We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Madison's Restaurant

Madison's Restaurant
445 Main Street, Highlands, NC 28741
828-526-5477
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Madison's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 43 restaurants in Highlands
Price range: $6 - $38
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 4th Street
Description: Innovative farm-fresh cuisine in an environment of relaxed elegance. Most menu items sourced locally and grown organically at The Farm at Old Edwards. Dine indoors year-round or outdoors in the warm months at the Wine Garden beside the beautiful waterfall.
phoenix, maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great meal and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed at the Old Edwards Inn (awesome) and had dinner and lunch at Madisons. We're real foodies and the restaurant did not disappoint. Our meal(s) were delicious and very nicely presented. The service was impeccable.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    218
    63
    23
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Dinner - Great ambience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

My husband and I enjoyed a last-minute getaway to Highlands and based on TripAdvisor reviews, decided to try Madisons. We don't usually plan special meals at restaurants which are part of hotels, but in this case, both the Olde Edwards Inn and Madisons are special! We did not have dinner reservations but walked in and were able to reserve table to be available in about 30 minutes. They asked if this was a special occasion, and I did say it our wedding anniversary weekend. I guess I thought they'd mention it when we were seated but not so - no big deal. We simply window-shopped a few minutes and returned to enjoy a truly excellent meal, beautiful and well prepared and served by staff who were very informative and obviously happy and well trained. Customer service and staff attitudes can certainly make a good experience excellent - in this case, the excellent location, beautiful, glass wall dining room overlooking the town in evening and the superbly prepared meal was made super excellent by the attention of great servers. Excellent charcuterie appetizer, fine wine, perfect mountain trout, wonderfully prepared fresh veggies - dinner choices were beautiful, delicious and well prepard and the after-dinner high-quality coffee and the best chocolate dessert - oh, my. . . . Madisons is an excellent choice for business dinners, famiily and friends and especially nice for a romantic evening. We will return!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands, North Carolina
1 review
“Atmosphere is out of this world but the food not so much.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

Nearly everything on the menu involved pork of some kind. My husbands pasta even had pork rinds on top. NASCAR style. The sweet tea was rancid. The unsweet tea was tannic as if it had been steeping for hours.
If your after atmosphere though, nothing compares. Antique french silverware and tea servers. It's worth dining there just to see the building. Old world charm and elegance like stepping back in time.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Will not return”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

I laughed when I read that another reviewer said " the service was excellent even smothering" . We had NO service (of course, we were 2 women - the last people to get any attention in a restaurant). We sat for about 10 minutes after being seated (no drinks) & only after hearing my friend wonder when our waiter would come, the host sent a waiter. We were there for lunch, the food came soon, however we ordered chicken salad which was already made. The only thing on the plate was one scoop of chicken salad with 2 tiny pieces of greenery & a couple of split cherry tomatoes. If you want to spend $12.00 for that, be my guest! After our food came, we were NEVER checked on by a waiter although there were many working !!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

Service was excellent, perhaps a bit smothering. However, the food was only average at best, and very overpriced.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madison's Restaurant also viewed

Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Madison's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madison's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.