We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fire Mountain, a breath of fresh mountain air” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fire Mountain Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Fire Mountain Inn to your Saves list
Fire Mountain Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   700 Happy Hill Rd, Box 2772, Highlands, NC 28741   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Highlands B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fire Mountain, a breath of fresh mountain air”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Fire Mountain is a MUST for anyone that is looking for that perfect spot in the Carolina mountains. There was nothing more relaxing than to sit on our porch and look out into the wooded fields that surrounded our cabin, chickadee, and what a treat to have a gourmet breakfast delivered to our door every morning. After spending a day hiking the 300+acre property or nearby mountain trails we would come home to our comfortable cabin to relax and rejuvenate in the jacuzzi or on the porch. Area restuarants are terrific, but for those who like to relax with a glass of wine, the outdoor grill is perfect to enjoy dinner in. Hiram and Mathew were terrific hosts and were available to answer any questions we had about the area. We will be going back. J & S Clearwater, Fl

Room Tip: We stayed in a cabin which I highly recommend, but any of the accomodations are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    15
    4
    5
    6
See reviews for
23
276
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Celebrated a birthday and wanted a quiet change of pace. Fire Mountain was just the place to escape it all. Incredibly quiet yet close enough to the action. Loved the hot tub at night under the stars. We will return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

My new husband and I stayed in a cabin at Fire Mountain for our honeymoon. All I can say is WONDERFUL!!! The location and views are breath taking; highly recommend the breakfast delivery and Saturday night bonfire. Hiram and Mathew were great from check in to check out. Will be going back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This was our 2nd stay at Fire Mountain Inn and it was great again! It is only a little off the beaten path but you feel like you are in a calm, more peaceful world with no media blasting you with day to day drivel. Kick back , relax , enjoy a great breakfast, and breathe clean air on a 300+ acre property. Waterfalls are nearby, and excellent shopping and restaurants are a short drive away in Highlands NC. The proprietors are wonderful and accommodate each guests needs. I hate to let everyone know about this hidden gem

Jodor

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Outstanding art, excellent food and extraordinary location......magical!
We had a wonderful time on Fire Mountain and enjoyed every minute. Thank you Mathew and Hiram for casting such a lovely spell upon us!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartersville, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

If your purpose is to de-stress your life and to return home relaxed and renewed, Fire Mountain is the place for you. If you want to accomplish those goals in a beautifully appointed and well-kept environment, which is free of clutter and of clatter, Fire Mountain is the place for you – no clocks, no radios, no televisions, no internet, no noise; just peace and quiet. If thoughts of great breakfasts with incomparable views, of walks on and around mountain tops, of streams and waterfalls, and always fresh air and moderate temperatures captivate you, Fire Mountain is the place for you. We loved it. We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Mississippi
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Being the adventurer I am the term "tree house" caught my attention when I did a Google search of "places to stay close to the AT" So I said to my soon to be wife, "Babe how would you like to stay in a tree house for our honeymoon?!?" This got her attention just as quickly as it did mine. So we proceeded to the Fire Mountain website to investigate such an interesting claim. After browsing around the site looking at the various accommodations and debating on tree house or cabin we decided to go with the tree house and what a great decision it was! I knew from my reading that the "tree house" was not actually built in a tree but was so named because of it being level with the tree tops giving the feel that we were in the trees. The room wasn't more than a king size bed and a nice sized bathroom, and closet. That didn't bother us at all because there was too much exploring to be done to need anything more during the day. We had the place to ourselves for the week so it was very quite. The views on top of FM were spectacular morning and evening, we both loved watching the fog bank roll in across the valley in the morning and the beautiful sunset in the evening! The owners were very friendly and knowledgeable of the area and made more than a few good suggestions of places to eat and explore. The only negative my wife and I have is that it was tough being early risers because coffee and breakfast were not served until 8:30-9am, however, one of the owners was so kind as to bring us our own coffee maker to our room for us to have coffee when got up. Because of the late breakfast we ended up eating out so we could get an earlier start to our day's adventure. Needless to say this did not affect our stay at FM! We are already considering a return trip for our first anniversary. Bottom line, I don't think I could have found a better place for our honeymoon in the mountains.

Room Tip: This info is available on the FM website but just so you know. None of the rooms or cabins have a/c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highlands
8.1 mi away
The Park On Main Hotel
The Park On Main Hotel
#2 of 7 in Highlands
5.0 of 5 stars 70 reviews
8.3 mi away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
8.2 mi away
Highlands Inn
Highlands Inn
#5 of 7 in Highlands
4.0 of 5 stars 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Highlands Inn Lodge
Highlands Inn Lodge
#6 of 7 in Highlands
3.5 of 5 stars 66 reviews
17.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
8.2 mi away
Old Edwards Inn and Spa
Old Edwards Inn and Spa
#1 of 7 in Highlands
5.0 of 5 stars 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fire Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fire Mountain Inn

Address: 700 Happy Hill Rd, Box 2772, Highlands, NC 28741
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Highlands
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Highlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fire Mountain Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Fire Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fire Mountain Hotel Highlands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fire Mountain Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.