We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool place to chill!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ugly Dog Pub

The Ugly Dog Pub
294 South Fourth Street, Highlands, NC 28741
+1 828-526-8364
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 46 Restaurants in Highlands
Price range: $5 - $18
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Ugly Dog Pub is a casual pub with beer, wine and mixed drinks. Our food is very good and affordable. A great place to come meet friends or make friends. We have live music on Wednesdays and Saturdays, sports on TV and special events to keep it fun. We are a relaxed place, so come in, seat yourself, or come up to the bar and order a drink and something to eat.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Cool place to chill!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

VERY different from the usual Highlands scene. Fairly priced wine and drinks, fun atmosphere with great live music and good tavern type food. Hard to score a table though especially since there is no hostess or real system-just seat yourself which can lead to some nastiness with line jumping. Service a bit slow but really friendly and knowledgable-it was just very crowded the night we visited.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay C, Owner at The Ugly Dog Pub, responded to this review, January 7, 2015
Thank you so much and we look forward to seeing you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    89
    25
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sanford, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“So much fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Great place to sit back and chill after shopping. Relaxed atmosphere for families or hanging at bar with friends. Watched horse race and basketball game in bar. Would definitely go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay C, Owner at The Ugly Dog Pub, responded to this review, January 7, 2015
Thank you so much!!! Hope you are back in Highlands soon and we will look forward to seeing you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, FL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Nice bar with a great selection of craft beers. Great bar staff but the food is very average. Had soup dejour which was lentil with sausage. I could not find a lentil. Followed with Jambalya which was dry as a bone.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay C, Owner at The Ugly Dog Pub, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Hi Barrykin,
Thank you for coming to the Pub and I am glad you had a fun evening! I am sorry our food was not at its best and I hope you will come back and give it another try.
Hope to see you in Highlands soon,
Kay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, great whiskey selection!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

They have a fantastic whiskey selection and a very kind understanding staff. It's the only bar in town so they don't necessarily have to have good service, as you really don't have anywhere else to go. That doesn't affect the way they serve their customers tough! very impressed.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay C, Owner at The Ugly Dog Pub, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you so much for coming in to the Pub. I am so glad that you enjoyed our collection of darker spirits. Our staff loves to know they did a great job. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Favorite Spot in Highlands!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Best spot in Highlands to catch all sporting events, live music and great food. Wonderful selection of beers and wines. Our family can't wait to go back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay C, Owner at The Ugly Dog Pub, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you so much for coming in! I am so glad you had a great time and look forward to seeing you again soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ugly Dog Pub also viewed

Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to The Ugly Dog Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ugly Dog Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.