We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Property with Wonderful Staff!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fire Mountain Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Fire Mountain Inn to your Saves list
Fire Mountain Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   700 Happy Hill Rd, Box 2772, Highlands, NC 28741   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Highlands B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Atlanta
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Property with Wonderful Staff!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Inn for our anniversary. In all my travels, I have never stayed at a more perfect place. Every single aspect of the trip was amazing! The cleanest rooms, the best mountain views, the best food, the best service, and the friendliest staff. Mathew and Hiram were so welcoming, they made us feel like we were old friends coming back home for a visit. They made great recommendations on the recreational activities in the area as well. I would HIGHLY recommend this property to anyone without hesitation! Thank you Mathew and Hiram for blessing us with such a memorable trip!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Inn, which was amazing but we also viewed a Treehouse and a Cabin and they all look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    15
    4
    5
    6
See reviews for
23
259
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful time at the Fire Mountain Inn. The hosts/owners of the Inn were wonderfully nice and inviting. I would recommend this great getaway to anyone looking for a great view, privacy, a relaxing time in a jacuzzi, etc. One of my favorite memories is a night in front of the roaring campfire.

Room Tip: This was my second trip to the cabin portion of the Inn and they have different types of cabins that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

If you are looking to stay at a B&B or hotel right in Highlands, NC, this is not the place for you. On the other hand, Fire Mountain Inn merits your most serious consideration if you are looking for a mountain retreat beautifully situated atop a mountain outside of Highlands.

Located between Dillard, GA and Highlands, NC (~ 20 min outside of Highlands), Fire Mountain Inn is accessed by a gravel road winding up to the Fire Mountain property.

You are greeted by Matthew and/or Hiram, and they take time to both check you in and to orient you to the surrounding area. Whether you are looking for restaurants, hiking, shopping, or all of the above, they know the area and are happy to help you sort through possibilities and options.

The rooms and the property are exactly as described on the Fire Mtn Inn website. We opted for a west-facing room and were extremely happy with our selection. The views were excellent, especially being above the clouds in the morning.

The breakfasts are amazing! Fire Mtn Inn is a retreat of sorts, and hence breakfast is not served until 9:30 a.m. Coffee is ready earlier. Relax, enjoy the views and the overall atmosphere, and you will be rewarded with an outstanding breakfast made with locally fresh ingredients.

Fire Mtn Inn makes an excellent base for exploring the surroundings mountains and towns. You wake up relaxed, and are well nourished before heading off to the mountains, valleys, hollows, shops, and towns. And, when your day is over, you are happy to return to this place of peace and beauty.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Our most recent visit to Fire Mountain last week had three goals - celebrate our wedding anniversary, escape the suffocating heat that enveloped Raleigh, NC and RELAX and unplug from the world. As usual, Fire Mountain came through for us. We stayed in our favorite cabin - Cullasaja - and it was wonderful - just as we remembered it. We celebrated our anniversary dinner at the Cyprus at the suggestion of Hiram, and it was absolutely perfect. The weather was cool and sometime rainy - just what we craved. My husband enjoyed a relaxing massage, I read book(s) with the sound of the rain on the roof - which lulled me to sleep.. again, just what I craved. We will return to Fire Mountain again and again!

Ray and Joan Grace

Room Tip: Cullasaja and Hemlock cabins are our favorites. The Red Thunder room in the Inn is just spectacular...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

There are two Highlands; main street with its boutique stores and fashionable restaurants and high priced accommodations and a similar scene that plays out at most major tourist destinations whether it be Seaside, Bar Harbor or Sonoma.
Then, there is the real thing. A shift in attitude as you approach on the gravel road away from the hustle of the tourist town, welcoming hosts and a simple, elegant space to envelop.
Fire Mountain is all that.
If you truly read the website, print out the concise, well written recommendations and look at the pictures (including the wonderful guest pictures on this site), you will know exactly what to expect. What you won’t know for sure until you are sitting on your porch is how much this Highlands is restorative and authentic.
The Innkeepers were gracious, unobtrusive and experts on the area. The accommodations were pristine—towels were top-notch, linens were crisp and luxurious and the furnishings were simple, elegant and uncommon---reminiscent of Pottery Barn and a favorite sun porch. Every detail had been attended to—and personalized. We wanted a specific kind of experience—reconnecting, staring into space and some vigorous hikes. Our hosts mapped out our day, down to the smallest details and armed with print-outs and the benefit of their years of experience, we had a wonderful weekend.
We stayed in the Red Thunder room in the Inn and breakfast was provided. It was delicious and gourmet—fresh from the garden-- homemade strawberry jam, pancakes, eggs and an assortment of juices, granola and more. We were delighted!
Staff knew before we did that we would cancel our trendy restaurant reservation and retreat to our porch with its tasteful and comfortable furniture to share a take-out gourmet dinner from one of the area’s shops. They offered a picnic backpack filled with linens and dishware and offered to refill it with clean items between hikes! The real Highlands—mountain walks, breezes that float through your room, and the absence of the noise that accompanies most of us in our day to day is present at Fire Mountain. The grounds encompass several cabins, the Inn and fields, gardens and paths. It is secluded in that the “other” Highlands is within reach but not intrusive. We saw guests on their porches or roaming the paths but at no time did I feel encroached upon or crowded. I must admit, I was slightly worried about the heat before we arrived---a primary reason for our escape. The elevation, ceiling fans and cross breezes were a fabulous antidote to the temps in Atlanta. I felt renewed and enjoyed the reprieve from the humidity and the blast of air conditioning.
In reading the other reviews, I must admit I am puzzled by those who gave the Inn a less than stellar rating. I have to surmise that they did not read the website or that this experience of a mountain retreat was not what they had in mind. There are plenty of accommodations in the area with the familiarity and sameness that is found in any hotel. In fact, in planning our trip, we had considered and discarded the hotels and B and B’s that seemed to favor a country look and the hotels that offered big chain perks. It felt incongruous with what Highlands is all about.

