We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fire Mountain Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Fire Mountain Inn to your Saves list
Fire Mountain Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   700 Happy Hill Rd, Box 2772, Highlands, NC 28741   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Highlands B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Went up there for Valentines weekend and had a great time! It was great service and the owners were more than helpful. They had great suggestions on where to go and the popular things to go see. Our room also had one of the best views I could imagine. I would recommend fire mountain to anyone looking for a nice and relaxing trip up to the highlands. I can't imagine returning and staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    15
    4
    5
    6
See reviews for
23
259
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florence, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

My husband and I were looking for a quiet get-a-away in the mountains and found Fire Mountain Inn on tripdvisor. From the first drive up to the property we knew we had found our new favorite place. Check in was easy and informative with Matthew and Hiram. They gave us great tips for restaurants and day hikes. Our room was PERFECT! My husband and I called it rustic elegance but the only thing rustic is the simplicity of it all. The room was beautiful; the view breathtaking. The champagne and strawberries were waiting for us as we were celebrating my husband's birthday so we sat on the balcony and enjoyed a beautiful mountain sunset. Edith prepared gourmet breakfasts every morning. When we would wake and go to the library/dining area for breakfast a roaring fire and hot, delicious coffee were always waiting. One morning we mentioned to Matthew and Hiram that one of our turn signals was out on our car and they called the auto shop down the road and had us fixed up within minutes. Even after taking trail hikes around Highlands I always came back to Fire Mountain and walked around the property again. I just loved the setting, the quiet, petting the horses, being greeting by someone's dog who would join me on my walk. Throughout the week my husband and I kept saying that we would love to return each season. I honestly can't think of a single thing that could improve our stay at Fire Mountain Inn.

Room Tip: When choosing a room the most important thing to know is if you're a "sunrise" person...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simpsonville, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Fire Mountain Inn came to our attention through Trip Advisory ...and once again we are so thankful that Trip Advisory exists for us busy people with a need to find just the right place in a location we had previously not been. Our stay at Fire Mountain Inn surpassed our expectations in everyway and we left sure we would return... The InnKeepers Hiram and Mathew have caringly created an atmosphere for self emptying stress and refueling the human spirit ... though serene decor, gourmet cusine, precautions for our privacy, attentive listenig to guide us to leisure walks and driving trips, music and the arts and eateries, exquisite views from the top of Fire Mountain Inn with sunsets second to none, evening fireside reading, memorable morning chats with fellow guests whose background and interests were uncanningly similar. The InnKeepers' caring touches made a special celebration a time to remember. For not even a special occasion this is the place to come for the specialness we need to punctuate our lives.

Room Tip: Our room was very conveniently located to access the fireplace lounge and dinning area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

This trip was beyond expectations! The cabin was comfortable and well appointed. The grounds were immaculate and well maintained. The staff was friendly and unobtrusive. We felt the tides of stress just ebbing away as the days progressed. We plan on making this a yearly trip, or 2! We can hardly wait to return and are already looking at our schedules to plan our next excursion. You couldn't go anywhere and find more friendly and genuinely nice people as Hiram and Mathew. The suggestions by the guys for day trips to the falls was spot on and extremely enjoyable. We got some really nice pictures on the trip. If you want a sense of release and relief with a side of total relaxation, Fire Mountain Inn is a must on my list. Thanks Hiram & Mathew!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We really enjoyed our first Christmas with our twin boys tucked away at Fire Mountain. We stayed in one of the larger cabins and found it to be cozy, very clean and well stocked and furnished. We came for quiet and fresh mountain air and got tons of both. The location is very secluded at the end of a dirt track road with exceptional views and quiet. Yet you can be in downtown Highlands about 9 miles away in a short time for some excellent restaurants and shopping. Matthew and Hiram are very helpful hosts but not "in your face" which again suits the experience they offer. We enjoyed hanging out in our cabin with no TV and patchy telephone service sitting by a roaring fire and look forward to visiting again to experience the summer weather. One small suggestion is to provide more than one fire starter log. All in all a wonderful peaceful place to stay.

Room Tip: We were happy to have selected the larger two bedroom cabin as we had a lot of "baby stuff"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Fire Mountain Inn was a recommendation. It was heavenly! The anticipation driving there was so exciting!! The mountains, the trees, the winding roads, and finally the private entrance leading to the Fire Mountain Inn. We were greeted by the owners of the Inn, Hiram and Mathew.
They are very professional, helpful, great hosts and so much fun! Hiram and Mathew have great taste and together have done a great job decorating each cottage. The place is very clean and comfortable, and well stocked with all the conveniences. Tucked away in the middle of nowhere, you wake up and voila, the majestic mountains appear in front of you. We enjoyed bunches being there and have to say we were very sad to leave. We highly recommend staying at the Fire Mountain Inn. It will be memorable, peaceful, fun and wholesome!!

Room Tip: Cabins are so much fun and private!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

I visited during Christmas Holiday. I was a little bit worried to travel to the mountain by myself. But everything is exceeding my expectation, the cozy, lovely cabin, the warm welcoming, the detail guide provided by Hiram, Mathew and the guide book in the room!!!
It is convenient to connect to Highland downtown but you got this breathtaking mountain view with real peace and the time to yourself. The sunset of North Georgia Mountain is breathtaking.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fire Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fire Mountain Inn

Address: 700 Happy Hill Rd, Box 2772, Highlands, NC 28741
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Highlands
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Highlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fire Mountain Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Despegar.com so you can book your Fire Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fire Mountain Hotel Highlands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fire Mountain Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.