We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A few challenges” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Old Edwards Inn and Spa

Save Saved
You added Old Edwards Inn and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Old Edwards Inn and Spa
445 Street, PO Box 2130, Highlands, NC 28741   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Slip Away & Save!
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Highlands
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
“A few challenges”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

It was a lovely hotel. The tub in the lodge cabins was hard to get into. There was no separate shower. The towel racks and safe were made for very tall people. We called and asked for snacks to go with our bottle of wine that we purchased at the Inn. We were told they had none and to go to the Exxon station. I have to admit I was with a group and didn't get to try the restaurants on the grounds.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    550
    43
    15
    9
    9
See reviews for
73
411
16
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Old Edwards Inn is a wonderful resort conveniently located for shopping, eating and exploring downtown Highlands, North Carolina. However, the service staff is poorly managed and trained. We had an horrendous experience in the Wine Garden restaurant. Maxine, the waitress, took our drink orders and I also ordered the Trout Dip at the same time. Later, she returned to get our lunch order. Drinks had arrived but not the Trout Dip. Next comes our entrees. I called her over and jokingly said, "Wow, the Trout Dip was really good." and the laughed. She says, "Good." I then replied, "No, like where is it?" She looked puzzled and asked if I still wanted I did. She returned later with a dip. It didn't look right but I took a few bites and then offered to my husband. We both agreed it was black-eyed pea hummus. So, I called her back over and told her it was hummus not trout. She gave me the bad eye and picked up the hummus and huffed and puffed away. Later, she threw and I mean threw the Trout Dip on our table and walked away. My husband and I were stunned. I asked to speak to the manager who said he would speak to Maxine and comped our meal which was very gracious of him. Well, low and behold, Maxine was to be our server at Madison's, OEI premier restaurant, but the gave us to another server, and then she was my server at the spa! We never received an apology from her! And she lied to my friends at the spa telling them this was her first day. Not so, Miss Maxine. Btw, our food orders were messed up every time we ordered. However, the beauty of the property and the amenities made up for the Maxine debacle.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, North Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

My wife and I recently spent four nights at Old Edwards Inn. Expectations were exceeded in all areas we visited: People (Staff), Lodging (Lee Suite in The Lodge), and Food (Madison's, and the Wine Garden). We also utilized the fitness center which was extremely well equipped and staffed.

Even if you do not stay at the OEI while in Highlands, any of the restaurants are well worth a visit.

Most remarkable was that although the property appeared to be fully booked, it was very quiet, and felt as though we had the property to ourselves.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

For $800 a night including 2 rounds of golf and 2 spa treatments one could stay at a 4 seasons. Or stay in kiawah or sea island and get more for less. Old Edwards is a tremendous getaway but it's price is not comparable to it's value. I would have sent this to the gm but there is no contact email.
The golf "package" is not a package at all - you pay rack rates for the room and golf and get one free food only dinner for two. Big deal. The spa suites are of the best rooms. Nice yes, extraordinary no. View of the street, and a charming (read old and dilapidated) chest where you can hurt yourself opening the drawers. One of the best nooks in the place is the rooftop terrace allegedly open every day - for at least the midday - it was not open once in a 4 day stay. The town is nice but even the most ardent trinket shopper would be done in a day. The net is i think the Old Edwards is perhaps a haven for Atlantans seeking to go to the mountains.
Checkout was at best uncomfortable as the staff can only help to explain the charges with no authority to do anything about them. Apparently OZ is some remote off site authority. Anyhow for $800 a day with minimal hotel charges (a massage/manicure and some drinks) and the golf for 2 days i'd rather be in Nevis, St. Barth's, Kiawah or Sea Island. $175 for a Cplus massage is but one example of where the Old Edwards may be living on reputation vs. value.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main inn are lacking. The spa suites or new cottages are a better choice - they are jus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

We loved our stay at The Old Edwards Inn! Spent two nights in Lodge cottages and two more in their beautiful new Falls cottages. The staff is so friendly and helpful. Our kids loved the game room. Can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Attended a wedding here in June. The accommodations were wonderful. The staff was very nice and helpful and very friendly. It gives you warm feel. Very lovely. Great place for a wedding or any activities for a wedding. the location is nice. Right in the middle of downtown. Very close to everything.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for our 35th anniversary. The service was great and the hotel is gorgeous...loved all the antiques! Defiantly feels like you're stepping back in time.
On the downside, the rooms were very tiny and somewhat noisy! Also very pricey, so not for the budget minded!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Old Edwards Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Edwards Inn and Spa

Address: 445 Street, PO Box 2130, Highlands, NC 28741
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Highlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Highlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spectacular outdoor heated mineral pool, world-class spa and fitness center, award-winning dining, and golfing at the private Old Edwards Club are signature experiences at this full-service mountain resort. All guests enjoy champagne arrival and two 24-hour Butler’s pantries with Dove Bars, fresh fruit and soft beverages. European bedding, fine Italian linens, plush robes & slippers, rainfall showers and heated bathroom floors enhance the in-room experience. Many rooms offer private patios with captivating views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TIG Global, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Old Edwards Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Edwards Hotel Highlands
Old Edwards Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Edwards Inn and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.