We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Edwards: New Heights of Excellence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Edwards Inn and Spa

Save Saved
You added Old Edwards Inn and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Historic Hotels
and 4 more sites!
Old Edwards Inn and Spa
445 Street, PO Box 2130, Highlands, NC 28741   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Play Date Package
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Highlands
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Old Edwards: New Heights of Excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

For the past almost-decade, we have gone back for a rejuvenating stay at The Old Edwards Inn: and....IT JUST KEEPS GETTING BETTER!! The new cottages are magnificent and the service as impeccable as always. THIS is a great destination to relax and rejuvenate. WE WILL BE BACK!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda S, Marketing Director at Old Edwards Inn and Spa, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for your enthusiastic review! We look forward to having you back for another great stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    507
    41
    15
    9
    9
See reviews for
65
382
15
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

From the time you check-in (with a glass of champagne) to the time you leave (with a Dove bar hopefully in hand) this inn is wonderful. The staff here is so well trained it is a joy to stay here. All the staff is friendly, attentive and helpful. The room we had was a suite and it was magnificent. Plenty of space including drawers and closet space. There was a microwave, fridge and coffee maker in our room. The place was spotless, not only the rooms but the gym, pool area and grounds. The sheets and towels were actually soft a nice surprise. This was our first stay in the area and if we return we will be coming back to OEI! We know we couldn't do better than this!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda S, Marketing Director at Old Edwards Inn and Spa, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for posting your great review. Yes, the champagne arrival and free Dove bars are a much appreciated amenity:-) Thank you for recognizing our staff as a big part of your enjoyable stay. We look forward to hosting you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

World class rooms, service and food. Played golf at Old Edwards Club....the front nine in no way prepares you for the extraordinary experience of the back nine. My wife enjoyed the Spa massage. The weather was perfect. Madison's food and service was excellent. The staff here are the best!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda S, Marketing Director at Old Edwards Inn and Spa, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Golf, massage and dinner at Madison's... it sounds like an enjoyable visit. Thank you so much for posting your review on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back to Old Edwards soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, Mo
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Well, this is my fourth review of our beloved OEI - not to mention a few more of Madison's and the Club. Once again - the total experience was a WOW. As in previous reviews, I like to say thanks to the incredible people that make up this great place. I don't know what they do to find the Best of the Best, the Nicest of the Nicest. But I suspect it has a great deal to do with the ownership and management which every staff member speaks of with love and admiration. We were there last April and were anxious to stay in the new Falls Cottages which we did last week. Oh My Goodness - these new spaces are beyond compare, literally. We've visited many elegant hotels but nothing compares. The fabrics, trims, accessories, antiques - all beyond compare. The bed was divine (this from someone who only really loves her own bed). But what makes this place so perfect are the people - When we walked up on the Lodge porch to check in, Jack and Cody were standing out there and my cool autistic son ran up a couple paces ahead of me and both gentleman welcomed him with a big, "Hi Alex" and shook hands. Then they said to me that our suite was just gorgeous and that Alex would want to use his laptop more in the living room than in the bedroom due to reception (although both worked fine). Reading between the lines, you'll see my point is that they not only remembered Alex so well but that that he doesn't like to be separated from his laptop. We had the extreme fortune to interact with Caitlin at Art's at the Lodge almost every day at some point. She is an amazing person who made us feel like we'd known her for years. Also thanks to Wade, Julie, James, Patti, Sean (Madison's breakfast each morning). Also Karen in the Main Lobby - one of our favorites at OEI as she is so so kind to Alex.
Okay - I've gushed now. Just have to say, if you've never been to OEI....... What are you waiting for??? Oh, P.S. One of the highlights this time around was sitting around the new fireplace at the Falls pool talking to other guests (who all fell in love with Alex instantly). I think all the guests at OEI are so nice and kind because when you're being treated with such kindness, you just naturally adopt that same attitude. Love You, OEI !!!

Room Tip: Tell Julie in reservations what's important to you - she'll bend over backwards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda S, Marketing Director at Old Edwards Inn and Spa, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Wow, you have made so many amazing comments! We thank you so much for posting your review. We particularly appreciate that you noticed our staff and mentioned them by name. This means a lot to them. Thank you so much for being part of the Old Edwards family. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Warm Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We just returned from a long weekend at the Old Edwards Inn and Spa in Highlands, N.C., and had a spectacular time as usual........If it were possible, I would rate our experience as "6 stars", as that is truly how wonderful it was. Incomparable staff and facilities, providing the most perfect retreat anyone could hope to have.

Room Tip: If possible , stay in the lodge rooms that are situated behind the historic inn building.....they ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda S, Marketing Director at Old Edwards Inn and Spa, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review. Love the six star idea! We hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

just got back from girls weekend and had wonderful weekend. although the front desk staff seems to need more training on the computer (we had switched 2 people around and you would have thought it was the most complicated problem in the world to solve) the rest of the trip was great. the layout is super cool. we had folks in the cottages and the Lodge-both accomondations wonderful. spent a full day in the Spa and loved the setup. Super relaxing in the meditation room. the actual facial was fine, but i was expecting a bit more. ate at Vine cafe -perfect for lunch and Madison's for dinner (the menu somewhat limited but the "specials" were incredible) and the service was exceptional. the pools are cool and lots of other spaces to hang out. nice outdoor fireplaces, porches, library etc. overall the service was quite good, there are a few "details" that need a little more attention, just like having trailmix or something to nibble on at the spa, to having lights that dim in some outdoor spots. overall great place and worth going. interestingly enough, i will be back in 2 weeks for a different girls trip. can't beat it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda S, Marketing Director at Old Edwards Inn and Spa, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review Old Edwards on TripAdvisor. So glad that you enjoyed your girls trip and look forward to having you for the next one. Sorry to hear about the wait while we switched your rooms around. We will make sure your check in process goes smoother on your upcoming visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Just got home from 4 days at Old Edwards Inn and it was absolutely wonderful!!! The location is perfect and wonderful for a slow pace relaxing time. The pools are perfect, very refreshing and relaxing! The cottage we stayed in was perfect charm of old and new! The grounds are amazing; every where you walk it is breathtaking! The staff is wonderful, so kind and helpful and on their A Game!!! The wait staff was friendly and helpful! The head chef is great, he has a wonderful personality and makes fantastic food!!! I wasn't ever dissatisfied but blown away and always eating more than I should to taste all the wonderful food! The Farm is just jaw dropping gorgeous!!! It would be perfect for a wedding...wow! Can't wait to come back with family! Thank you Robert & Melissa for an amazing experience!!! Great job!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Piedmont Cottage (the yellow house) it was gorgeous! A little bit of the old with t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda S, Marketing Director at Old Edwards Inn and Spa, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review, particularly for mentioning our staff and chef. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your visit so much, and we look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Old Edwards Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Edwards Inn and Spa

Also Known As:
Old Edwards Hotel Highlands
Old Edwards Hotel
Old Edwards Inn
Old Edwards
Address: 445 Street, PO Box 2130, Highlands, NC 28741
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Highlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Highlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spectacular outdoor heated mineral pool, world-class spa and fitness center, award-winning dining, and golfing at the private Old Edwards Club are signature experiences at this full-service mountain resort. All guests enjoy champagne arrival and two 24-hour Butler’s pantries with Dove Bars, fresh fruit and soft beverages. European bedding, fine Italian linens, plush robes & slippers, rainfall showers and heated bathroom floors enhance the in-room experience. Many rooms offer private patios with captivating views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TIG Global, Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Old Edwards Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Edwards Inn and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.