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Highlands
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Highlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Highlands Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Highlands Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highlands Hotel Highlands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Highlands Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.