Fire Mountain offers much more---an escape, not too far, with the accoutrements and experiences that will let you know you have truly changed your perspective. We wholeheartedly and without hesitation recommend Fire Mountain and we are looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Read each description carefully on the website to see what works best for you; floor plans and photo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clearwater
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

When we researched for a place to stay for an extended fourth of July weekend, we looked for a "home base" so to speak. We wanted a nice relaxing place where we could venture off each day for kayaking, whitewater rafting and hiking to some waterfalls. As each day went on, rather than it being our "home base" Fire Mountain slowly became our "destination" . Anyone complaining about this place did NOT do there due diligence in planning their trip. Every bit of information is on their website. Yes it is a ride to Highlands( 15-20 min.) However the reward of being on top of the mountain and breathing the wonderful air is well worth it.We drove 9 hours so we brought some steaks and grilled out the first night ..The decompression then began..The best way to explain this unique place is to explain our visit.
We stayed in the Blue Moss cabin. Well prior to getting there we made 3 dinner rsvp's Cyprus and Paoletti's ( both awesome) Wolfgang's, not so much. Because we were going out each night we did not need a full kitchen. The kitchenette in our cabin was just fine. if we were going to dine at the cabin and cook( next time) we would have chosen another cabin.( All on the website)..Realizing there was not AC we brought a little fan, but it was not needed with the open windows and mountain air, however i would bring it again just in case.
Each morning we awoke to birds chirping and a glorious sunrise. A cup of coffee and then a little hike around the property, or down Happy Hill to a little waterfall. Each morning promptly at 9:30 breakfast was brought to our cabin. We paid x-tra but it was exceptional. Sitting on the porch enjoying breakfast, we saw a hummingbird 4 feet away. In the evenings with a glass of wine we saw fire flies as we enjoyed the cool mountain air and the stars, all of the stars!!!.
Each day we went on a planned trip ( get a GOOD map of the area) . Our last day we realized that we did not need to drive very far for the perfect day...A 15 minute ride after breakfast to Glenn falls...a mile or so hike down to the falls and a nice strenuous hike back up....Then back to the cabin with some bread, cheeses and champagne ..we read some books and enjoyed Fire Mountain....That evening we went to Cyprus restaurant, about 15 mins. away before getting into town...Open kitchen..this place ROCKS..Everything we did was 15 mins away and it was a glorious day..If you are looking for rustic, pampered and a place to decompress , Fire Mountain is the place..
Matt was readily available when we needed him and nowhere in sight when we enjoyed our privacy. Top Notch operation

Room Tip: Utilize the web site for your specific needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

My new husband and I spent our mini pre-honeymoon weekend (longer main honeymoon to follow later) at Fire Mountain and loved every minute of it! Matt and Hiram are open, warm, accessible, friendly, very informative and accommodating. The grounds and cabins are immaculately clean and fresh and the surround is the definition of quiet and peaceful. The gourmet breakfasts are delicious, hot and fresh, and promptly delivered each morning. Fire Mountain is remote, private, unique and yet 15 minute accessible to the finest dining and shopping in Highlands, NC. With five national parks adjacent, all levels of hiking are completely available. In spite of not having access to television, phones, radio, or the Internet, none of these are missed! In fact - that is one of the main reasons that we selected Fire Mountain. I cannot tell you the pleasure of falling asleep to crisp mountain air drifting through the cabin's open windows and waking up to gentle shafts of sunlight with the birds chirping in the background. And the water tastes wonderful - sweet, clean, and pure. Fire Mountain is private, very quiet, and yet open to any rambling around that you may wish to do. Fire Mountain is definitely a first class establishment. I highly recommend!

Room Tip: Only five cabins are available, but I definitely suggest them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fire Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fire Mountain Inn

Address: 700 Happy Hill Rd, Box 2772, Highlands, NC 28741
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Highlands
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Highlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fire Mountain Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Despegar.com so you can book your Fire Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fire Mountain Hotel Highlands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fire Mountain Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.