We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sunday Brunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of On the Veranda Restaurant

On the Veranda Restaurant
1536 Franklin Road, Highlands, NC 28741
828-526-2338
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
On the Veranda Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 45 Restaurants in Highlands
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: US 64 West
Clayton, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Sunday Brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Without a doubt On the Verandah serves the best Sunday brunch with a complimentary flute of Champagne or Mimosa. The beef and fish options along with their 2 soups change weekly. A fresh salad bar with unique salads is always a special treat. We have been a number of times and the food is always superb. On this most recent visit, Gregory was our server and he did a great job. We were extremely pleased and look forward to returning.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    36
    16
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Wonderful Setting, Fine Service, Good Food, if uneven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We dined there recently. We recommend dining on the side deck if it's in Season. The lake front views are wonderful! In fact, no Highlands restaurant has lake front views like Veranda. Our service was excellent! Janelle was our server. She was prompt, fun and very professional. The food at Veranda has always been good, but it seems to miss the mark just a bit. There were several entrees served at the table, and all were good, but none were great.
The bar however, did a nice job for us with great mixed and creative drinks. One unusual aspect of the meal was that a musician approached the table and wanted to play the flute for us. We were having a nice conversation that was interrupted - and he didn't take the hint..... He plays a mean flute... and he's awesome on the piano, but it was kind of a buzz kill. It was weird. That said, he played the guitar at another guest's table and it was clear that they loved it!
Lovely night. Beautiful setting. We'd go back soon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food, friendly staff, beautiful setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

This is our favorite restaurant in Highlands. It's a beautiful setting overlooking Lake Sequoyah. You can dine overlooking the lake or sit in the bar and order off the full menu. Chef Andrew does wonderful things with seafood. We had the sable fish last night and it was fabulous. Very tender and cooked perfectly. It's from Alaska and is similar to sea bass. We also enjoy the soups...had cauliflower soup last night. All the waitstaff are friendly and knowledgeable. They have live music...bands every so often, and a pianist usually on weekends. There's even clogging when the local bluegrass band plays!
I highly recommend!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, North Carolina
1 review
“Amazing Food, Our Server Billy is Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Had a terrific birthday dinner at On The Verandah. My wife tried the grouper special and I had the lobster tail special, both of which were amazing! We had an early reservation at 5:30 PM and were seated immediately at the corner table on the deck overlooking the lake. Our server, Billy, always does a terrific job; he's very knowledgeable about the menu and he always makes us feel like family. We had the calamari for an appetizer and it was delicious; dessert was pecan pie and key lime cheesecake and those were amazing, as well. Basically, this was one of the best meals I've ever had and I can't wait to go back again next year for my birthday!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
germany
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“The food was great! Nice view of the lake.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

We found this place after visiting bridal veil and dry falls. We weren't in the best attire but we ate out on the deck. The duck and steak were fabulous. My daughter ordered the ribs and they tasted great but were very small portion. We ordered deserts and coffee but never received the coffee so that's why I rated them not five stars. The pace of the meal was overall slow but the desert course took a really long time to cut a piece of cheesecake. The Mosquitos started biting while we waited for desert. The lake view was very pretty. The interior looked well decorated from what I saw.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed On the Veranda Restaurant also viewed

Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to On the Veranda Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage On the Veranda Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.