We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem at 4300 feet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Skyline Lodge Restaurant

Skyline Lodge Restaurant
470 Skyline Lodge Rd, Highlands, NC 28741
828-526-2121
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 45 Restaurants in Highlands
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: Seafood, International, Wine Bar, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner
Description: Enjoy sunset dining inside or out on the cocktail patio with Highlands' best view at the top of Flat Mountain at 4300 ft. elevation at the historic Skyline Lodge built by Arthur Kelsey a student of Frank Lloyd Wright in 1929. Our executive Chef will tease your taste buds with his gourmet dishes. Chef also creates daily specials that feature a great diversity of world flavors, reaching out to Italy, France, Meditteranean and more on a daily basis. Open Wednesday through Saturday for breakfast and dinner. They close the weekend with their famous Sunday Champagne Brunch from 12pm to 2pm. Make your reservations today. Located just 5 minutes from Highlands, take Flat Mountain Road off 64 East to Skyline Lodge Road(just after bridge)and make a left to 470 Skyline Lodge Rd.
1 review
“A hidden gem at 4300 feet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Shhh! Don't tell anyone else because I want to be able to sit at my favorite table by the open window and feel the crisp mountain breeze as I sip the complimentary champagne during another Sunday brunch at Highlands best kept secret. Sunday's should include Skyline for you too, but only if you enjoy homemade breads and desserts, a nice selection of tasty entrees accompanied by Caesar salad, stone ground cheese grits, and champagne served by a staff that is friendly and anxious to please. All of this takes place in an old lodge-like setting nestled into the trees at 4300 feet. But keep it a secret because if word gets out that you get all of this for only $20, they may have to four lane the road up to the Lodge just to accommodate all the new customers!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    3
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Diamond in the Rough”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

As we were leaving the Lodge to grab an anniversary dinner at "On The Veranda" a woman named Lou stopped us and said, "I know you aren't having dinner here tonight (too bad for you), but if you are back by 10PM, I will fix dessert for you." Turns out Lou was the "dessert chef" and the ex of the owner.
We took her up on the idea and showed up at 9:30. Empty restaurant but a group at bar. Lou was true to her word. She produced two fresh desserts: Lemon Cheesecake with Chambord Reduction and an almond torte with a shot of Frangelica on the side. Outstanding. We washed then down with some MacAllen and went to bed happy and bleary eyed.
Much to be said for this little restaurant and for Lou. Country but not stereotypical. Great food without pretension. Wonderful service without too many "Y'alls" (You need a couple of those y'alls to make the experience authentic).
In all, we have eaten at restaurants all over the world and spent a lot of money on good foo (probably too much). I would go back to the Skyline tomorrow... for the food, for the mountain quiet and for Lou!
BTW, if you stay at the Lodge, don't miss the served breakfast. Lou rustled up some outstanding eggs benedict. We ate on the porch in the beautiful Carolina sunshine at about 9AM. All the wait staff said "please" and "thank you" and "y'all". Delightful!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenoir City, Tennessee, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“a German restaurant/hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

its a little difficult to find. there is a big sign on the main road but then you have to find your way back to it...however, the view is super as you are pretty high up and the menu is German based but its a friendly place with pretty good food. The wooden "moose are fun and makes for a good photo op

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Musky and mildew city... No heat.. What a Dump!!! There's a reason it's off the beaten path.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Moldy and smells like Grandmas after bring closed up for 30 years . Anyone with allergies or asthma Do Not Stay here!!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands, North Carolina
1 review
“UNSURPASSED SUNDAY BRUNCH”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Our family has owned property in Highlands for over three decades and over the years we have been to almost all restaurants listed -- plus some that are no longer in business. Skyline is the undiscovered jewel in the area with a great mountain setting and wonderful lodge and cabin ambiance. We have enjoyed quite a few dinners at Skyline over the years but this season we have to report on the Sunday brunch experiences we have had so far:

The service is friendly, professional and setting the stage for a feel-good experience. The brunch menu is varied and offers an attractive variety. The asiago cheese grits is terrific. The Cesar salad today was unusually good but the amazing offering is unlimited champagne which also included an excellent Italian Presecco!! Most amazing at all: the cost of the brunch all inclusive is a ridiculously modest $20 which for Highlands is an outright steal. To top it off: wonderful live piano music. We are now Sunday brunch regulars hoping this minor review will not attract so many diners that we will have reservation problems.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skyline Lodge Restaurant also viewed

Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Skyline Lodge Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skyline Lodge Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.