We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Musky and mildew city... No heat.. What a Dump!!! There's a reason it's off the beaten path.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Skyline Lodge Restaurant

Skyline Lodge Restaurant
470 Skyline Lodge Rd, Highlands, NC 28741
828-526-2121
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 45 Restaurants in Highlands
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: Seafood, International, Wine Bar, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner
Description: Enjoy sunset dining inside or out on the cocktail patio with Highlands' best view at the top of Flat Mountain at 4300 ft. elevation at the historic Skyline Lodge built by Arthur Kelsey a student of Frank Lloyd Wright in 1929. Our executive Chef will tease your taste buds with his gourmet dishes. Chef also creates daily specials that feature a great diversity of world flavors, reaching out to Italy, France, Meditteranean and more on a daily basis. Open Wednesday through Saturday for breakfast and dinner. They close the weekend with their famous Sunday Champagne Brunch from 12pm to 2pm. Make your reservations today. Located just 5 minutes from Highlands, take Flat Mountain Road off 64 East to Skyline Lodge Road(just after bridge)and make a left to 470 Skyline Lodge Rd.
Salisbury, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Musky and mildew city... No heat.. What a Dump!!! There's a reason it's off the beaten path.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Moldy and smells like Grandmas after bring closed up for 30 years . Anyone with allergies or asthma Do Not Stay here!!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    3
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Highlands, North Carolina
1 review
“UNSURPASSED SUNDAY BRUNCH”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Our family has owned property in Highlands for over three decades and over the years we have been to almost all restaurants listed -- plus some that are no longer in business. Skyline is the undiscovered jewel in the area with a great mountain setting and wonderful lodge and cabin ambiance. We have enjoyed quite a few dinners at Skyline over the years but this season we have to report on the Sunday brunch experiences we have had so far:

The service is friendly, professional and setting the stage for a feel-good experience. The brunch menu is varied and offers an attractive variety. The asiago cheese grits is terrific. The Cesar salad today was unusually good but the amazing offering is unlimited champagne which also included an excellent Italian Presecco!! Most amazing at all: the cost of the brunch all inclusive is a ridiculously modest $20 which for Highlands is an outright steal. To top it off: wonderful live piano music. We are now Sunday brunch regulars hoping this minor review will not attract so many diners that we will have reservation problems.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
1 review
“Little Reviewed, but Excellent Restaurant with Nice Mountain Ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We ate Father's Day brunch here today. I must say that this was one of my best meals ever. I had Salad, Seafood Frittata, Cheese Grits, Bacon, and Bread Pudding for desert with never ending rounds of Mimosas. Every course was unique and delicious. The décor is very comfortable and spotless clean. Great bar with fireplace and piano for entertainment during the meal. The service could not have been better. All in all, a wonderful Father's Day experience. My wife and I are looking forward to many meals and entertaining our friends and family at Skyline Lodge Restaurant this season.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Food is better than the service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

On a recent weekend trip to Highlands we chose to stay at the Skyline Lodge. The people were very friendly and the facilities were nice and about what we expected for a lodge in the mountains.

After a day walking around the shops in downtown Highlands we decided to head back to the lodge. We enjoyed some wine on our balcony and didn't want to venture back out so we walked down to the restaurant for dinner. (I think the restaurant is only open on the weekends) We didn't have a reservation for dinner and although the place was not completely full we were asked by the hostess to wait so she could see if they could fit us in. My guess is she went back to the kitchen to ask if they could handle another party of 2. At 7p at night I would hope so! We wound up sitting at the bar and got a couple of glasses of wine poured by a nice gentleman who didn't even work there. They must only pour drinks on an "as needed" basis.

When we were seated we had a waitress/manager (older lady with long grey hair and glasses)stop by and she was grumbling about being overworked and wanting to put on an good appearance for the owners. It was a little odd to hear that from a stranger. Anyway, as it turned out we had another waitress help us most of the rest of the nice and she was extremely nice. The service was very slow and our waitress apologized several times. We told her it was okay. Thankfully the food was outstanding. We had one of the specials for the night and the Chicken Wilma. We would definitely recommend that dish.

Overall the food is a 4, close to a 5. Service is a 2, which is why we couldn't give them better than an average score. If you have lots of time for a meal and want good food, this is a good place. If you are expecting high quality service you might think about another place.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good but, expensive.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Good but, expensive. Very expensive for what you get. As you might imagine they are not in a high traffic area so they don't seem to have a large amount of business.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skyline Lodge Restaurant also viewed

Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Skyline Lodge Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skyline Lodge Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.