We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful birthday getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Edwards Inn and Spa

Save Saved
You added Old Edwards Inn and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Old Edwards Inn and Spa
445 Main Street, PO Box 2130, Highlands, NC 28741   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Slip Away & Save!
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Highlands
Suwanee
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful birthday getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I wanted to treat my wife to a nice get away weekend to help her celebrate (and cope) with a milestone birthday (ends with a "0") and we finally had the opportunity to stay at the Old Edwards Inn. The wait was surely worth it! I had preordered roses in the room which were there but the staff had spread red rose petals over the bed with 2 red roses on the dresser. We had a room in the original inn building with a balcony overlooking main street which was great. Coffee, sweet roll, talk and a little reading made the weekend very relaxing.

I made reservations at Madison's (their main restaurant) for dinner and the table again had red rose petals scattered which pleased her. The food and service was excellent!

I can't explain how attentive and professional the staff was to our every need. We definitely will be back and this time with friends. Oh, did I mention the heated floors in the bathroom?

Room Tip: Be sure to ask about rooms in the main inn vs. cabins vs. lodge. Rooms to meet your every need. Fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda S, Marketing Director at Old Edwards Inn and Spa, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you so much for entrusting Old Edwards with your wife's "milestone" birthday. We're happy to have been part of your celebration. Since you are apparently fond of cruises, we hope you found the North Carlina Mountains a nice change of scenery and that we will be able to host you again in the future.
Warm Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    576
    46
    15
    9
    9
See reviews for
77
428
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

OEI is a fabulous place. We would highly recommend a stay. Every aspect of our 3 night stay exceeded our expectations. The hotel facilities are amazing and their restaurant, Madison's, is absolutely outstanding. It is a great place to get away from the hustle and relax. Definitely will go back. We stayed in Room 601 and it was a perfect location and a very comfortable suite.

Room Tip: Enjoy Madison's restaurant. Great food and a fair price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda S, Marketing Director at Old Edwards Inn and Spa, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive review on TripAdvisor. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your three-night stay so much that you are planning a future visit with us. We look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We visited this hotel during the last three days. The service was special, the room was clean and very comfortable, and the food at the Madison room was outstanding. The hotel is centrally located within walking distance of restaurants and shops. We had a great time...retirement is a great invention!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda S, Marketing Director at Old Edwards Inn and Spa, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
We're glad to hear you are fully enjoying your retirement and that we could be a special part of it. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Warm Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I am going to start by saying we will return for another visit.

My wife and I celebrated a recent anniversary at the Old Edwards Inn. Our expectation of the stay would be one of exceptional service. The difference between a good stay at a lovely inn and a stay at a super spa and resort should not only be the price but the service you expect and are willing to pay when booking. The Old Edwards disappointed us in this area.

Check-in. The guest service representative struggled with the language. Many hotels use international hospitality employees. What stood out here was that the first impression was not a trained staff member but one that was struggling to get through the process. We love international flavor. It adds to the fun of traveling. Unfortunately if it slows or stops a process it might need to be looked at.

Rooms: The room like all at the Old Edwards was beautiful. The buildings court yards and corridors all lend to the Inn beauty. But again the details were missing. The room clock and reading lamps were unplugged. One of the sinks in the bathroom not only wouldn’t drain but had water lying in its base. The toilet paper a partial roll hadn’t been folded or replaced signaling housekeeping had been through.

Dinner: Our waitress at dinner tried to be friendly. She even attempted a joke. I am not sure if the environment was right but the attempt was there. Our food was average to slightly above. The price well above average. During dinner service the server bringing the main course struggled to set the plate causing the food to slide to one side. She corrected this by tipping the plate in the opposite direction. Dessert was served immediately after the entrée was cleared it was a pre-ordered soufflé. No coffee, tea or utensils were offered. As we finished our dessert the waitress returned. We asked if we could have coffee and tea. It promptly came without sweetener. Definitely not fine dining.

Room Refresh: Don’t even ask

Tea Time: We attempted to get a simple cup of tea on our first afternoon. After almost 20 minutes and asking several attendants throughout the lobby area, we were served two cups of tea and a silver serving tray that was large enough to serve a turkey dinner. Not something we could carry back to our room. The beauty of the facility is evident throughout but the detail has either been forgotten or just poorly managed during the early part of our stay.

