We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only palce opened late” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ugly Dog Pub

The Ugly Dog Pub
294 South Fourth Street, Highlands, NC
+1 828-526-8364
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 45 Restaurants in Highlands
Price range: $5 - $18
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: The Ugly Dog Pub is a casual pub with beer, wine and mixed drinks. Our food is very good and affordable. A great place to come meet friends or make friends. We have live music on Wednesdays and Saturdays, sports on TV and Special events to keep it fun. We are a relaxed place, so come in, seat yourself, or come up to the bar and order a drink and something to eat.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“The only palce opened late”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Arrived late and had a nice dinner at 10:00. The only palce opened in town. Great food and drinks.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    80
    20
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, TN
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great time had by all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

We all went have drinks and conversation and had a great time,.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good place for a beverage”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Nice place to sit down for a drink. Typical bar food but fun place overall

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“2 nights at Ugly Dog”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

We were in Highlands for 2 nights and ate at the Ugly Dog both nights. The first night was a great experience. They weren't very crowded, and service was exceptional. We sat at the bar and ordered from their beer selection, which was good, both draft and bottle. For food we had the house salad, very fresh and a nice combination of flavors, and the smoked wings. We stayed for a few hours, and the two bartenders were very personable and genuinely seemed to enjoy their job. The second night was much more crowded when we arrived. They had a weekly bluegrass band in the far room, which was at a noise level that allowed the bar and seating area to still enjoy the conversation. We ordered the special, the Prime Rib Sandwich and a greek salad. I felt that the house salad from the night before was so much better, mostly due to the greens. The greek salad is made from what seems to be iceberg, while the house is fresh mixed greens. I also feel like the "prime rib" sandwich was better off being called a steak sandwich, although it was tasty. Overall the Ugly Dog is a great option for a fun, casual meal at a good price in a town where there aren't many low price, casual options.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Who's In Charge?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

Upon entering a waiter was exiting with a female and told us to come on in as he left. We seated ourselves (no menu or greeting by staff), waited for about seven minutes for service then left. Upon walking out the waiter we saw coming in was sitting on the bench outside smoking with the female. He asked if we had decided on something!
We said "not yet" and left. We found Highlands Smokehouse down the road and had a great meal there. Thanks to the UGLY DOG! We are sure we had a better meal at the Smokehouse than you cared to attempt to provide! (WE SPENT $50.00 AT THE SMOKEHOUSE;-)

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ugly Dog Pub also viewed

Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to The Ugly Dog Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ugly Dog Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.