We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attitude at Altitude” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wild Thyme Gourmet

Wild Thyme Gourmet
343 Main Street, Town Square, Highlands, NC 28741
+1 828-526-4035
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 45 Restaurants in Highlands
Price range: $9 - $32
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Dessert, Private Dining
Description: Dinning Options: Lunch & Dinner,
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Attitude at Altitude”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Been going to Wild Thyme on Carolina Way for years and always found the food very good. Now Lama has opened a second location on Main Street. The ambiance and decor are splendid. So we settled in at a comfortable booth and ordered an expensive bottle of wine. But when we asked for some bread to go with the wine the waitress rather snippily said we had to order dinner to have bread! Ouch! She relented and brought bread. Fresh Grouper was just delicious but we left with the feeling that our years of patronage was not really appreciated. We will try again sometime.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    114
    21
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Great food, best meal of the trip.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Great food. Best meal we had. Pricey as expected. Service was ok. Employ some Russian staff and can be difficult to understand at times.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Love the new location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

This restaurant has always been a favorite of ours, and now it has moved into a Main St. spot with beautiful new decor. We had a lunch for four and were hard-pressed to make a choice from the menu of delightful offerings. The chicken and artichoke wrap with wild rice salad was just wonderful! Crab cakes were small but very tasty. Finished up with a piece of excellent coconut cake. Can't wait for the next visit!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands, North Carolina
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“What a difference the new location makes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Last week Wild Thyme moved to a brand new location on Main Street. Not only have the added to their seating capacity, but expanded heirs hours, menu and ambience. Lovely patio seating, separate bar and inside layout with comfortable booths, open kitchen and art on the walls.
We also look forward to the old location retrofitting to offer Asian Cuisine, something this town has lacked.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etowah, North Carolina
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“New Time for Wild Thyme..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We were the first ones seated for lunch when Wild Thyme opened in its new digs in Highlands NC on September 12. The new location, near the center of Main Street, has an open, appealing, upscale decor inside along with spacious outside seating and a nice bar. The menu reflected the great food traditions that had been established the Thyme's previous location, and our lunch items were delicious -- a tribute to the chef's team's skill in mastering in a brand new kitchen on opening day. We were excited to have Thyme's great food in a new setting.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wild Thyme Gourmet also viewed

Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Wild Thyme Gourmet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wild Thyme Gourmet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.