Resolution: Upon check-in you receive a welcome packet. Inside the packet is a letter from the facility president. In the letter is says that everyone is there to help. The letter goes on to say that he is available for comments and questions. After the afternoon tea I walked over to the executive offices to seek out the author of the welcome letter. Based on our experience and the letters pledge we obviously were in some sort of disconnect. Although none of the items I mentioned were awful. They were definitely not what I am sure the president wanted for his $600.00 per night experience. So the turning point was actually finding a real person. He handled my critique with grace. He was very interested in my comments. It seemed that when I left his office various areas were woken up. The rest of the stay went terrific obviously with help from the boss. The room refresh on the second day felt like we had checked into a different hotel we couldn’t believe the change. Our second night the hotel recommended an off-site restaurant, it was excellent. I do want to note the management went above and beyond to make sure once we brought to their attention our concerns that we received a perfect remainder of a stay. This is also why we would definitely come back in the near future.

OOPs: Massage and Spa….OMG fantastic

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda S, Marketing Director at Old Edwards Inn and Spa, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
We are happy to hear you enjoyed parts of your stay and found the facilities to your liking. We always use constructive guest feedback to continue improving for future guests. Thank you for pointing out that our management team responded immediately and effectively to your requests and turned around any issues that you experienced. We really mean it when we invite our guests to contact our president personally and we appreciate that you did that. We are committed to turning around any prospective negative perceptions or issues as early as possible in your visit to ensure that you have a positive stay at Old Edwards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Champagne on arrival....escorted to your cottage.....fresh strawberries and more champagne in the room....heated bathroom floors....heated pool...pool bar.....a DOVE ice cream bar on the way back thru registration to get a map of the town....top notch....top notch.... !!!! My husband and I were celebrating 13 years together, everything here was above and beyond. The spa is to die for. I could have just stayed at the spa! The spa is a MUST if you are there. If we lived closer, I would make this a frequent long weekend get-away!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda S, Marketing Director at Old Edwards Inn and Spa, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Happy Anniversary, and thank you for choosing to spend it with Old Edwards. Thank you for bringing all your positive energy to your TripAdvisor review. We hope you have another blissful 13 years together and that we see you again before the next 13!
Warm Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoover, Alabama
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Took my wife out for a few days and stayed at Old Edwards Inn & Spa. The staff was excellent, and the Spa was wonderful. The restaurant is unbelievable, my wide had the Filet, and I had the Pork Medley, Staff was wonderful. The only problem was with the young lady at the coffee bar at the Mountain Lodge, she was a little rude, other than that everyone and everything was Excellent!
Will Go Back!

Room Tip: Check out their Mid Week Getaway Specials Sunday - Thursday. You will not regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda S, Marketing Director at Old Edwards Inn and Spa, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay and got to experience so much of what we have to offer. Thank you for all of your constructive feedback. We use the information to continue to improve our services, coach our staff and make future stays even better. We look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Georgia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We were very fortunate to be able to have 2 quick getaways this summer to Old Edwards. Both stays were SO relaxing and wonderful. The Spa is one of the best I've been to - had a wonderful facial and massage. The weather was perfect so we were able to enjoy the 2 beautiful pools - special shout out to Lavon and Luis who kept the drinks coming! Madison's is quite good but we love the outside wine bar as well. And who doesn't love Dove bars whenever you'd like one?! We stayed in the new Falls Cottages and they are just perfection. Roomy and cozy at the same time. One minor quibble - wish the outside bar overlooking Main Street stayed open later than 9:00. Can't wait to get back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda S, Marketing Director at Old Edwards Inn and Spa, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
It sounds like you had a blissful visit, which is what we like to hear! Thank you for staying with us twice this summer and for your great review on TripAdvisor. We also appreciate your recognizing our staff by name. We look forward to your future visits.
Warm Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Edwards Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Edwards Inn and Spa

Address: 445 Main Street, PO Box 2130, Highlands, NC 28741
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Highlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Highlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spectacular outdoor heated mineral pool, world-class spa and fitness center, award-winning dining, and golfing at the private Old Edwards Club are signature experiences at this full-service mountain resort. All guests enjoy champagne arrival and two 24-hour Butler’s pantries with Dove Bars, fresh fruit and soft beverages. European bedding, fine Italian linens, plush robes & slippers, rainfall showers and heated bathroom floors enhance the in-room experience. Many rooms offer private patios with captivating views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TIG Global, Otel, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Old Edwards Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Edwards Hotel Highlands
Old Edwards Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Edwards Inn and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.