We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely everything one could want in restaurant!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wild Thyme Gourmet

Wild Thyme Gourmet
343 Main Street, Town Square, Highlands, NC 28741
+1 828-526-4035
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 43 restaurants in Highlands
Price range: $9 - $32
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Dessert, Private Dining
Description: Dinning Options: Lunch & Dinner,
Nashville, TN
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely everything one could want in restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

Of the place in Highlands, the Wild Thyme Gourmet was the best overall experience we had. The food was impeccably fresh, the service was incredible, and the atmosphere in the outdoor dining area couldn't have been more perfect on a summer afternoon. I had the encrusted salmon, and it was one of the best dishes I ever put in my mouth! I would highly recommend it.

The service was friendly and efficient. I think the owner served us, and she couldn't have been nicer. On the day we went, the other outdoor diners seemed to be getting the same great service as we did, no matter who waited on them. We also ate at Wolfgang's and Cypress - but, overall, the best combination of food and price were at the Wild Thyme Gourmet.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    150
    85
    16
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great Food, Warm Southern Service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

My partner and I ate at this café with two friends upon our arrival in Highlands. We took an early flight to Atlanta and then drove to Highlands. We were tired for sure! And so, when we were served by our warm, friendly, inviting waitress, it was very welcome. Both my partner and I had diet restrictions that day. Our waitress *anticipated* our requests to change our orders and was completely open to accommodating our requests. She was clearly out to please and give us extraordinary service.

Every item that was served on our table was very tasty and prepared very well -- especially met our diet restriction requests. My curry chicken salad was a touch runny, but over delicious. The wild rice, sweet potato chips, grilled chicken, and veggie burgers were all absolutely wonderful.

Everyone's water glasses, and sweet tea, were constantly being filled up. The attention to our needs was exceptional.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Springs, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beware the crusted salmon”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2009

After trying to find one restaurant with an average entree cost less than 20.00 we gave up and settled on the last one we checked, because by then we were tired and hungry. We found that the restaurant had a very nice outside area that is nestled among rhododendron. If it was only for the atmosphere we would have been fine but unfortunately we were also hungry. After much deliberation and on being told that it was the most popular dish on the menu, I settled for the vidalia onion encrusted salmon. I thought I might be in trouble when it came out square cut on a bed of mashed potatoes. It did have asparagus and a baked tomato, both of which which were the high point of the dish. I really believe I could have had a better tasting piece of crusted salmon out of the freezer at Publix and baked in my own oven. My stomach was queasy by the time I left. The salmon also had a fishy taste, which is always a bad sign for good fish. My wife said the cranberry, goat cheese and sugared pecan salad was good. The maple brie was okay and the tomato basil soup was very good. My wife did agree that the salmon was very unimpressive. For a 25.00 entree you should expect more. I have learned not to complain about bad food on a good night out because it is more about the night out than just the food. I was tempted but controlled my self, although I should have politely asked for another dish

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wtg2008, Manager at Wild Thyme Gourmet, responded to this review, December 26, 2009
I am very troubled to hear that this diner did not enjoy his meal with us. As he said, the Vidalia Onion Crusted Wild Salmon is indeed one of our most popular dishes. While I understand that customers are sometimes reluctant to speak with a manager or owner about something they do not care for, good restaurateurs would far prefer that they do, so that they can get their diner something that they are happy with. It is important to us as a small, owner operated restaurant that our guests are happy. We would far prefer they let us know that they are not satisfied immediately, when we can try to address the problem. It is a shame that this diner chose to speak up now when we can do nothing to help fix the problem. We encourage diners in general to not be shy about telling owners what you care for and do not care for. Tell them as soon as possible! In this way we can immediately adjust things in order to provide diners with the best evening possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
245 helpful votes 245 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2009

After eating here a year ago, we went back with another couple. The restaurant had changed owners. The food was okay, but not the ambience. We had a foreign person in crappy jeans, tennis shoes constantly standing by the table trying to constantly serve water, etc. .. It just wasn't the same as a previous trip and even though we would be in the area for a month, we would not go back. This visit was in May 2009.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
1 review
“Not a Deli”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2009

Deli style is totatlly wrong. This is a gem among all the excellent restaurants in Highlands. whenever we vaction here, we set our schedule around opennings at Wild Thyme Gourmet. The food is wonderful and the prices very fair. be sure to ask for the lemon cake for desert.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wild Thyme Gourmet also viewed

Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Wild Thyme Gourmet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wild Thyme Gourmet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.